Little Tiny Mouse, Little Tiny Mouse…

Ken was out putting away some stuff in our lawnmower shed. To do so he had to move an old unused push mower. As he moved it a tiny mouse fell out. It was a baby, just barely getting black fuzz, with a white tummy and eyes tight shut and miniscule ears. Ken brought him inside and we both put our brains to work about what to do. (I forgot to add that we could see where mama had her nest in the engine of the lawnmower, but we couldn’t find a way to put him back in there.)

We thought we could feed him with a pipette, so put Little Mouse in a plastic box, covered him with a microwave splatter cover on the kitchen counter whileI got an old cricket cage out and lined it with dried grass (what was used in his nest in the mower).  I was out of the house for less than three minutes, but I came back to find Stringbean on the counter staring through the hole in the cover at the tempting mouse-rsel.

It’s beyond belief that in that short a time with fans and the air conditioner going, Stringbean somehow heard or sensed Little Mouse was in the kitchen. (and thank goodness I covered him up).

This made me realize that Little Mouse was probably making sounds we could not hear and I took the little plastic box, dried grass and mouse out to the shed and set him right on the mower next to the inaccessible nest. I checked an hour later. Little Mouse was snoozing away in the box. Two hours later we were going out to bring him in and give him a feeding and WOOHOO! he is gone! Mama came out of the lawnmower and took him back into the nest. I just know she would hear him and come get him!

Whew.

(and, no, we are not considering any other reasons why Little Mouse disappeared from the box. But thanks for asking).

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Little Tiny Mouse, Little Tiny Mouse…

  1. marilyn says:

    AWE…….such devotion to life you two have:) And of course Mama mouse came and nudged him back home….who would think anyway else…hrump 🙂

  2. Lurkertype says:

    String maybe smelled the noms, along with hearing. He probably thought you were fixing him a fancy entree under glass.

  3. phantomxii says:

    Oh, crap—was that your mouse? I snagged it for my Traveling Tiny Mouse Circus. (Don’t ask what I was doing in your shed. I don’t want you to think I’m a stalker or anything. *goes back to watching enormous bank of video monitors*)

  4. kimkiminy says:

    It may have been *because* of the fans and air-conditioner that your cat knew of little pinkie’s presence. I bet Stringbean *smelled* mousey.

    Great job! Did you take the precaution of not touching pinkie with your bare hands?

    • Lauri says:

      I was holding him in my palm, but much washing up was done afterwards. And as for Mama Mouse smelling us, we’ve rescued lots of babies….birds especially and even after days of caring for them if the parents come and hear them calling they are ecstatic to take them back.

  5. ladywise says:

    How sweet! How many people would try to save a mouse around the house!

  6. Poor little baby! Good thing you found him and returned him (her?) to Mommy Mouse. Your karma just jumped by 100 points! 😀

  7. Jaypo says:

    Awww, weenie mousie, teensy moufie,
    tumbling from his engine housie.
    Stringer beanie, hears the weenie,
    tummy growls and ears go perky.

    I’m so glad you found him and took good care of hims!! He’ll grow up to be a proper Stewart Little. Little Stewie.

  8. madtante says:

    I used to play with our field mice babies. Once, I took one in to show The Duchess. To my bemusement, she leapt on top of the kitchen table. ON TOP OF THE KITCHEN TABLE. Head amongst the chandelier.

    Papa came in with all the screaming and told me to go release it in the pasture. I was bummed. I thought maybe I could keep it.

    After that, I learned to sneak in my “temp pets” (like grass snakes and tree frogs–didn’t bring in anymore mice).

  9. Redscylla says:

    Yay for mysterious-to-hoomans bebbeh to mama mouse communiqués!!!

  10. Drude says:

    I accidentally dug a nest op in the compost heap once… so I used the babies as ‘bait’ in a live trap, caught mommy in the trap and set the whole fambly up in a mouse cage (that I borrowed at the lab) until the babies were big enough to release – fed them bugs and mouse pellets… felt it was the least I could do after ruining a perfectly good nest. Teh babies had soooo long feets.

  11. Awww, how nice! I’m sure they were happily reunited 🙂

  12. GOF says:

    Now you’ve given me a serious case of the guilts…no more than 30 minutes ago I got out of bed and found a mouse…well actually a small rat inside the house eating the cat’s food. I set my meanest looking rat trap in the vicinity. Am I feeling guilty enough to go “unset” the trap?……….I’ll think about it for a couple of seconds longer………

    • You and me, GOF. I just found mouse poop on my clothes in my dresser and rat poop next to my father’s barbecue outside, which made me completely forget about baby mousies and compassion for all living things. I don’t like traps however, and I’m not sure how humane rat bait is. And I know live trapping is just asking for trouble—there’s no good place here to release the captives, and they all manage to find their way back here within a short time. We have little bite marks all over the vegetables in the garden to prove it.

      • GOF says:

        Instant death rat traps are much more humane than bait which takes a couple of days to painfully kill them. (mind you, in the event of a plague I’ll use anything to control the rat population) I figure that by using traps I am merely replicating the natural world……I’m really just a nice hungry python in disguise.

  13. Lauri says:

    Don’t worry, guys, we trap mouses inside the house, too. Our six cats seem to be inept at doing that! 😛
    Can’t have icky rodent germs in the house.
    I hate doing it, I hate killing a wasp or mosquito….but I still do it.

  14. Aussie Emjay says:

    Your 6 cats must be too well fed 🙂

  15. geologywoman says:

    You scored like a million points in the animal-karma realm. I would have done just the same as you. We have 2 mice in our garden and a cute little mouse hole in one of the beams at the edge of a flowerbed. One of the mice is not afraid to come out and forage in the birdseed right in front of us. The other will dart through one of the bunny runs. I would be sure it steals a nugget of bun food now and then.

Leave a Reply

