Let Us Pray

I really have to get a post in before the craziness of a new work week starts!

As for the praying, here we go! Ross, my son-in-law, was driving down the road. Suddenly a monster appeared from the back of his rear-view mirror.Here is the text that Ross sent to Ashlee:

“All of a sudden he just appeared on my rearview mirror, I almost went off the road because he scared the crap out of me. He just sat there cleaning his antennae then walked on my finger when he was done so I put him in a bush.”

Then about a week later Ken hollers for me to come see something in the entryway of our house. Viola’. More praying.

This beautiful dude was gently ushered outside. 🙂

Here’s Lemonpepper and her babies…now almost two weeks old! Look at the wing feathers and tail-poofs! Squeeee!

All eight are still doing fine! Ok, I have to get outside and get more plant work done….the lows are going to be in the high 30s in two days!!! *runs*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Let Us Pray

  1. trishc1812 says:

    High 30’s? Cool! I can only dream of temps that low as I won’t see anything like that until December or January.

    The chickees are growing up and LP is doing a good job of showing her babies what is good to eat and what isn’t.

    I love Praying Mantis and Walking Sticks. They are cool looking bugs.

  2. Jaypo says:

    Holy mackerel, low 30s? Chickies are getting all feathery, less downy *sniff* soon they’ll be asking for the keys to the car.

    Aaaand praying mantis reminds us to seek inner….–stillness (what else?)! To still the outer so that when it’s time to act, we do so with surety, accuracy, and grrrrreat power! That’s how pm’s can be such deadly hunters. Ted Matthews (“Animal Speak,” 1993) sez, when mantis comes to us, ask ourselves these questions: Are we being indiscriminate in our actions and words? Are we :-)impatient? Do we need help to quieten ourselves? Are we missing opportunities to grasp life’s rewards because of being hasty? Good questions for all of us, at any time, dontcha think? 🙂

  3. Jaypo says:

    Now I should look up “stickbug,” one of which hung out on my door all weekend. Talk about STILLNESS!

  4. Freedom Smith says:

    I love praying Mantises but not on the rearview mirror. I would scream and then try not to drive off of the road! That is amazing that two happened in one week! They are supposed to be good at eating up the pesky bugs.

    The chickies are sooo cute. I love all of the fluffiness and the tail feathers! Enjoy the weather before it gets that cold. Goodness. Hopefully we won’t see that until December.

  5. marilyn says:

    Jaypo is soooooooo correct about getting reminders to slow down. Had a major one today, long story….anyhoo..chicks are adorable, need to comeby sometime and get a walk through of your new pad( I thought that last word would give you a giggle) My new “pad” will be open to inspection, hmmmm Maybe the holidays. See ya

  6. Laurie says:

    You about scared the crap out of me with those close up mantis shots, Lauri! I had to scroll down really quickly because I’m really squicky about bugs. Thank dog for Lemonpepper and her chicklets.

  7. Lauri says:

    So sorry, Laurie…I shoulda put up a Squicky Warning!

  8. ladywise says:

    I got a reminder to slow down the other night in the way of a speeding ticket. 70 in a 55. Hate to see how slow that’s going to make me! I would rather have had the praying mantis!

    I pulled in the driveway yesterday to a deer standing in my yard. I get b-i-g bugs! lol

    The chickees are adorable! LP is such a good mommy!

  9. madtante says:

    All 8 is a GREAT outcome! Wowzers.

    That’s fun you got to PMs in such a short time. I haven’t seen one in a long time… but I did see that katydid a couple of years back…I’m just not out in the woods like I used to be. Of course, these weren’t either!

  10. Emmy says:

    Love the chick photo. They’re getting big fast. I’m also squeamish about bugs. Mantises bite, too. They scare me.

  11. Redscylla says:

    That happened to me at a Chinese buffet once. I was just browsing along when a mantis popped her head up behind the sneeze guard and said, ‘Have you tried the char siu bao? I really recommend them.’ Some patrons were put off by this, but I figured it was the sort of thing that just happens.

    Aw, look at them big chickies!!! Ba-GOK!

  12. littlemiao says:

    Wow, you really captured amazing detail in your praying mantis photo. The chicks are so fluffy cute!

    I guess cold weather is coming fast. It was mid-80s yesterday and low 60s today. And we had smoke in the air from a Minnesota wildfire. I don’t remember anything like that ever happening here.

    • Laurie says:

      Believe it or not, LittleM, we had the smell of your Minnesota wildfire all the way up here in Toronto today! I didn’t smell it myself this evening, but it was reported on the news that strong winds (which I have heard outside my windows tonight) have carried it all this way.

  13. Aussie Emjay says:

    Wow – it’s getting cold there already! There’s going to be an autumnal feel here the next few mornings apparently but no lows like yours yet – soon it will be time to get my pantyhose out again for work though and I’m not looking forward to that! I haven’t seen any mantises here this year – I usually see them about this time on our back deck – perhaps it’s been too wet.

  14. Really nice pictures! We don’t get mantises here (unless you keep them as pets), which I think is sad beacuse they are so awesome!

  15. robpixaday says:

    Lemonpepper and her offfspring are VERY luxurioiusly gorgeous!

    And wow…that’s really cool about the mantis. Scary at first, but cool. They do good things, those guys.
    Do you mind if I leave a link?
    This is one of my fav “old-time” (LOL) movies:

    “The Deadly Manits”
    No praying, unless you count the humans who are being terrorized.

  16. robpixaday says:

    Oh, carp!! It published the actual video! I’m sorry! Didn’t mean to hijack your comments…

    And I left a typo back there. Mantis, not manits.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

