Turtle and Nasturtium

Don’t you love how my posts are summarized in the title?

Second turtle of the season laying eggs in our yard! How lucky are we?

No jumping or diving, but egg-laying is welcome!

(go ahead and jump, too….who are they to tell me I can’t jump into a pool?)

Mama says “Go away, I’m busy here.”

My first flower on my nasturtium. Soon they’ll be in my salads! Yum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Turtle and Nasturtium

  1. Lurkertype says:

    I’m pretty sure “Turtle and Nasturtium” is a kids’ book. 🙂

  2. littlemiao says:

    cute turtle! beautiful plant! So those flowers are edible? I wonder if that is something I should add to my little garden-in-progress?

    • Lurkertype says:

      You’d like nasturtiums, littlem! The flowers are a little peppery, and kind of like watercress. Whenever I see them in a salad I almost hate to eat them, but of course I do after they’ve been properly admired.

      You could try growing chives too. They’re really easy, and they taste yummy and have small flowers if you let them grow that long. Some kitties even like them.

  3. Emmy says:

    I caught that turtle diving off the board – naughty boy! Nice pictures – do you know that on the Blog Surfer you and Monsoon have brick-like colors that compliment each other perfectly? It’s quite impressive. Don’t deny it, you planned it that way.

    Love the nasturtium too. Blues and oranges, lovely.

  4. You changed your banner again! Love it!

    I sometimes think turtles are suicidal. My younger daughter and I saw a little one trying to cross this insanely busy street as we sat in my car, waiting for the light to change. We kept screaming every time we saw it dart towards a speeding car; finally, my daughter leaped out of the car and ran into the street, grabbed the turtle, and stuck it on a shady spot on someone’s lawn. The turtle probably was frustrated as heck—“Hey, I didn’t want to go here! I was trying to get THERE!” But I thought my daughter was brave to jump out like that. Insanely brave. 😦

    Do you think you’ll see the babies hatch after a month? I’ve never seen baby turtles in the wild.

    • Lauri says:

      Every year we find a few babies and take them down to a wooded area with ponds. They are so tiny and adorable! Smaller than a quarter!

      One year we watched a Mama Blanding’s turtle circle our front drive area for two days. Later we found the nest as the babies were hatching right beside the driveway. There were eight of them. That was SO exciting because Blanding’s turtles are endangered.

    • Lauri says:

      My caterpillar banner was not in focus. Pooh…cuz I loved that picture!

  5. Inga says:

    Oh my god, if a turtle ever laid eggs in my yard I think I’d die from the awesome.

  6. Redscylla says:

    Yay for turkle nesting!

  7. madtante says:

    YAYzers!! I loveeeeeeeeeee turtles! We have/ had loads. My sweet boy (years deceased) had a penchant for killing them, so we didn’t have many for YEARS. Now, we get a few. Bobby has killed one but he hasn’t been too keen. If we see one, we get its arse OUT of the “main living area” (fenced and cross-fenced, so that means “up by the house”).

  8. AWESOME! Yay, toitles!

  9. kimkiminy says:

    “Turtle and Nasturtium” would totally make an excellent name for an Irish pub.

  10. GOF says:

    I want a turtle in my yard. 🙂

Leave a Reply

