Wow.

This Summer at Work is wearing me out. Plus my CFS is flaring up. I crawl home and have to nap a LOT. I’m still getting plenty done, but sometimes I don’t know how I am going to survive the day. I will survive tomorrow because I am taking  monuMental Health Day.

My SAILOR BABO arrived yesterday!!!!! I am so excited, but I have to load up the pics onto my computer….will work on that! For now, here is a cool map that I stole from GOM who stole it from Doug. 🙂


visited 41 states (82%)
Create your own visited map of The United States

And here’s another from the same site! There are a lot more places I need to go!!!

visited 32 states (14.2%)
Create your own visited map of The World

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Wow.

  1. snoringKatZ says:

    Well no wonder you’re pooped! All that traveling! 😉

  2. trishc1812 says:

    My US map would be all red, with the one exception of Alaska. I need to get to Alaska so I can honestly claim that I have been in all 50 states…plus, Canada, Mexico, India, and Italy.
    Hope you feel better soon!

  3. crankypants says:

    Wow! I never knew you did all that travelling! Of course, your cruises take you to a lot of the places I wouldn’t have thought of. Cool! I think I’ve been to 26 states, maybe a couple more if you consider driving through. And I think 13 countries. I did this last night but didn’t post it.
    Enjoy your mental health day! I also didn’t know you suffered from CFS. You’d never know it with how much you do all the time!

  4. Lurkertype says:

    I would be happy to get 1/10th as much done with my CFS as you do! I had a big nap myself today.

    Doesn’t everyone need to take a day off work to welcome their new SB?

  5. phantomxii says:

    WHEW…for a sec there I thought this was an updated map of Red States. :-O

  6. e2thec says:

    I hope this flare doesn’t last long – ikwym about CFS and cannot imagine doing all that you do with that diagnosis. (I nap a lot meself…)

  7. Finally, an update to the Postcards from Sailor Babo blog! I’m looking forward to seeing what your Sailor Babo is like. Will he be known now as Larui’s Sailor Babo?

    I hope you feel better soon. You sure don’t show it, even when you aren’t feeling great.

  8. madtante says:

    Aw, I’m sorry you’re dealing with a flare. Having congenital lupus, I knows me some BS flares!

    You’re done a lot more travel than I. If I ever hit the jackpot (not that I play), I’d become a world traveller for at least a few years!

  9. Wow, you’ve done a lot of traveling! I feel so untraveled. One day.
    Have fun with your new Sailor Babo! Yay!

  10. Show off! Got something against Arkansas?

    CFS = “Chronically Feeling Shitty” right? (Just kidding …)

  11. GOF says:

    It would be rather pointless if I were to steal it from you who stole it from GOM who stole it from Doug just to have everything remain white except for one small spot of red.
    I really must get out more. 🙂

  12. Jaypo says:

    You have CFS????? :-O Why dint I know that?? How long? Poor babluie…
    I’m tired just looking at all the places you’ve been! You haven’t visited the deep south?! *snerk*

  13. Aussie Emjay says:

    I’ve seen 9% of the world – I need to get a move on and see more. So much to see; so little time 🙂 I hope the CFS flare doesn’t last long.

  14. Lauri says:

    I have been really fortunate that I haven’t had a CFS flare up in probably 3 years. So I can’t complain. And I have been functioning, just sometimes I think “I’m just going to lie right down here on my way to the parking lot and die.”
    Aches so bad I can barely turn the focus on the microscope. I can’t tear open foil pouches that a lot of our test kits come in..but that is what scissors are for. Naproxen is working, so I haven’t gone and begged for any stronger drugs. All in all I am VERY lucky!!!
    And, as for the maps….it’s funny….I’ve been to Vancouver, Toronto, the shores of Lake Erie in Ontario, and Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and Quebec City….but all that red looks like I have traversed the entire country of Canada. I have been SO lucky to have done as much traveling as I have so far.

    • e2thec says:

      oh my, L – sounds FMish as well – all that aching. Hope you are feeling better ASAP!

      [very gentle hugs for you + nosebumps (hi!) from N.]

