Some scenes from Vegas

First off, I must say that the cats completely disapprove of Las Vegas. Since we were going to be gone five days, they all had to stay inside before we left. Aaron was coming up to feed, water and clean their litterboxes, but no kitties out the door that day. Complete disapproval.

I took a pic of the Bellagio sign…in their art gallery was a landscape exhibit “A sense of place….from Monet to Hockney”. It was very good.

The first show we saw was Absinthe. It was raunchy, funny and very entertaining. The stage was 9 feet in diameter. Some of the acrobat-type acts could definitely have landed in the audience.

This sign was outside in the Beer Garden where we waited to go into the Absinthe show.

Bellagio’s conservatory is always a treat. It’s done seasonally, so I have only ever seen it in it’s autumn decor.

The blur in this one is the little leaping water fountains that look like they are hopping from place to place. I obviously couldn’t catch them as I wanted to.

This guy was quite friendly. He looked around and talked once in awhile. Ok, on to aquariums and flowers!

The Mirage has a huge aquarium at the check-in desk. We always go to gaze at the feeshes. This puffer was pretty much just hanging around. And the trunkfish, below, was lots of fun to watch.

The Mirage also has a beautiful arboretum with tropical trees and flowers and a river. Sailor Babo slipped into this pic while inspecting the orchids. He will have his own Vegas post later.

I don’t know what this was but the colors were lovely! My this post is getting long! I must get one more aquarium in. We ate dinner at the Chart Room (?) in the Golden Nugget. We sat next to a 75,000 gallon aquarium for the meal. Yes, we had halibut and it was delicious.

I have decided that no more pictures of me will be allowed to be taken ever again. Ha! 55 is the LIMIT.  Anyway, that was another fun meal! And FINALLY….the big ol’ kitties at MGM Grand. These guys were supposed to be playing ball and exercising these big girls, but the girls weren’t having any of it. It was NAP time.

We saw them playing catch with a couple of young male lions earlier, so the games do go on when the kitties are interested! Ok, I better end this long drawn out affair, and get some work done! Yay for a day off!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Some scenes from Vegas

  1. kimkiminy says:

    Wow that aquarium is AMAZING! Those roller-skaters, too. Did you see that show?

    • Lauri says:

      Yes, the skaters were a Russian brother and sister. When he was spinning her like that I swear her skates were no more than ten feet from the people in the front seats. This was one of the acts in the Absinthe show. There were high wires, balancing, skating, dancing, singing and a raunchy hilarious pair of emcees. Very fun.

  2. madtante says:

    Shoosh! You look beautiful and so young! You have great skin–wish I did! That trunkfish is wild!

    • Lauri says:

      Ha! You can’t see my skin up close! I guess it’s fine for old skin..but…oh what the hell, at least it’s covering my face! 🙂
      Now hair….that is something I could stand to have more of. My hair is super fine and super thin! What are ya gonna do?

  3. Laurie says:

    I love the kitties — both at the door, and the napping lions. Nobody tries to tell a lioness it’s not nap time!

  4. The ONLY excuse for leaving the kitties at home alone is to go get more food for them. At least, that’s what Smokey tells me.

  5. Lurkertype says:

    No kitty disapproves like a tortie/calico. As proven by Teags in the photo.

    I’ve mostly seen the Bellagio decorated for Chinese New Year b/c we often go over Presidents Day. It’s not a big travel time and the weather is great. I love those fountains, the water looks solid, especially when they light the streams up. We got some photos and video one night and they look like glowsticks.

    I love when it’s feeding time and kitty treat time. When the handlers put out the meat and they gnaw on it, and when they put fud in the big ball with holes so the kitties have to roll it around to get the noms. And when they sleep on top of the tunnel.

  6. Love it, all of it! 🙂 Glad you had a good trip – and that the chowder haven’t demolished the house whilst you were away (the look like they’re plotting revenge in the first picture..!)

  7. love the lions! i got a pic w/ a lion cub when i was there in february, was so awesome!

  8. What? You look radiant! You can go ahead and blame the lighting or your surroundings, but I have yet to see a photo of you where you didn’t look happy and fabulous.

    The lions cracked me up. I’m sure everyone was waiting for some action, but the lions are on their own schedule, lol. And Sailor Babo looks like he’s in a scene from “Land of the Lost.” But this is a side of Vegas I never saw. Now you have me wondering if I should give it another go. My brother went, and he and his friend did nothing. They said they were broke after paying for the hotel, but they must have sat in their room all day and watched HBO. I asked them if they at least went to Circus Circus, and he said, “What’s that?” Which was pretty lame—even I went there back in the 90s!

    • Lurkertype says:

      There is so much stuff to do and look at that’s absolutely free. I’ve spent hours just wandering up and down the Strip, taking in decor and exhibits with a big-ass cheap margarita in hand.

      Larui, if you know any car guys, on our last trip we went to a classic car museum that’s in the parking structure of the Imperial Palace. Even I found it interesting.

      I’ve never taken the shuttle out to the Rio, but the BFFs love it and report that there’s a Carnival parade every hour, with dancing girls and boys and floats. I’m just bummed Treasure Island now calls itself TI and dropped the pirate theme.

      • Lauri says:

        Oh DUH! We have thought about the car show at Imperial Palace, but it never entered my mind while we were there! Ken and I would both enjoy it! I didn’t know about the Rio’s parade!
        Yeah, TI still has a show out front with ships, but it’s a stupid stripper type show instead of the good old pirate-type show it used to be. That’s really a let down, too.

        It’s fun to see the volcanoes go off in front of the Mirage every night on the hour….and the Belagio fountains are worth watching for a couple hours from Mon Ami Gabi…the open air restaurant across the street. We always polish off a bottle of wine.

        • Lurkertype says:

          I like to watch the Bellagio fountains from the top of the Eiffel Tower. It’s a really great view of them, especially at night. We can’t afford that restaurant, but Paris has my favorite buffet EVAR.

          In addition to the car museum, Imperial Palace also has dealers/croupiers who imitate famous singers and jump on stages to perform when you least expect it. No Fat Elvis, though.

  9. Redscylla says:

    That’s exactly what the lionesses were doing when I was at the MGM Grand!

    • Lauri says:

      The only time I have seen them moving was earlier in the day, two younger looking males…lions, that is, were playing ball with these two young human males. It was a pretty quiet ball game too. Lazy bops by those big paws.

  10. Aussie Emjay says:

    What great shots – especially the fish. Looks like a fun time and I agree with HG that you always look fabulous and really happy in photos.

    • Lauri says:

      There are so many awesome aquariums in Vegas. Several that you have to pay for, which we have done, but most of which are free and just fun to see.
      Thanks…I hate seeing myself in pics.
      I guess that’s normal!

  11. The question still remains: In-N-Out?

    Glad you had fun!

  12. robpixaday says:

    OMGosh!!!!! FABULOUS!!!!!! Gorgeous pix, wonderful stuff going on!

    LOVE the bigcats napping.
    Wow!!!!! GREAT post. It was like going there.::applause::

Leave a Reply

