Dinner Conversation…

Ken and I were out to dinner tonight (as every Wednesday and Saturday) with his mom. We were talking about our upcoming trip to Cedar Point….amusement park on the shores of Lake Erie. Last time we went to Cedar Point the very first ride we went on was the Top Thrill Dragster.  Now, I really need to start on something smaller and slower because the first time we rode this ride I actually lost consciousness for about 1 second. Ken says to his mom “Lauri browned out last time on the Top Thrill Dragster.” I started choking on my food and whispered to him “You make it sound like I crapped my pants.”…then we both started laughing and couldn’t stop. No brown outs on the rides, please! My MIL couldn’t understand why we couldn’t stop laughing.

Top Thrill Dragster

Model Stratacoaster
Track layout Square-boxed structure painted red and white with yellow supports
Lift/launch system Hydraulic Launch
Height 420 ft (130 m)
Drop 400 ft (120 m)
Length 2,800 ft (850 m)
Max speed 120 mph (190 km/h)
Inversions 0
Duration 0:17
Capacity 1000 riders per hour
Acceleration 0 to 120 mph (0 to 193 km/h) in 3.8 seconds

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Dinner Conversation…

  1. amyhftw says:

    LOL!

    Ah, Cedar Point. Fun rides, scary people-watching. Nothing like overweight Midwesterners in spandex bike pants and tank tops as far as the eye can see.

    I used to own stock in Cedar Point when it first went public, way back when I was a teenager. Sold it after my divorce at a very healthy profit to make a down payment on my condo. So I’m a big fan!

    The first time I went on the Magnum I really thought I wouldn’t survive it. Later that day, from the Ferris Wheel, I saw it and said “there’s no way in hell I’m going on THAT.” My college boyfriend said, “You already did. That was our first ride.”

    Lesson – do the scariest ones first before you are alert enough to say NO!!!

    Is the Blue Streak still there? What a great ride.

    • Lauri says:

      No way, you owned STOCK in Cedar Point? We love that place!!! Last time we were there…two years ago, the Blue Streak was still there. What a scary old skeleton it is! And yes, I do love it!

      The scariest people watching was an overweight midwesterner with a tattoo around her belly button that made it look hairy. Eeeeek…….give me a scary rollercoaster anytime! 😀

      • amyhftw says:

        Gross!
        Yeah, MomH was meeting with her stockbroker guy and he mentioned Cedar Fair (Cedar Point and another park in MN) were opening to stockholders. So she bought some in my name, I paid her back and sat on it for a little over 10 years. The taxes were a bit of a pain because of how it was set up, so it was nice to sell it. Thanks for helping it make money! 😀

  2. Kzinti says:

    Brown out, isn’t that when you actually let the “brown”… out?

    • Lauri says:

      That is most definitely what it sounds like…therefore I will NOT be using the term to define a short-lived loss of blood to the brain…..

  3. … and that’s exactly what I thought he sounded like he was saying as well …

  4. Lurkertype says:

    I think he meant “grayed out”, but hopefully his mom either understood it or got a laugh too.

    • Lauri says:

      EGGsellent, LT! Yes, he DID mean “grayed out”……and his mom had no clue and we didn’t really want to go into it at dinner. 🙂

  5. madtante says:

    Good one! Gram always said, although we have bears in Missouri (they’re on our flag), it’s rare to see them BUT if she ever did, she had no worries cos they’d be too busy sliding around on all the brown stuff she’d leave behind her to catch her!

  6. crankypants says:

    haha! Actually I thought brownout was right but brownout is more of an electricity thing than a passing out thing!
    (and for once, my mind wasn’t in the crapper)

  7. GOF says:

    I’m afraid something a lot worse than a brown out might happen to me if I went on that thing.
    Enjoy your upcoming trip.

  8. Aussie Emjay says:

    LOL – I thought you were going to say that the power slowed down and you were stuck somewhere up there… That is absolutely nothing I’d ever ride – I find the “Teacups” exciting enough.

Leave a Reply