  15. littlemiao says:

    People assume that because I lived in China for so long I’ve traveled to a ton of places. I wish that were true! One day I hope my map will look more like yours.

    The Miao Bros send soft snuggles and purrs. Feel better!

  16. geologywoman says:

    What is CFS? Chronic Fatigue Syndrome? If so, my mother used to swear by taking royal jelly for it. Cool beans with the map, I love any kind of map.

  17. Emmy says:

    Now I feel like I have to join the Babo clan. Can’t wait to meet yours!

    I did not realize you had CFS. I insisted my doctor test me for it, he said it was useless, they don’t know what to do with the results. Then there was that new discovery basically un-linking it to the virus. Glad to hear it’s rare for you. My troubles may be low blood pressure, CFS is neurological, right? So far as they know?

  18. Lauri says:

    I guess I sort of lump the Fibromyalgia in with the Chronic Fatigue. I was told that the achy joints prevent any kind of restful sleep so that if it goes on for long, the CFS develops. There are so many theories and downright guesses about the entire syndrome. My own is that it is my immune system getting all “het up” about something and going into overdrive, giving me the joint aches and muscle pain. It’s already getting better, so I can’t say I have a very bad case of any of it. Just enough to really empathize with folks who have severe cases of it.

    • e2thec says:

      i think it’s pretty well impossible to know where one ends and the other begins, or what causes them, but … I hope that will change someday, and that there will be real help for whatever causes these things. (My internist down in D.C. feels that there are multiple, discrete conditions – and viruses – that get lumped together at this point, from what she has seen of her patients with CFS diagnoses.)

      My CFS diagnosis came after a bout of mono (in 1989) just didn’t resolve after 6 months, and I had some pretty crazy viral symptoms for about 7-8 years. My doc was very thorough in working to eliminate all other probable causes (like lupus) before giving me the diagnosis. The FM diagnosis came later, after the viral stuff went away. (I was also dealing with endo and pain from it that I never had a chan ce to get over, so all of thoe things fed into one another.)

      Now the endo is gone, thank God, but the FM remains.

      And hey – flares are flares, and it doesn’t matter whether you have mild symptoms (or seemingly no symptoms at all) at other times – they’re just plain nasty! am glad to hear that you’re beginning to feel better – just take care so that you don’t push to do too much too soon!

      • Lauri says:

        I had forgotten to add that mine all started after a rather nasty case of viral pneumonia. Even before that, though, I could tell that my immune system would overreact to things.
        Some of it is just the way we are built…..(“I was born this way”)
        Thanks for the reminder not to overdo. I did have a lovely nap today…..again!

        • e2thec says:

          Immune system that overreacts: yes, me too. (Since i was about 5 and had a car accident – there is some hypothesizing that serious illness and/or other physical trauma at a young age can throw the immune system off, so to speak… I do know that I’ve had FM symptoms for nearly as long as I can remember, but of course, nobody knew what to call it when I was younger and lots of people thought I was faking stuff… : ( )

          about your case of viral pneumonia: makes sense to me. Mine really started several months before I got the mono diagnosis. i took a trip to L.A. for an arts conference and never seemed to get over the jet lag… I have to wonder if I caught it from one of the air conditioning units I was using at that time. They were not the cleanest and I had an absentee landlord who didn’t care much about getting things fixed. 9he was crazy – I could only call him in the *middle of the night* because he was out playing at high-stakes bridge games…)

    • Emmy says:

      Did you see the Mind Hacks post on it? Pretty interesting. From what I know (and I’ve studied it a crap ton, being that I have symptoms), it’s probably multiple things that should be seperated but that are lumped in together. I did not realize there were “flare ups”, as I have chronic exhaustion and feeling energetic is a rare treat. My doctor helped me quite a bit when he pointed out that I have low blood pressure, but it’s not a cure to force my blood pressure up, LOL! Fibromyalgia and joint pain are miserable, though. Hope all goes well – sometimes summers are worse than winters! And here’s the mind hacks article:

      http://mindhacks.com/2011/06/03/where-next-for-chronic-fatigue-after-xmrv-a-bust/

Leave a Reply

