Parents

So, I called my mom after sending her pictures of Orion. She said “How could you fall in love with something that color?”

Mom tends to say stuff like that. I just laughed and said we were looking for personality, not color, but I love the color.

Ashlee called my mom yesterday to tell her happy birthday. She brought up the subject of puppy, and mom says to her “What did you think of that color?”

Now, I don’t object to my mom not liking my dog’s coloring, but I was a bit surprised to hear that she even had an opinion on dog coloring at all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Parents

  1. Meh. It’s horrible for me to say this, but a lot of old people don’t have any insight, or they focus on really shallow stuff, like the appearance of something or whether their butts are cold, things like that. It might be because their cognitive skills are dwindling, or they really can’t see much anyway. But I’ll work all afternoon at making a terrific dinner for my parents, and my father will squawk about the texture of the rice, or how the potatoes aren’t yet cooked until they’re mush, the way he likes stuff.

    So don’t take it personally (I say as I sit here, thinking how much I’d like to brain Dad with a meat cleaver). We know Orion is a beautiful puppy. It’s your mom’s loss that she can’t see that.

    • Lauri says:

      It doesn’t really bother me, I have been laughing about it. But, I can’t imagine saying to one of MY kids “Why would you like that animal’s color?”

      Is our generation just a teensy bit more empathetic?

  2. madtante says:

    First thing I thought was what I’d say to a coworrker who’d said the same. “Racist!” :p

    Not that she really is but it’s wide open for my smart ass!

  3. littlemiao says:

    OMG, this completely reminds me of my grandmother’s opinion about asymmetrically-patterned cats like Sprocket.

    Orion is absolutely beautiful!

    • Lauri says:

      Isn’t it weird?
      I mean, to each their own, but for pete’s sake…if you don’t have something nice to say, keep it to yourself!

      • littlemiao says:

        Here’s something funny I may not have shared about my grandmother yet. Once, she asked me if the other cats have trouble getting along with Kemi “because he’s black”. omg, talk about projection.

        Here is the wildest part: She also questioned me about how “sensitive” each of them is because she believes that light-haired creatures are more sensitive to pain and hurt feelings than dark-haired creatures. I’m not sure where b&w kitties fit into this scheme. Apparently her doctor told her this many years ago to explain why she was in so much pain (she is blonde). I am not blonde, but that didn’t stop her from asking me.

        Her birthday is Saturday and I still need to get her a card. I wish your Jesus on a dog butt came in greeting card form – I always try to pick out a religious card for her. 😉

        • [I almost said “jeezus” here, but ever since seeing the butthole Jesus, I crack up at the word.]

          The stuff your grandma is saying is classic eugenics crap. It doesn’t surprise me her doctor told her that, because once upon a time that was accepted as science. When I got into an argument with my mother-in-law about dark hair/light hair connected to behavioral traits, she said (proudly) she had gotten her information from a professor of biology at the University of Minnesota. (And my MIL was a brunette!) But applying it to dark-colored animals and light-colored ones is almost hilarious. I wonder if she thinks steaks from Black Angus cows aren’t as tasty as those from all-white cows. :p

  4. We had a cat once that was not exactly the cutest thing in the world, but was very personable. Someone once said something about the cat being ugly and I remarked, “Yeah but we’re only keeping him long enough to fatten him up for butchering, so it doesn’t matter what he looks like.”

    They, of course, knew I was kidding. Maybe.

  5. robpixaday says:

    Wow.

    Have to say, I’m sitting here befuddled. Orion’s got a mix of colors. I wonder which one bothered your Mom?

    He’s VERY handsome. But the first thing I saw when I looked at your original pix was his BIG PAWS and how happy he looked. I just had to go look at one of those to see what color he is.

    (((hugs)))

  6. Jaypo says:

    All she sees are two colors that don’t mix, if you get my drift… the old folks often do have a more superficial perspective. I think HG explained it quite well. 😀

  7. trishc1812 says:

    meh. I once showed my mom a picture of a different Great Dane…I thought he was beautiful and was telling her how I might want to get one one day. She didn’t like him because of his coloring and that dogs coloring is similar to Orion’s coloring. I don’t get it. But then my parents are not pet-friendly people so it doesn’t really matter. 🙂

  8. geologywoman says:

    What a cow…sorry, Lauri. But really, sounds like she is full of criticism in that passive aggressive way. Why some mothers are like this with their daughters, I do not know. He is BEAUTIFUL. And I love his Appaloosa spots. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appaloosa

  9. crankypants says:

    LOL parents are just weird. Sounds like something my own mom would say!!

  10. Lurkertype says:

    As the great sage W. Smith once told us, “Parents just don’t understand”.

    Why would anyone even have this opinion? There are some animals that are less-attractive than others (that breed of super-ugly dogs), but that’s got nothing to do with color.

    Weird. And like mt said, kinda racist somehow.

  11. what an odd thing to care about! My parents would be in “whosaBIGboy? You’re a BIG boy” and refer to him as furred grandkid #2 (Spiff being he first – feline fc is declared heir…! Well, not legally of course, but they joke about it.), but they are wayyy above average fond of animals.

    • geologywoman says:

      I am quite sure my in laws think we are nuts with 15 varmints (they were here recently for the night). Sod it – it’s our house. LOL, this time they did not have to sleep with rabbits in the room.

  12. doranyc says:

    That is an odd observation, yes.

  13. Emmy says:

    I don’t know your mom, but at the shelters we would get people in shouting matches over who got the last kitten. This while 200 adult cats (as young as 4 months old) sat in cages waiting for a home. I only hope that people who are all about appearances, buy a stuffed toy instead.

  14. marilyn says:

    Gosh I absolutely adore his color! your Mom, what a hoot! 🙂

  15. snoringKatZ says:

    HAAAAHAHAHAHAHA! Moms are so weird.

    Wait… I’m a mom.

    Uh-oh.

  16. AuntieBellum says:

    I’m discovering that my mom is a lot more concerned about superficial appearances than I ever realized. Or maybe it’s a recent development. I’m not sure. But I’ve caught her a few times being snarky about weight and that sort of thing.

    Anyway, Orion (I still think he looks like an Earnest 😀 ) is adorable and his coloring is perfect, whatever your mom thinks.

Leave a Reply

