Chicken Poop for the Sole

Stories from real life and then pictures of chickens. Who does that? Oh, yeah. I do.Β  Lol..and I have special chicken and goat feeding shoes….so this title po(o)pped into my head.

My dad went into the ER yesterday with chest pain. He had three episodes of pain in the last five days. The first time after walking for 2 1/2 hours while my mom went shopping. The second time after raking leaves and doing yard work for hours up at the lake. *eyeroll* When he had the pains yesterday whilst taking it easy he thought he should go into ER. It was scary, but they got him in fast, hooked up to monitors, drew blood for tests and started watching him. Gave him nitro for the pain. It only worked for a few minutes. To make the story shorter he stayed overnight, had a stress/echo-cardiogram this morning and nothing looks amiss with his heart. Further bloodwork shows a probably inflammation of the sternum. He’s home, now and must rest. He hates to rest and he hates to be sick. He’s all hooked up to monitors in the hospital, feeling terrible, freezing, shivering so hard he shook an IV out of his arm….and he’s saying “This is stupid.” Meaning “I have always been in control, why can’t I control this?” And apologizing for inconveniencing mom and me. Phoooey. I told him “Dad, this is what we do for each other. You would do it for me, I am doing it for you.”

*Shakes head* Dads. Ya gotta love ’em. He’s home now with pain meds, and antibiotics in case an infection was starting along with the inflammation.

So…here’s how I relax. Taking pics and posting them. Of chickens. These are the eight Lemonpepper babies, with their names. Hoooo, boy. πŸ˜›

Starting from the right and moving left…Lemonpepper’s hind end, Powder, Poppy, Ginger(foreground), Lufti, Pip (background), Coriander, Scrubti and Curry.

Lufti

Powder

Poppy and Scrubti

Lemonpepper and Coriander

Pip, Ginger and Scrubti

Curry…

Ok, that’s it for today. Curry is the hardest one to get a picture of. She is very shy. But the feather patterns are amazing. Never fear, I won’t give up trying to get pictures! Ha! πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Chicken Poop for the Sole

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    Ooh such pretty chooks! I am glad that your father is ok and hope that he gets some rest even though he doesn’t want to – what causes inflammation of the sternum?

    • Lauri says:

      They had no idea. And since I just spent all night up there again…they brought him in by ambulance with 105 F. fever and uncontrollable shaking they decided that he may have had a mild heart attack after all. It’s 5:37 am. I should get to bed, but too wound up.
      He is in Cardiac Intensive Care while they monitor and do more testing. Sigh.

      • oh noes! Hope they can figure it out and fix whatever it is, and quickly! Hang in there!! ((((hugs))))

        • Lauri says:

          He’s looking much better today. They have him on antibiotics and will be doing all kinds of heart tests and looking-for-infection tests. I feel really good now that he’s got his family doc and a really good team of cardiologists on it. Emergencies rooms are always so crazy.
          His family doc is hilarious. He got into the elevator as they were wheeling my dad into the intensive care unit. The doc says to my dad “Well, Bob, I don’t have a clue. What do you think we should do?” My dad cracked up. He loves this kind of repartee’.

  2. Laurie says:

    What breed of chicken are they that they come in so many colors and patterns?
    Hope your dad is feeling better soon. I agree with his sentiment — when something goes amiss with my body it’s always “stupid”. Stupid cold, stupid insomnia, stupid leg cramps. Thank you for providing the very sensible translation.

    • Lauri says:

      These chicks are so mixed up….complete mongrels. Buff Orpingtons, Aracaunas, Brahmas, White Crested Polish, Mille Fleur, Partridge Rocks, and Henrietta, the Black sex link.

      My dad went back into ER in an ambulance tonight. He couldn’t breathe, he couldn’t stop violent shivering. From what we could find out, a small heart attack could have been the culprit. Coming into ER with a 105 F. fever rather confuses the issue, too. It’s been a long and curious night.

  3. You certainly have some spicy cheeckenz. Hehe.
    I hope your dad is back to his old self very soon

  4. M-----l says:

    I just wanted to let you know that I initially read the title of this post as “Chicken Poop for Sale”.

  5. Aww, your poor dad. I think that generation of men was raised to believe they were supposed to be able to stand up to pain, and giving in to it was a sign of weakness. My father is a big baby at home, but when we get him to the hospital, he tells the doctor, “It’s nothing! She [points at me] always makes a big deal of everything!” Dad also shivered and shook in his bed and muttered, “This is stupid.” He didn’t get as much sympathy as your father, however, probably because he’d been so ornery before. He tried to walk out of the hospital with IVs in his arm and yelled at the nurse when she tried to stop him.

