A Catch Up post. And it’s not a condiment.

I’ve really lost interest in the big box blog thing. Not forever, but I’ve been way too busy and it’s so hard to keep up.
I’m going to throw a whole buncha stuff at ya in a Blog Stew.
For HG, here is a picture of my pink Diamondback bike.
I love love love him! He’s comfy, simple and easy to get along with! We went for a lovely ride yesterday and I became quite adept at riding one-handed while swatting at biting flies with the other hand.
In a week and a half I am getting the old cruddy carpet pulled up from my livingroom/diningroom and replacing it with a faux tile stuff from Armstrong called Alterna.  It will be SO much nicer for pet cleanups.

Here are two nasty “before” pics just for the record. I have already moved out the piano (ok, I directed while Adam and Ross moved it) and one aquarium. (Ok, I emptied and cleaned and Ken and Aaron moved it.) SO much more to move and so little motivation!

Omg, and I am SO OVER the birdhouse border. It’s getting scraped off and I’ll be painting the walls before the woodwork (nice, new and oak) goes up!

TODAY a pair of Sandhill Cranes showed up in our front yard. No babies with them, but one of them definitely knew me, so I think it’s one of the babies from last year with his new mate! (Pure speculation on my part!) But I am so happy to have them! Welcome, kids!

The little girl is so shy and sweet, watching him to make sure everything is ok!

Onward…..I am on GooglePlus and it’s awesome! My favorite part so far is that on the left hand side you can click “Stream” and then choose to stream ONLY your “family” or only your “friends” or only your “news sources”…..very very nice!

For those who have inadvertently received emails from G+ from me I apologize. I wasn’t meaning to be annoying…just learning.

Sailor Babo has a post coming soon! For now he wants to say that he “loves lavender”. Especially in sugar cookies.

For now I have a whole heck of a lot of plant watering to do outside! Gorgeous day! I hope you all have a good weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to A Catch Up post. And it’s not a condiment.

  1. Lurkertype says:

    SB looks like he’s romping in it. Or maybe singing “The Hills Are Alive, with the smell of lavender!”

  2. M-----l says:

    The seat on that bike seems very low. Was SB out for a ride?

    • Lauri says:

      I must have short legs! But SB would need an eensier bike than that! I’ll have to take him with me today on my ride!

      • Lauri says:

        You know what’s strange? I looked at that picture again and realized that it’s the angle it’s taken from. It’s all distorted. Both tires are exactly the same size, but in the pic it looks like the rear tire is much smaller!

  3. madtante says:

    Lauri, I totally suck and can’t remember your family name. I’m *so* sorry. You know I love you like…well, better than real people -wha??

    If you don’t want to add me, boy, do I not blame you! If you do, DM me on my sidebar or email me at the yahoothinger with a _ between mad and tante. 🙂

    • Lauri says:

      Holy carp! Of course I will add you!!! Why would I not? 😀
      My whole name is on freaking Facebook so I don’t see why I shouldn’t have it here. It’s Lauri Shooltz.
      And my profile pic is of my good ol’ dawg, Calli. Dat’s me! 😀

      • madtante says:

        Bless you, know what’s funny? I remembered it before you posted the answer. Maybe you P-sychicly sent it before replying ;p

        My name is barely concealed on my blog. I’ve referenced family name so many times and first name, so? Any regular reader should’ve gotten it by now!

  4. littlemiao says:

    your bike is really cute.

    I love how dogs and some kitties and bunnies like to lie with their feets back. That’s Sheldon, right?

    The cranes are exquisitely beautiful! They look graceful no matter what they’re doing.

    • Lauri says:

      Yes, that’s Mr. Shely Bells! He’s good a frog-lying, too. Legs all the way back like drumsticks! Bostons love to pull themselves around by their front feet whilst dragging the back…both Shel and Bert do that. We call it “creeping”.

  5. e2thec says:

    the cranes are all kinds of amazing/awesome.

    does anyone have an extra G+ invite they could zing my way?

  6. What a coincidence! I just finished putting my bike together and was going to write a post about it! Not just now, however: I’m beat. My son is all excited and wants me to buy some gear right now, but I told him I’d probably fall asleep behind the wheel on the way to the shop. *yawn*

    Your bike is cute! I’m amazed that you’re able to ride with one hand on the bars and the other swatting the flies, but you really should try riding fast so the flies can’t catch you. 😀

    I know what you mean by being tired of the “big box blog” thing, but I’m not ready to switch to Google+. Last night someone sent me an invite, but all I could do was stare at it. Maybe if my kids all get on the float, I’ll join the parade. But not just yet.

    • Lauri says:

      I ride fairly fast…but there’s always one blasted fly who will not leave the top of my head alone. Ooops…a helmet would take care of that. I really have to get one….

    • e2thec says:

      Lauri kindly sent me an invite to G+ and I have very mixed feelings about the privacy aspects of this… it won’t let me join unless my Picasa (photo) account is made visible to others, and *all* of my photos there are private, with the exception of the ones that I have on my music blog.

      Looks like G+ is still in beta, and I’m not sure that I want to be a beta tester, at least not under my real name. I also feel like Google’s past efforts at crashing FB’s market have been less than ideal… anyone remember Google Buzz and all of the privacy violations they racked up within days after making it public?!

      • Heehee, did you see this?

        http://thisisnthappiness.com/post/7656941713/1

        I love jokes with literary references and was thinking about posting this on my blog, but I’m afraid I’m going to look like a Luddite if i keep it up. But yeah, I don’t like how Google siphons information from my searches and Gmail account. After I get an email update re your blog or Bettina’s or jaypo’s, I see ads in the margins for rabbit-related equipment and sales. Yeah, they aren’t actually “reading” my email, but what are they doing when their search filters pull terms out of them?

