Posting at last…

I was certainly in no mood to post the last couple of weeks, but that’s ok, I’ll get back to it now.

Fatcat’s photography of the spider web and dew droplets reminded me of something that I wish to share with all of you. In Las Vegas we love to find the art exhibits and galleries and just wander. For the first time we wandered into a Vladimir Kush gallery. What a delight!

He calls his style “metaphorical realism” and every painting has something new and mind bending everytime you look at them.

My favorite was “Other Worlds”.

This is what VK has to say about his own painting..

“Everything in the surrounding world is connected one to another. The distant planets of the Solar system and the tiny dew drops โ€“ they all strive to their centers. Planets are running along its orbits being attracted by the Sun; the dew drop hangs on the leaf in the morning being attracted by the Earthโ€ฆ Comprehension of that internal unity brings the beauty and order into our perception of the world.”

Here is another one:ย  “Full Moon Game”

And another: “Haven”

If you want to see more this is an excellent link…

http://www.metaphoricalvoyage.com/gallery.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Posting at last…

  1. These are trippy! I’m surprised you weren’t persuaded to bring one home. I’m also surprised you found an art gallery there. Maybe it was just different when I went twelve years ago, or the people I went with weren’t into art, but I didn’t see anything like that when I was in Las Vegas. Mostly I saw my money disappear on the blackjack table. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Lauri says:

      There is so much out there now. We probably spent maybe an hour or two at the most on gambling. The rest is hiking up and down the strip to visit aquariums and look at the art and find our favorite lunches and wines. Then the shows at night….so I can do without the gambling completely. I would rather flush 20 bucks down the toilet than put it in a slot machine. ๐Ÿ˜‰ We did have fun at Blackjack…broke even. Ken lost at craps. And we won two out of three bets we placed on football games!

    • Lauri says:

      As for bringing one of these home…even the “reproductions” were almost $2000. Um…..not gon’ do eet.
      ๐Ÿ™‚
      But I do enjoy looking at them!

  2. Oooh, I can totally see the resemblance between the first one and the droplets I posted – cool! I like these, maybe not in a I-would-have-it-on-my-wall kind of way, but it was very enjoyable to encounter his ideas – thanks for sharing!

    • Lauri says:

      I loved looking at them, but when I heard the asking price for a reproduction I decided I would be happy looking at them on the internet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Laurie says:

    I know you haven’t been in the mood to post, which is why there is a little silly something in the mail on its way to you that I posted early in the week, just because I thought it would make you smile when you opened it.

  4. kimkiminy says:

    Just beautiful! I love the first one, too, and “Haven” is pretty amazing. Great share.

  5. paikea says:

    oh wow. thanks for sharing, Lauri. this stuff is right up my alley. i love the clean lines, and the idea of it all.

  6. littlemiao says:

    metaphorical realism! I love that. These paintings are a pleasure to contemplate. Thank you for sharing.

    *miao purrs*

  7. madtante says:

    The Duchess has recently been hit-up by Brother to do something for my 40th bday. I don’t know if they will (never have before) but she very gently poked around as to where I’d like to go (in general): Iceland, St. Petersburg (Russia, not Fla), New England, the Pacific NW, back to Ireland, back to France (as a tourist NOT living/ working there–much different “climate” that way; they treated me like I’d just paddled across the Rio Grande)… She asked, “What about Vegas?” I could go but it doesn’t seem like the place I’d go by myself. I wouldn’t gamble but I’d love to hike as you put it, see sights, galleries, sure! I’d need to go with somebody like you, who has been there. On my own, I’d probably sit in a park (or pub…you know) and talk to locals. ;p

    I would LOVE to see this guys stuff in person. I bet is amazinger!

    • Lauri says:

      We’ve been going to Las Vegas for ten years….hmmm….I think. So we’ve built up the places to go things to see bit. It would be overwhelming by yourself. I am overwhelmed by the people. I like to walk…..my strides….not little steps and then big steps and then put it into passing gear to get around the next Pokey Joe in the sidewalk. And there are Pokey Joes everywhere! So a few days is all I can take of that big city.
      But, it is fun. Ken is the Las Vegas fanatic and we have managed to find tons of stuff that I love doing, too. Real hiking out in Red Rock Canyon is beyond cool!

      If I had to go on a trip by myself I would probably choose Ireland. Beautiful place. Lovely people. Such history. I do so want to go back there!

      Ooo, I have heard Iceland is an excellent place, too!

      • madtante says:

        Ireland, France, the UK are all fine by yourself. I moved there at age 22 and was fine. When I’ve travelled since, it has been fine…but I *typically* avoid big cities (not counting Paris, London, Manchester, etc. cos I was in those places technically with others–going to others’ homes, albeit *travelling* alone).

        I’m afraid to go to busy-fast-paced places simply because I’m little and people run me over (I get run over at county fairs HERE, so why put myself in a big city?).

  8. Jaypo says:

    ooh I love them too, esp the first one. Thanks for posting these and bringing him to my attention!

  9. Lurkertype says:

    I like Vegas. I don’t gamble at all, so I eat and look at stuff. There are so many art galleries, gardens, etc. We got some beautiful stills and video from the arboretum at … oof, the one with the dancing waters across from Paris… all decorated special for Chinese New Year. The aquariums and animals are also so great to see — I love it when the lions at MGM lay on top of their clear tunnel and you can go under and see the bottom side of monorail cat! Big kitty tummies and paws. Then it’s off to an indoor amusement park and another buffet!

    Las Vegas is sort of metaphorical realism too. You never know what you might see around the next corner. I like to walk slowly so I don’t miss anything.

    • Lauri says:

      Ok, I have to post some of the photos I took while in LV. We do exactly the kinds of things you just mentioned. The arboretum…let’s see…they call it the “Conservatory” at the Bellagio is always a treat. I got lots of pics there. And going into the Mirage to look at their orchids, flowers, tropical plants and mini-river is cool. Oh and of course the aquarium.
      Time for a post!

  10. aubrey says:

    These are lovely – off-balance, mad and beautiful. Remind me very much of Michael Sowa’s paintings:
    http://pbcstyle.blogspot.com/2011/02/artist-of-week-michael-sowa.html

Leave a Reply

