Thanks, Friends! :)

Things are not going well in the Larui Circle.  I’m ok. Within the inner circle it’s my dad. Fevers of 105. They finally found the gall bladder was infected but it appears that one of the fever spikes (with shortness of breath and shaking so hard it almost seemed like a seizure) may have given him a small heart attack. Nothing that shows up on EKG, but his heart enzymes did go above acceptable levels.

So, some docs are saying he HAS to get rid of the gall bladder before it goes gangrenous and others are saying he HAS to have his heart checked out first….but if they find something wrong with his heart which is fixable it will be six months before they can remove a potentially gangrenous gall bladder. Jezuz. He was feeling great the last two days, got a drain in the gall bladder, blasted with antibiotics, infection under control, we thought. Last night he got a low grade fever again. Damn! We’ll see what today brings.

Anyway, the THANKS is for making me smile. Cranky, I got the Boston Terrier poster! I love it and it’s adorable and I have it hanging next to another BT framed poster I have. I need to get a pic of them both! And thanks to Laurie for my Moosie! And to Aussie Emjay for her postcard from Oz. And to all of you for your well wishes. We will get this figured out somehows! 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Thanks, Friends! :)

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    I’m sorry that things are not so good at the moment with your father but glad that silly postcard gave you a smile. I hope that a suitable schedule of treatment can be worked out quickly for your father and that it is quickly successful. So many things to worry about.

  2. Aw, Lauri, I’m sorry about your dad. It’s also too bad the doctors can’t make up their minds about what’s going on with him. I’ve noticed that, depending on their specialty, a doctor will focus on that one part of the body and not consider the others, as if you were one huge gall bladder or pancreas or whatever.

    Take care of yourself too! You need food and rest and joy in your life as well. If it’s possible, let someone else do the hospital-sitting for a while.

  3. robpixaday says:

    Oh, no!!!! Such awful news…
    (((((((((hugs)))))))))) for you and your Dad and family.
    I hope that things will be TOTALLY fixable, and very soon.

    But: Hooray for the joy of good friends and cool stuff arriving in the mail.
    🙂

  4. robpixaday says:

    And I’m sitting here nodding fiercely at what Hangaku Gozen just posted above. SO TRUE!!!!! they sometimes (often!!) get tunnel-vision, these doctors.

    (((((more hugs)))))

  5. mariser says:

    oh lauri, how stressful. ((hugs)) to you and your mom who must be frantic with worry.
    what HG sez about doctors with tunnel vision is unfortunately very true.
    does you dad have a regular doctor, someone who knows him well, who can maybe opine on the situation?
    best wishes to everyone in clrcle lauri>b>

  6. e2thec says:

    oh man.. so sorry to hear about this, and hoping the docs get themselves straightened out ASAP, for your dad’s sake.

    (What HG said about docs, too.)

    hugs to all,
    me

  7. MT says:

    I wondered how he was…and you! Thinking of you all & wishing you peace and positivity.

  8. marilyn says:

    where in the heck have I been??? I’m so sorry about your Dad..He’s a tough one though.I do hope the docs can figure it out..I would think to get the GB out, but any surgery is risky..CRAP! Hope all goes well, will keep him in our thoughts and prayers 🙂

  9. Jaypo says:

    Poor PapaRui, he’s really been through some tough time. I really hope they can can take care of things in an orderly way that doesn’t endanger the rest of his health.

    I spent the morning and early afternoon with papapo, trying to straighten out our understanding of a test the doc ordered. One appt neither of us could make with him and we’re paying for it. He doesn’t ask questions… grr. And the doc doesn’t inform. ((((hugs and healing thoughts)))

  10. crankypants says:

    Oh dang…that is scary about your dad. I hope it’s figured out what to do and gets taken care of soon and he’s feeling better soon.

    WOW that was fast you got that package! I only sent it on Weds. But, I think it did go Priority.

    sending out good mojo to you and yours.

  11. This sounds familiar. Many years ago my dad showed no signs of a heart attack except for the elevated enzymes. Many (MANY!) years later when he had bypass surgery done they found proof that he did indeed have a ‘minor’ cardiac event on the back of his heart where (in the 1980’s) it wasn’t easy to see.

    He was also told several years ago he needed his gallbladder removed, but the general surgeon made a comment along the lines of “when it hurts.” My dad claims it has never hurt … so he never had it done. A few months ago he was TOLD it needed to come out … but he’s still waiting for it to hurt.

    Anyway … best wishes for your dad.

  12. snoringKatZ says:

    Poor papaLarui… my friend’s hubby just had his gall bladder taken out yesterday. ‘Tis the season? Hope he feels better-ish soon and you find more smiles here and there to keep the ick at bay.

  13. Lauri says:

    Hearts and Gall Bladders. Didn’t Paul Simon write a song about that?
    Anyway, Dad is in good spirits tonight. Monday morning, after much thinking and questioning….even grabbing people walking by in the halls! (almost) he has decided to go for the heart cath.
    Then we shall see where to go from there.

    Dear Dad. He hates being dependent on ANYone. He took care of my mom two years ago through chemo and he said today “I think I like being the ‘caregiver’ more than being the one being cared for.”
    Well, mom and I both told him we just all have to take turns.
    Thanks for all the thoughts! I brought in tons of cut grasses/ plume grass, goldenrod, wheat grains and filled vases and wine bottles and even an Erlenmeyer flask and a volumetric flask. The house looks all ready for autumn now. I’m just a bit slow!

    • e2thec says:

      It *is* hard to sit back and let people fuss over you, if only because it means you/I/we have to give up control of many things to others… even if it’s only for a little while. (I think I get where your dad is coming from re. preferring the caregiver role, because it’s pretty concrete in terms of “fixing” tough situations.)

      Thinking of him, your mom, you – the whole gang.

  14. lauowolf says:

    Well, since the doctors have been all dithering about things, I’m glad he’s figured out what to do.
    Tell him to just settle in to being fussed over with a good grace.
    And know that however much he hates the dependency, he will see the love.
    I was sooooo proud of Sair stepping up for me this summer.
    So don’t let him grump his way out of you getting your licks in!
    Sorry you guys are having so much medical drama – it really is hard.

  15. Redscylla says:

    I’m sending your Dad all my positive swirlies for them to find the right thing to do and get him feeling better!!!! *huggles* for the whole Larui Clan.

  16. Lurkertype says:

    I hope they don’t find anything wrong with his heart, both for the sake of that, and also so he can get that gallbladder out ASAP! Ewwww.

  17. Drude says:

    ((((( big hugs))))) I hope he gets sorted out and the fevers stop soon.

  18. Oh goodness, how stressful! *hug* I hope everything gets figured out soon and that he feels better!

  19. (((((((((((((((HUGS!!))))))))))))))))))))))) and best wishes!

  20. AuntieBellum says:

    Oh no! I hope they can sort everything out with the least amount of trauma to your dad as possible! ((((hugs))))

  21. GOF says:

    My best wishes for your Dad too and I’m delighted to read in the post above this that he’s feeling much better and the prognosis looks good.

Leave a Reply

