A Chicken Win. A Hot Day. Bruschetta.

Hello, folks! Two of my kids are coming home for the weekend, we have a wedding to attend tomorrow. Then early Christmas with Grandma before she goes to Florida on Sunday. I am cooking a turkey dinner! *singsong* Graaaaavy!

So it’s super hot…maybe getting to 98 today. Humid. So I’m eating bruschetta…damn, it’s good….and posting this instead of vacuuming.

Here’s the chicken win story. My little brain is always working on ways that my animals can live better. So I told my hubby that maybe we could get Lemonpepper and her babies into the chicken yard and shut them in by themselves. Then maybe she would get some confidence in caring for them and take them into the actual chicken house when the weather gets bad. He thought that there probably wasn’t any way we could actually get them all into the yard without a whole lot of trauma. I agreed, so I just dropped it.

Next day I go out with food. Feeding everyone. Lemonpepper is squawking at any chicken (or goat) that comes too close, and of course, with food by them everyone is coming close. Rueben (outside the goat yard) comes over to peer through the fence at the babies. Next thing I know Lemonpepper has made a weird sound and all eight babies scattered and laid down in the grass. (Don’t anyone ever tell me that animals don’t communicate). Lemonpepper goes INTO the chickenyard (there is a small door between goat and chicken yards, only big enough for chickens) and she is throwing herself against the fence trying to attack Reuben. I mean this tiny hen was going to take on a 90 pound black lab.

Ok, I am standing there, mouth hanging open, thinking “Ok, she’s in the yard, how do I get the babies in there?” I tell Reuben to back away and Lemonpepper calms down.Β  She comes back to the fence but can’t find the door into the goat yard. (chicken=not smart). So she CALLS the babies. They all get up from their hiding places in the grass and go running to her, right through the fence. It’s too small for her, but they go right through. I grab a board and a brick and block up the door. WIN! Lemonpepper in the chicken yard alone with the babies.

And today she actually took them inside the house itself. Well, that was a long boring tale, but I could not believe how well that all worked out. It was one of those hippie “meant to be” moments. (lol, mt)!

Here’s LP with a baby on her back. They jump up and down and walk around on her.

These are LP’s two brothers, Cinnamon and Clove.

Man, it’s hot. And I still have to vacuum. πŸ˜‰

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A Chicken Win. A Hot Day. Bruschetta.

  1. Lurkertype says:

    Yay for rounding up the wild chikns!

  2. Laurie says:

    Cool chicken story! And if you were paying attention, you now know the words in Chicken for “Hide!” and “Come!”. You could start teaching us Chicken, like I’m teaching you Persian.

    • Lauri says:

      Lol!
      I can make the sounds for “I have found a good treat, my sweetie, come and see!” It’s a cooing noise the roosters make to attract the hens. And egg laying call….the bukBUKbukbukbuk….which I am sure means “What the hell just came out of my butt?”

      The Danger alarm call is very similar to the egg laying call. I couldn’t catch what sound LP made to warn the babies to scatter and hide. It happened so fast…..and her sound for calling them to her….I haven’t separated that one from all the other noise, either. It sure is interesting though!
      (snort, well, to me!) πŸ˜‰

  3. You are so brave, roasting a turkey when it’s hot out! I told the parental units that we are going out to eat today because it’s too damned hot to cook and the chef needs a break after spending all week chasing her own wild chick. (Looks sideways at son.)

    But yays for you catching Lemonpepper and her babies! I hope she behaves herself in the pen and doesn’t try to break out or do something stupid and hurt herself or the chicks.

  4. Freedom Smith says:

    I love your pictures. Lemonpepper is so cute with her chicks! So glad she got in the fenced in area. The rooster picture is lovely but I am a bit afraid of roosters. Aren’t they kind of mean?

    • Lauri says:

      I have 8 roosters and the only mean one is the tiniest one. He will walk up behind us and kick us in the backs of our ankles. He’s a turd…every other rooster is calm and has never given us any problems.

      • Drude says:

        lol… there’s always the option of making a nice slow cooked coq au vin… if the tiniest gets too annoying. How you manage to get 8 roosters to live peacefully TOGETHER even with hens around – that amazes me… sounds like some very laid back and friendly boys.

        • Lauri says:

          They all spend all day keeping each other in their places on the pecking order…but real fights have been very very rare, thank goodness. And the hens all seem to wander around and spend time with all the boys, so they get along pretty well.

  5. crankypants says:

    Yay for the Chicken Win! must have been amusing with Reuben and LP!

    • Lauri says:

      Reuben just stood there looking confused while she screeched and attacked the fence. *whad I dooo?*

      She has the babies in the chicken house for the night! Yay!

  6. littlemiao says:

    yay! That worked out so perfectly. It’s a relief to know that Lemonpepper and her fuzzlings are safe and sound.

    I love their names. You should have a Cardamom too!

  7. kimkiminy says:

    WIN, Indeed! Good going. LP is so pretty. One of our neighbors has chickens, and roosters. It’s clear they all have their own personalities.

