More gardening pics…cuz it’s too hot to actually garden!

I got quite a bit done this morning, but this afternoon it has reached 94 degrees and the horseflies are biting. I’m done outside until the sun goes down.

A before pic. Let’s hope there is an after pic!

The next two pics are groundcovers and I bought them cuz I love teeny tiny and I love groundcovers and I love weird names. The first one is Rupturewort and the second one is Toadflax.

Let’s see….oh yeah….more coral bells…I forgot to post a picture of Plum Pudding yesterday…

And here are my two new guys….Midnight Rose and Obsidian…

Here’s a before and after pic all in one. The front garden is done, the back one, bigger by far, is a mess. Hubby thinks I should get rid of a few gardens.

Oh! I almost forgot the Irish Moss…is there anything tinier and prettier than Irish Moss in bloom?

You guys think this is bad…wait until I get talking about all my varieties of sedum! 😉


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to More gardening pics…cuz it’s too hot to actually garden!

  1. LBeeeze says:

    I say you haven’t lived until you’ve planted rupturewart and toadflax. It looks like Sheldon approves. It was 99 degrees when I came out of work. Phew!!

    • Lauri says:

      You are so right about the rupturewort and toadflax! Hee!
      It’s a scorcher again today but I am getting work done outside in the mornings! How I love my days off. After today it’s back to work. Pooey. Can’t they just send us paychecks without the work?

  2. crankypants says:

    ugh our heat will be here tomorrow, and I hab a code.
    I love your new coral bells, they are really pretty! Oh and don’t you know, yesterday I was walking the dog and noticed that someone around the corner had a little trellis with what appears to be the orange version of the ones you have pictured on the little trellis that you told me about yesterday that I googled that I disremember the name of.
    My neighbor at the Raccoon Roost had a really nice sedum, it was pale green leaves with flowers that were light green fading into a light pink. I have never seen the exact one anywhere.
    Now I’m annoyed I didn’t make an effort to get my plants in the ground over the weekend….grrrr.

    • Lauri says:

      Ack, I am sorry you hab a code.
      My tum and head are finally feeling better today. It was a weird stomachache headache thing for about three/four days. Pleh.

      I have so many cool sedums that I love, too! Plants are so much fun. We are supposed to cool off in a couple days. I’m not at the complaining point yet, but I’m not working outside when it’s in the 90s unless it’s to water plants with the hose…then I can water myself, too!

  3. crankypants says:

    I forgot to mention before, your new banner is lovely! what flowers are they?

    • Lauri says:

      Those I know as Snow in Summer. I love them….they bloom so profusely and are so pure white with silvery leaves.

      • Lauri says:

        Oh, the orange climbing vine is called Thunbergia. I have the tag lying right here or I would have no idea. All I can think of is “thunder” when I try to think of it on my own.

  4. Emmy says:

    The first photo with the wheel barrow is gorgeous – so many shades of green. Jade, sage, just beautiful.

    Can I ask what those tall flowers are to the left in the photo with the yellow flowers and the stone edging?

  5. littlemiao says:

    Beautiful!! The Irish moss is so pretty, as are the purple toadflax flowers.

    What is the name of the plant in the lower right hand corner of the 4th photo down? The one with pale green leaves with darker green edges? One of my horticulturally-inclined neighbors’ plants has spread under our fence and is growing by our shed. It is quite pretty and I think it may be the same as you have in the photo. I’ll have to take some pictures of it. I’m thinking of transplanting some of it elsewhere around the yard because it makes such a lovely ground cover.

    It was pretty hot here today too, but on Thursday it is supposed to drop 30 degrees.

    • Lauri says:

      That is Beacon Silver. It’s really pretty…and it spreads like crazy, but is easy to pull up if it gets into spots that you don’t want it to.
      This I planted in a pot (well this pot that’s in the picture). It came back in the pot and also jumped out of the pot, so it’s sprouting at other places in the garden! I’ll let it go until it spreads too far!

  6. It’s finally warming up out here! For a while, I thought spring had gone into remission!

    I also heard from friends in Minnesota that there was an extreme heat warning out there, with temps in the 90s and high humidity. They were telling people not to work outdoors if they could avoid it, so I’m glad you’re not out in the sun. I love Irish moss: unfortunately in the Valley it burns up as soon as the temps start to rise. We can’t grown delicate little flowers here, but big tropicals flourish in my parents’ garden. I’d trade the birds of paradise plant for a clump of toadflax, though!

  7. madtante says:

    Hahaha. We have a couple varieties of sedum. I thought they were native but mum just planted them EVERYWHERE when they bought the place.

    You garden A LOT cos it looks great and I know very well that’s work.

  8. Redscylla says:

    Toadflax would make a very good name for a cat, a witch’s familiar. Not saying you’re a witch or anything…

  9. geologywoman says:

    How fun is that! Lovely plants – and fun with geeking over the names – and hey, tell hubby that one is a rock garden, LOL. With lots of dirt in it. Oye, go buy some pretty rocks and chuck them in it. You can even get one of those little concrete Japanese things and stick in the middle. I was just about to post some gardening photos myself! Jinx…though no horseflies here, thank the heavens. I do NOT miss them. I do love sedum.

  10. geologywoman says:

    Is there nicotania in the first photo?

    • Lauri says:

      I can’t see any nicotiana in that pic, but I do have several nicotiana plants scattered around because butterflies and hummingbirds love them!

      Mostly what you see there is weeds and sedum! I got 2/3 of it weeded and moved some plants around in the last two days, so I may not be all that far from an “after” picture! w00t!

  11. kimkiminy says:

    Those are before pics?!? Looks pretty fantastic already!

  12. GOF says:

    Always interesting to see garden plants that grow in other parts of the world. The Irish Moss in amongst the boulders looks really good.

  13. snoringKatZ says:

    You are so good at this growing stuff thing. I’m proud of you!

  14. marilyn says:

    OMG Lauri I haven’t seen your yard in a long time..you can tell the kids have left home for sure!!! Just beautiful!!

  15. Aussie Emjay says:

    I love ground covers; I just wish I had a bit more ground to cover. Everything looks so pretty.

Leave a Reply