        I don’t want to be a beta tester for Google, either. They can pay me if they want me to test crap for them.

        • e2thec says:

          Love that link!!!

          I kinda doubt you’re going to “look like Luddite” if you post that, and I will be *very* surprised if G+ doesn’t end up causing all kinds of legal issues (and problems) re. privacy.

          You know, there’s a way to turn off some of the more obnoxious “Google is tracking me” things in your Google Account Dashboard 9I think it’s “dashboard,” anyway – been a while since I did that).

          Also, are you using any kind of ad/flash-blocking extensions for your browsers? Those can take care of at least 90% of the kinds of spam you’re seeing in the margins…

          • When I turned on the flash blocker, my Firefox browser crashed every time I opened my Hotmail account. (Damn MSN.) More and more websites require a flash player to view them—it’s irritating, but some of my friends still insist on sending stuff to my old Hotmail account, even when I’ve sent them email from my Gmail account.

            One thing that baffles me is that so many people are saying they love Google+ because they can post things viewable only to certain circles, kind of like Vox’s old “Neighborhood Only” option. I don’t know how private your information is from Google—it is a search engine, a portal to all sorts of information on the internet. I’m sure they’re harvesting the personal information one puts on Google+ the same way Facebook takes your private information and uses it to target ads and link you to the mouth-breathing boy from high school who asked you to the prom.

            But like I said, I don’t have any compelling reason to use it. I have a Twitter account to follow other people with (yay, Neil Gaiman and Brent Spiner!), but I haven’t Twittered a single thing myself. According to Twitter, I’m considered a “dead account.” 😀

  7. Laurie says:

    I can’t believe there’s a photo of a room in your house in this post that has no dogs or cats in it. The quadrupeds are clearly falling down on the job.

  8. Ohai cranes! Good to see them wandering around. Nice bike too.
    So, you’re going from “big box” blogging to “big box” not-Facebook? (I say Google classifies as big box…they’re everywhere and doing everything. WP exists for two reasons.) ;P
    I’m glad you and Sailor Babo are getting along. I hope he likes all your critters

    • Lauri says:

      Oh I won’t give up on WP completely. It’s just insane this summer at work. I’ll be ’round! *chews on a straw*

      • Need a hat to go with the straw?

        And have you looked at the Subscription page? Today, I noticed you can go back a lot further than three days! Yaaay!

        • Lauri says:

          I never use that subscription thing. I just get emails when someone posts! *ptooui* *spits out tobacco* Not really. Gross!

          • ::gives Lauri sunflower seeds:: Chew on those instead. Hehe.
            I don’t use the email subscription thing much. Somehow, your posts and Snowy’s ended up getting emailed to me. Not complaining, I just don’t remember how that happened. Haha. It works

  9. lauowolf says:

    I want cranes in my yard!

    (ooooo, and I want a Google+ invite plz plz plz….. I’m me, apparently the only lauowolf there is, at gmail.com)

  10. mariser says:

    I got a G+ invite out to lauo.
    unfortunately not to e2c as I don’t have her email as I thought I did. 😦

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks so much, mariser! I thought someone might come to my rescue! Now I have to find e and try to add her!

      • e2thec says:

        i got your invite OK, thanks!

        the thing is, some of you (like Larui) don’t have the email addy that I’ve been using for a lot of Vox correspondence, which is: spinninginair [at] gmail [dot] com

        If I do the G+ thing, I would rather use that account, due to privacy issues.

  11. ladywise says:

    Sailor Babo needs a purple scarf to match the lavender. He does need to be in style you know. Love the bike. Don’t fall and get no booboos though. I ain’t leavin WP dammit. One major move from Vox to here was enough for me for a lifetime. I like the format here now. Too much change gets stressful for us old folks.

    I’ll have to tell Donna she needs some cranes up there. She don’t have enough animals yet. lol

  12. I don’t know if you inspired me or wore me out there Lauri lol
    Wow, do you have a lot going on, sounds GREAT!! the floors will be amazing! I hate carpet, and you can put down cool runners wherever, throw them in the wash and put back! awesome!!!
    Yes you are my inspiration….keep it up please…soooooooooooooo need, as you know. No new news here yet but will eventually, I’ll keep you up to snuff my dear…Off to help out the oldies but goodies…added one more to my Saturdays, old Scottish Anne needs her Pill box filled once a week, so guess who volunteered? I’m such a sucker! Enjoy your day too my friend:) Oh and I don’t get G+ will figure it out someday 🙂 HUGS

    • Why is my comment awaiting moderation? That is so weird…did I do something wrong? I know there should be a snappy comeback, but it’s too dang hot HIHIHIHILAURI!!!!!

      • Lauri says:

        This comment didn’t go to “Awaiting Moderation”, but the other one did! WP sometimes does stuff all on it’s own!
        It usually takes me awhile to find the ones that “await moderation” so I am sorry I missed it for a bit!!!

  13. Smokey likes to lay like that – with his back legs stretched out behind and his front legs stretching as far forward as they can. I think he just does it because it makes him look even bigger than he is. I think the “Goddamn! You’re not even a year and a half old! You can quit growing now!” comments from me amuses him.

  14. Haihai, good to see you 🙂

  15. kimkiminy says:

    I can’t wait to see how the new room turns out!

  16. geologywoman says:

    What great photos of the varmints! Redoing rooms is fun. Lots of work, but fun.

  17. homebody says:

    Yay! Babo in the lavender! Cool bike and OMG those cranes are adorable (even without babies)!

Leave a Reply