  8. Drude says:

    Excellent! a leetle bit of luck and some quick thinking on your part and problem solved in the best of ways. She’s so beautiful… and obviously she knows what she’s doing, so those chicks should have excellent chances of survival. Have you named all the little ones yet???

    • Lauri says:

      I’m waiting to name them to see how many get grown up. I’m amazed that all eight are still around! But, unless a raccoon gets them, they should do really well!

  9. madtante says:

    That’s awesome it worked out!

    Like you, I know just how stoopid chickens are, bless them, but they do have certain instincts. I believe Lemonpepper KNEW she’d be better off with her chicks in an enclosure rather than grounded like a wild turkey.

    We always knew when a hen was setting and we’d separate them as soon as they were hatched. I could show you the old “mothering” hen shack we built for this but it’s so dilapidated now that I’m ashamed. Retired farm for twenty years, and shite falls apart! Anyway we had one before, it fell apart, then we used the old rabbit hutch but it fell apart, so we built our “maternity suite” several years ago when I was small enough to play inside it and it’s less than 3′ tall! Anyway, it’s a good thing if you regularly are going to have your own broods.

    • Lauri says:

      Well, you see all the “junk” in the backgrounds of pictures around here! That’s just the way it is on a “farm”. πŸ™‚

      LP and babes are having a wonderful time in their own little yard!

  10. Yay for chicks in safety! πŸ™‚

  11. Emmy says:

    Good thinking – I wouldn’t know what the hell to do if I had chickens. Lemonpepper is adorable. Glad it all worked out.

    Don’t you hate vacuuming when it’s boiling hot out? I’d rather do laundry (and that’s the bane of my existence just because the machines are downstairs…….)

  12. Emmy says:

    …..AND we can’t have the AC on while vacuuming because it trips the circut breaker.

  13. phantomxii says:

    From the title, I thought you’d be cooking a chicken. (Although, given this weather, that may have happened on its own….)

  14. trishc1812 says:

    YaY!! for safe chicklings.

    My ex used to raise fighting roosters…those were mean mean mean suckers. He would have to keep them individually caged because they would fight to the death between the wires. He had one that he let roam free (the others were in cages off the ground) and I would have to really pay attention to where that little sucker was because he would chase me into the house (or out to the car).

    Then there was the one time I got home from work and it was dark. I heard a hen clucking and fussing with her chicks, but it was dark so they weren’t moving around or anything. I went in and sent the ex to see what was going on….he managed to scare the six foot long chicken snake away from the chicks before it managed to get any of the babies….I never went into that dilapidated old shed ever again. ***shudders at the memory of the snake***

  15. trishc1812 says:

    Drooling over the thought of gravy reminds me of fixing brunch this morning: sausage gravy, biscuits and scrambled eggs. One of the guys came in saying he did not like gravy in anyway shape or form. Chris tried to tell him (Justin) that he felt the same way about gravy but that was before he had ever tried this particular sausage gravy. Chris and Bentley guilt-ed Justin into tasting it. He said….”That is the best gravy I’ve ever tasted—I was able to control the urge to vomit.” So, needless to say….Justin did not eat anymore of the gravy.

    But, yeah, I’m ready for a good turkey dinner. How long until Thanksgiving??

  16. ladywise says:

    I can tell you for sure that animals communicate. Just go up to my neighbors house for an afternoon. She was going to bring some of the goats down to my yard to feed on the kudzoo that overtakes my yard a few weeks ago. She brought “Sister” down, whom she bottle fed as a baby and has had for years. She tied “Sister” up out here in my yard and then went back for another goat and that girl went crazy. She sounded like a real “kid” out there crying because Donna left her down here out of her normal element. Sh

    • ladywise says:

      she yanked on the rope and stuff until Donna had to come and get her and then she went back and was calm as could be. We were just like “Oh well.” They do communicate with each other and with humans.
      Sorry, my computer does it’s own thing sometimes and decided I was finished writing before I was finished writing. Geeezz!

  17. Jaypo says:

    Obviously Reuben knew what you were trying to do and tempted her in–at a safe distance of course. Chicken stories are the best. You’re an expert in communication by now, larui. You get a job as an interpreter.

    I want to put one of chickies in my mouf.

  18. Aussie Emjay says:

    Is Cinnamon at the forefront of the photo? he is one handsome looking rooster!! As you know it’s summer in Australia at Christmas and we lived in the middle of no-where-almost-desert town but every year our house was heated to about a 1,000 degrees as they cooked a turkey and roasted pig (crackling – yum!!) and all the other goodies as if we were still living in good old mother England having Christmas in a snow storm! And, we didn’t have air conditioning!!

  19. Redscylla says:

    Yay for Lemmonpepper and dumb chicken luck. Mmmm, a turkey dinner in September. Sounds tasty, but I’m still taking advantage of the man obligation to grill in these summer months. Bring on the steaks!

  20. aubrey says:

    I peer through the sweat running down my forehead and I see…CHICKENS! And BABY CHICKENS! Very colorful and cute!

    However. We were close to 100 degrees, too. I need a fainting couch.

  21. leendadll says:

    i enjoyed that story!

Leave a Reply

