Opened ma mouf.

β€Ž(deb) So Generation X is supposed to be the first generation that may have to make due with less. Excuse me? We’ve already BEEN THERE DONE THAT. Living on the leftovers of the Baby Boomers all of our lives! Tell us something we don’t already know. You left us this mess, and stuck us with the bill.

This was posted on Facebook. I generally enjoy the postings of ERAFN because they properly mock Rick Perry and Bill O’Reilly and the like. But “reporter” (deb) is constantly making mistakes like the one above “make due with less”. I have bitten my cheeks ’til they bled and not responded, but this entire paragraph annoyed the hell out of me so that I had to respond. I told these punk kids that all generations are in this mess together and we don’t need to create imaginary divisions when we really need solutions to real problems.

Then I corrected her spelling. Or word use. Or whatever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Opened ma mouf.

  1. I’ve seen a number of spelling and grammatical errors in papers like the New York Times. Granted, hard times for the newspaper industry have forced them to cut the copy desk: but it doesn’t add much to anyone’s credibility when they get basic words like “do” and “due” confused.

    More to the point: I’m seeing a lot of boomers, those of us in our 50s, who are unemployed and are dipping into their retirement funds to pay their mortgages and repair their 10-year-old cars. Statistics say they may never find work before they’re eligible for Social Security, nor will they ever make up for the loss in their savings and home equity. I don’t understand why the current crop of college kids blame the boomers for their woes: when the tide goes out, everybody’s boats go down.

    I’m also seeing a lot of gray heads among the #OWS crowd. “deb” needs to get her head out of her butt.

    • Lauri says:

      Yep. This is the first I’ve heard of that stance. That it’s the “Boomer’s” fault. I haven’t been catching much news lately with dad in the hospital.
      But “deb” has repeatedly made these mistakes and I guess I figured the fastest way to hurt her was to correct her writing. Ha!

      “Somebody must of done something”…..stuff like that! GARRRR!

  2. robpixaday says:

    GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ::bashes head on keyboard::

    I’ve been out of work for more than a decade, after being laid off. Couldn’t go back (for family reasons) for a few years, but now I want to…..NEED to, because I have no $%&*ing income. NONE. And I’m 60. No money, wrinkles, white roots…and 24 years expertise in an industry that isn’t here anymore. In a few years I’ll be squatting in a gutter somewhere drooling, and muttering about the good old days. Unless I have the good fortune to croak first. I hope that makes Deb happy, but I doubt that it would.

    Feh.

    Oh… And bad grammar sux.

  3. mizunogirl says:

    SO so hard to hold back when grammar is concerned!!!!!! and you are correct, no need to make imaginary divisions, we have so many as it is!

Leave a Reply

