U2 at Spartan Stadium in E. Lansing, Michigan!

I would have to use too many superlatives….all of which I am fond of overusing anyway….so maybe I should just post pictures….

Perfect weather, perfect day, perfect concert.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to U2 at Spartan Stadium in E. Lansing, Michigan!

  1. M-----l says:

    I bet U2’s touring profits would be a lot higher if they didn’t haul around a gigantic metal spider everywhere they go.

  2. amyhftw says:

    MomH was telling me all about the set-up. Guess they were following it all on the news. WOW! She didn’t even come close to describing the tower. She said there were what – 18 semi trucks hauling everything around? Whatever it is – what a massive undertaking!

    I thought of you when she was telling me about it and hoped you had fun! Looks like you did!

    • Lauri says:

      It was crazy, Amy! The city was jam packed. It took us over 2 hours to get out of E. Lansing and into our hotel in Okemos after the concert!

  3. LBeeeze says:

    That thing over the stage looks like a huge crab from outer space. Looks like the party was a blast!!!

  4. It looks like Steven Spielberg lent U2 one of the aliens from War of the Worlds. I don’t think it would have been so great however if the thing began firing laser blasters into the crowd or picking them up with a giant claw to extract their bodily fluids and tissue. But wouldn’t that have been TOTALLY awesome, dude?

    • Lauri says:

      Heeheee….I had many interesting thoughts going through my head during that concert….and The Claw coming to life was definitely one of them!

  5. geologywoman says:

    I love them, and they just played here last weekend at Glastonbury. I know Bono is known to be a jackass, but I love the Edge. I think their lyrics are pretty good and the music is always good, and I own all of their CDs. I think it has become chic to diss such bands (U2, Coldplay, etc). Soon it will not be cool to listen to Mumford and Sons, now that they have become popular.
    I will say I am not paying like $200 to see any band – unless it’s a music festival sort where there are lots of bands – and U2’s ticket prices are ridiculous.

    • Lauri says:

      If you had seen that city and that crowd you wouldn’t have realized it has become chic to diss some of these bands. It took us over 2 hours to get out of the city and back to our hotel. It was a great night!

      • Lauri says:

        Oh…..and ticket prices…..there were plenty of ridiculously priced seats, but I had many friends who only paid 50 bucks to get in. We paid $92.50.
        It’s high, but it’s a once in a five or more year thing. Well worth it.

  6. geologywoman says:

    I am so glad you listen to them, Lauri. I had to add that. I especially love Achtung Baby and the Unforgettable Fire, but I love their latest CD.

    • Lauri says:

      I was rather surprised that MOST of this concert was from the oldest music. It was six songs in before they played anything that was under 20 years old! And I think they only played one song from their latest album, which got no critical acclaim, but I loved it nevertheless. Bono is the “man people love to hate” but his voice was the best I have ever heard it, and though full of himself, he and all the band work their asses off to put on the best show ever.
      With 67,000 people screaming for over 2 hours and 15 minutes, I don’t think too many people THERE hated him! 😉
      And Coldplay was one of my favorite concerts, too. Greenday was THE favorite in the last five years.

  7. Jaypo says:

    Holy moly!! Is that a spaceship? Isthat the actual stage? A stageship! and a hologram??
    I’m high just looking at it. It must have been awesome, in every sense of the word. love u!

    • Lauri says:

      It was sooooooooooooooo cool, jay! Yep..spaceship…with lcds that showed the images and then opened all the way down to the ground to form a hive-type structure. I can just imagine the designers having a complete blast coming up with this Thing!
      And the music lived up to it.
      I love these guys!

  8. madtante says:

    This is the first tour since I was 12 that I’ve not gone to see them when they come. I love, them, just money…time…PITA to see them BUT they’re always, always splendid. So happy you got to enjoy them!

    • Lauri says:

      You’re so lucky to have seen them so many times! I saw them twice in the Vertigo tour….2005 and then this time! That’s all, folks!

  9. marilyn says:

    It was a beautiful weekend! Glad you had fun…we need more fun don’t we? “Hugs”

  10. GOF says:

    Nothing better than a live concert….unfortunately big names never make it to my backwoods…..except Glen Campbell 20 years ago just before he got really old. 🙂

  11. phantomxii says:

    Wow! Wish they had a stop here. Or…hmm…wouldn’t be the first time I’ve driven to St. Louis for a concert…

  12. Glad you had a wonderful time, concerts are always fun!

Leave a Reply

