Busy weekend and the peach tree has a sad!

Brother-in-law and wife from Japan are here for their annual visit. All my kids made it home this weekend so we could all get together with them and mother-in-law. And, in the midst of all that my friend Cathy and her daughter Jessica were able to come spend the day with us yesterday! Jessica is home from Germany for a month…she heads back to Germany on August 30th. So, it was very good to see all of them! First Uncle Rick and Aunt Hiroko visited Aaron’s new apartment.

Leo and Jazzy love their new apartment, too!

Next everyone (and their dogs) came over to our house for dinner and ladder golf. Ashlee, above, with Reuben and Bert. Leela is in the background.

Cathy has a new puppy, Ace, who is a gorgeous black lab, only 3 1/2 months old. 7 dogs made for mass chaos and fun. And not a one was hit by the ladder golf balls.

Jessica and Ace. I think Ace was about to say something important!

Ladder golf was fun!

Leo and Ace being puppies.

Teddy enjoys rasseling with his dad.

And finally…the warm wet weather was great for the peaches, but catastrophic for the peach tree. The weight of the peaches split the trunk right down the middle. I doubt that it’s going to survive.

Waaaaah! Poor peach tree! Well, I have another tree that isn’t quite so laden..hopefully it won’t split, too. The peaches will be picked next week!

It’s been a fantastic year for toads. I love toads. The way I know how many are living around us is this……Toad Turds!

Toads are champion turders!

There. Your weekend is complete. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Busy weekend and the peach tree has a sad!

  1. marilyn says:

    Ah, sounds like Heaven!!Poor peach tree tho:(

  2. kimkiminy says:

    It’s not too late! Cut all the peaches off the broken limb, and tie/clamp it back up to its original state. This happened to an oak tree of ours after an ice storm. We secured the errant limb with one of those metal hose clamps, and it survived, and still is just perfect a couple years later. The bark will eventually just enclose and envelop the clamp.

  3. What a fun weekend! Now I understand why you’re exhausted, what with the whirlwind of dogs and family all around. The peach limb might not survive, though you can try taping it back onto the trunk with electrical or duct tape. Dad does this all the time, and I can’t believe it, but it works. You’ll have to pick all the peaches and store them, however, so the tree has the energy to recover from the injury.

    Toad turds! It sounds like a chant at a football game. “Toad turds, toad turds, how ’bout you? Toad turds, toad turds, you are too!” 😀

    • Lauri says:

      LOL at the Toad Turd chant! I’m all for toad turds! The better the amphibians do the better we all do! Doo?

      Oy! Go Toad! Go Turd! Rah rah ewwwwww! 😀

      I am definitely going to try to save my tree. This is just it’s second year bearing fruit and it’s doing it’s best. Thanks for that info!

  4. Freedom Smith says:

    I love the fact that your friends and family bring their dogs over too!! I don’t know anyone that does that. You all looked like you were having such a good time. Beautiful pictures. Yes, I think you can save the tree. Most of the trees I see have things propping up the limbs so they don’t split. Maybe something like that will help next year.

  5. Kzinti says:

    And it all ends with a turd. LOL. Looks and sounds like everyone had a wonderful time, excepting fer the peach tree.

  6. 1petermcc says:

    Our kids bring their dogs too and it’s great fun. The only challenge is the “poo patrol” afterwards. We have little Shiatsu Maltese crosses whereas the kids all have big dogs for some strange reason.

    Damn they must eat a lot!!

  7. madtante says:

    That’s a lot of goings-on! Happy to see so many of you together and having fun–COOL!

    I’ve never heard of ladder golf but it looks like a cross between golf and skee-ball. I love how Ace is obviously in a rare moment of pose–those labs gots to move!

  8. crankypants says:

    Looks like a nice weekend, doggy chaos and back yard games. Sorry about the peach tree. 😦

  9. Anything I was going to say was already said, damn it!

    You may want to check at some place that sells gardening supplies to see if they have something to seal the wound on the peach tree with in order to keep rot and insects out. I’ve seen people use tar for that, but I’m sure there’s something better.

  10. Brown Suga' says:

    Sooo many doggehs. So many peaches! Looks like so much fun. Sorry about the tree, though.

  11. ladywise says:

    awww, how nice! You have such a nice family and lots of puppies. I’ve never heard of ladder golf but it looks like fun. I hope you are able to save the peach tree! I’m originally from Georgia, the Peach state! Save that tree!

  12. Jaypo says:

    Didn’t you post toad turds another time?? Maybe you like their poo better than them… heee hee!

    • Lauri says:

      It’s not that I like their poo better…it’s just that I SEE their poo more often than I see them.
      And it makes me smile just to know I have toadies pooing around the place. 🙂

  13. Jaypo says:

    Other than that–po’ peach tree! And what a great fambly you have, so much fun!! Big smiles.

  14. Inga says:

    You’re going to have to explain this ladder golf to a few of us I see. I’m going to have to have a ‘games I learnt from Lauri day’, and invite some friends around for some corn-holin’, ladder-golfin’ fun.

Leave a Reply