    The chickens look perky, though! I can’t make up my mind which is the prettiest, thought I’ve always been partial to black and white chickens.

  6. pegoftilling says:

    The chickens are getting so big!

    I’m glad your dad is home–I hope he’s feeling better!

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks! Dad was home until 3:30 pm Monday. Mom called…..Dad couldn’t breathe, was shaking uncontrollably and she had called 911. I met the ambulance at the door. The EMT whispered to me that Dad had 105 degree fever. Yike! I think i really said “Holy shit.”
      Mom and I stayed until 5 am….now I need some sleep.

  7. madtante says:

    Scary stuff! Best wishes to Pa and I hope he feels better soon! Sweet chickies!

  8. Jaypo says:

    How the heck does a person get an inflamed sternum??!!? I had pleurisy twice, and I’m telling you it hurt like hell. Your poor dad. I’m glad it was nothing more worser, larui… Let him gripe all he wants! He’s still here to gripe, that’s good. When papapo gets whiny I tell him to quit acting like a grumpy old man. Then he laughs and says, “Maybe I AM a grumpy old man!” Don’t make yr dad laugh, though. It’ll hurt. 😦

    Sending you all healing thoughts, my dear.

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks for the healing thoughts. I just woke up….no thoughts at all yet. I need to call Cardiac Intensive Care and find out what’s happening. Or mom….but I don’t want to wake her. A thought will stumble in after I get a shower.

  9. kimkiminy says:

    The chicks are so pretty!

    When I was a kid, my dad kept getting chest pains. Six times he went to the ER only to have them find nothing. The ultimate culprit? Gallstones. He’d been passing them. Finally had to have the gallbladder removed.

  10. Good luck to your dad. Hopefully they’ll figure things out.

  11. e2thec says:

    sorry to hear about your dad, Lauri, and hoping he’s stabilized soon. Being in the CICU is no fun.

    Inflamed sternum: I’ve had this – well, actually, inflamed tendons and ligaments that connect to the sternum. It was from drumming, but because I had chest pain, I felt it was best to go to the doc…

    Love your chickenz!!!!

  12. Lauri says:

    I just got home….visiting hours are limited in CICU, which is good. Dad needs some rest. He is looking very good and the docs are leaving no stone unturned to figure out what’s going on. There was definitely a small heart attack, but they won’t know what’s to be done about that until after a heart cath tomorrow. Today is for echocardiogram of the heart again, and for letting all of the cultures of everything grow. At least he looks a lot more comfortable! πŸ™‚

  13. Brown Suga' says:

    Sorry about your dad. Hope he’s feeling much better now. Wishing him a speedy recovery!

    *hugs*

  14. robpixaday says:

    LOVE the title!
    ((((((hugs)))))) for your Dad and you and your family … Glad it’s not huely serious, but the emotional impact is always big when these things occur.
    FABULOUS chickens! FABULOUS!!!!!!!!! chicken floof is on display!!!!

  15. robpixaday says:

    Oh, shoot. Typo!
    “huely” should read “hugely”

  16. Redscylla says:

    Hope things are doing better today for your pop. So scary when they can’t quite figure out the problem.

    And the chicks are getting so big! They’re what my grandma would have called “ticked.” As in, “Let’s have that ticked rooster for dinner.” o.O

  17. doranyc says:

    Good luck and much love to Dad!

    The chee-kons are AWETHOME.

  18. Inga says:

    All the best to Papa-Lauri, I hope he recovers soon.

  19. littlemiao says:

    Sending your father good wishes to feel better soon!

    I love the Lemonpepper baby names. They sure grow up quickly! Powder is snacking on some grass there. This is a silly question, but are they all girls?

  20. leendadll says:

    talk about slow-brained… I just caught up with the fact that you gave them all spices-which-are-good-when-eating-chicken names.

  21. geologywoman says:

    LOVE the chix photos! And their names. I miss having chickens and resist temptation (“just one more run, honey, we can put it over there”) because of the work I already have (these days I have forsaken my eyebrows, shaving my legs until I show them – good job I have mostly blonde/nonexistent body hair thanks to my Native Amer roots, and other girly things; and M being work based from home since summer now does the majority of food shopping and cooking which he enjoys) . I so want some!
    LOL with your dad, you have the situation well pegged. He reminds me of mine with this behaviour. I rang his house one (he was in his 70s) and stepmother reported he was out working on the ROOF.

  22. geologywoman says:

    check out my son’s dog, his legginess reminds me of your beloved.

Leave a Reply

