Words from Terry Pratchett

Everything I read by TP makes me happy. Here’s an excerpt from “Lords and Ladies”

“What is magic? Then there is the witches’ explanation, which comes in two forms, depending on the age of the witch. Older witches hardly put words to it at all, but may suspect in their hearts that the universe really doesn’t know what the hell is going on and consists of a zillion trillion billion possibilities, and could become any one of them if a trained mind rigid with quantum certainty was inserted in the crack and twisted; that, if you really had to make someone’s hat explode, all you needed to do was twist into that universe where a large number of hat molecules all decide at the same time to bounce off in different directions.

Younger witches, on the other hand, talk about it all the time and believe it involves crystals, mystic forces, and dancing about without yer drawers on.

Everyone may be right, all at the same time. That’s the thing about quantum.”

πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Words from Terry Pratchett

  1. I love Terry Pratchett….tank you Lauri for buying me my first book…I’ve been in love ever since. I love his perspective!

  2. I love Terry Pratchett too! That has to be one of the best quotes by him: unlike a number of male fantasy writers, Pratchett has a lot of respect and sympathy for women.

    I was really sad to hear he has Alzheimer’s, but since his diagnosis he’s been raising public awareness about dementia and campaigning for a cure for the disease. He also continues to talk about his experiences with dementia and make them sound amazing.

  3. littlemiao says:

    [this is good] I just finished reading I SHALL WEAR MIDNIGHT. Perhaps I should read this one next? I have enjoyed each of his books tremendously.

    • Did you like it, littlem? I kept getting sad that it (probably) was the last book with Tiffany and the feegles, because I love them so much!

      • littlemiao says:

        Yes, I absolutely loved it. It was bittersweet, though, knowing it is probably the last… I would love to read more of Tiffany’s adventures. Terry Pratchett is such a remarkable storyteller.

  4. Jaypo says:

    Amen, TP! I like reading the segments you quote better than the books… i sorriez!

    I think you’d totally get into a book I’ll post about later on today. Has to do with quantum… awesome quantum!

  5. madtante says:

    Pratchett is my favorite author, following Twain, which I think Pratchett is a lot like (ahem, but I’ll go further to say “better”–while I’m still sweet on Twain).

    You can pick up at least a sentence, often entire passages from ANY page and it’s just outstanding.

Leave a Reply

