Once again…..lesson learned…

Everything’s not just “about me”. Ken has really been missing Calli, too. He spotted a little dewd’s picture on the intranets. We drove across Michigan tonight to meet him and his family. His canine mom and dad greeted us at the door with huge grins and body hugs. A great sign!

And the little dewd came home with us. He rode in the backseat with me, his first car ride, and just laid with his head in my lap for an hour and a half.

Reuben and Sheldon were ecstatic to meet him. You’ve heard the term “paroxysms of joy”? That is what Reuben was in when he met this puppy. I have never, ever seen Reuben so happy. And the cats! The cats aren’t even afraid of him. They were wary the first hour.

There is definitely something in his spirit, just as there was with Calli, that says “Great Dane. Kind soul. Gentle giant. ”

It’s like something that was missing has been returned and I know Calli is happy.

Oh…you want to see pics? This is Orion. He is 15 weeks old. Somewhere around 40 pounds.

Crazy Puppy Face! ™

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Once again…..lesson learned…

  1. [this is good] Ohai Orion! I hope all of you have a great time together!
    I love it when animals are at the stage when they haven’t fully grown into their paws yet 😀

  2. Lauri, he’s beautiful! I’m sure Calli is happy to see another Great Dane in the house too. You needed this joy, as did your family. I hope Orion has fun getting to know everyone as the holidays progress!

  3. Jessica says:

    GAH! PUPPY! And he’s already probably bigger than Ace Monster. 🙂 Congrats!

  4. kimkiminy says:

    That’s a PUPPY? Orion is SO beautiful! What an interesting coat he has. How wonderful he’s getting along with everybody.

    • Lauri says:

      He’s just huge! But he hasn’t learned stairs yet, so I carried him up and down for his nightly potty break! He learned to come down them this morning!

  5. Jaypo says:

    “Onion, what took you so long.!?! yah, she can be slow on the uptake but we love her anyway…”

    How adorable and PERFECT timing, Larui! Good job. Welcome home, li’l Onion.

  6. Ashlee says:

    I guess once you go Dane, you don’t go back!

  7. Brown Suga' says:

    Those are beeeeeeg puppeh paws!!! Hai Orion!

  8. littlemiao says:

    [this is good] Awwww, congratulations!! Orion is adorable. Awwww. I can’t stop awwwww’ing. It is so heartwarming to hear that he’s already getting along so well with everyone. Awwww. 😀

  9. madtante says:

    OMGOMGOMG puppy paws, when they’re not grown into yet and THE SWEETEST things in the world. I want to gnaw on them.

  10. Laurie says:

    How awesome for you and Ken, Larui! Congratulations!

  11. crankypants says:

    OH HE’S SO CUUUUTE! What gorgeous markings. it’s like brindle dapple! I am so happy for ALL of you! squeeeeee! Welcome to The Hunter!

    • Lauri says:

      He’s much more a scholar than a Hunter. So I don’t know if he will fit his name. But he looks like a constellation and that’s one of my favorites!
      He studies everything. The cats. The chickens. The wall clock that chirps every hour. And I just caught him get up from his nap to study the screen saver ball that was rolling around my computer screen.

  12. Congrats on the little calf! He’s adorable, I’m sure he’ll grow up to be a very handsome boy! ((((hugs))))

  13. I’m Crying….big old sloppy tears of joy!!!!I miss Boo soooooo much, I am so happy for you and Ken…He looks a little like Gracie, hope you saw her pic on your wall…..Orion…beautiful…snif.snif.He’s got the bestest home in the universe! xoxooox 🙂

  14. mariser says:

    congrats to Orion pup. you, m’boy, have hit the adoption sweepstakes grand prize.

  15. Lurkertype says:

    Giant puppeh paws!

    I don’t think he looks like a cow. I think he looks like an Appaloosa horse.

  16. Jaypo says:

    Larui!!! I first commented this morning when I woke up and misread O’s name!! Yr not the only nut around these parts. Gah.

    ORIONNNNN!

  17. robpixaday says:

    WOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! Wonderful!!!!!
    Happy PUPPPPPEEEEEEZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!

    Love those big pawwwwwwwz and that sweet pink inside the ears!

    (((((((((happyhugs)))))))))

  18. What a big handsome boy! Congratulations!

  19. doranyc says:

    Yay!!! I had totally missed this yesterday!! He’s WONDERFUL.

  20. mizunogirl says:

    Beautiful Dog! Love all the spotty spots. He is lucky to have you!

  21. GOF says:

    Ahhhhh…nice. Welcome to Orion.

  22. geologywoman says:

    Aieee! (super squee) How lovely for you and the dawggies! His feets! His feets!

  23. They know. They know this little buddy is going to be huuuuuuuuge! He is beautiful and the kids are alright. I am happy for you. He will make the house a home again. The boys look so delighted.

  24. Redscylla says:

    I love how Reuben looks in the pics: “You got a puppy just for me? My very own big puppy?!?!!”

Leave a Reply

