Love for Boo

My friend, Marilyn, lost her dear sweet Boxer, Boo, a couple of days ago. She was not very old…only around 9, but she had a belly tumor. Marilyn’s family cherished their last few months with Boo. She was a happy loving wiggly cuddlebug and I know they will miss her and I will miss her, too. She was also a lovable goof with startlingly beautiful eyes, one brown and one blue.

Here is the eulogy Mar posted for her. I love it.

Look not where I was
For I am not there
My spirit is free
I am everywhere

…In the air that you breathe
In the sounds that you hear
Don’t cry for me Mom
My spirit is near

I’ll watch for you
From the other side
I’ll be the one running
New friends by my side

Smile at my memory
Remember in your heart
This isn’t the end
It’s a brand new star

Here’s my friend and her Boo.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Love for Boo

  1. madtante says:

    Aw, sorry for all those missing Boo. He had a happy, short life.

  2. Emmy says:

    Many sympahties to Marilyn. That dog is adorable and looks like a cherished member of the family. Although it’s not terribly relevant, I also must say, your friend looks very stylish and she looks down to earth as well.

  3. My sympathies – but I’m sure all the love they shared made it oh, so very worthwhile πŸ™‚

  4. pyrit says:

    Oh jeepahs. Look at ‘im.
    Dang.
    It’s like losing your first love.

  5. Mom S +2 says:

    As someone who received her sloppy kisses, headbutts and was victim to her canine sense of humor, I can honestly say Boo was a wonderful loving dog and I will miss her very much. Boo’s personality can be expressed by the one word- JOY. She would wag not just her tail, but her whole body. And her joy was infectious. Her licking attacks or desire to play would get you laughing and playing with her. She had me wrapped around her paw and she knew it!
    Our love goes out to Marilyn and her family(2 and 4 foot members)

  6. I had to skim through the poem very quickly—I started to get all choked up. I still miss my little dog and anything reminding me of him still makes me cry. I feel for your friend and hope she takes comfort in your words.

  7. snoringKatZ says:

    Poor little Boo. My friend’s little kitty got sick and she died today, too. Sad day for furries’ people.

  8. marilyn says:

    Thank you Lauri , you are truly the bestest friend……Boo which is short for Beulah , named after my favorite Aunt which we always called Aunt Boo. This is making my sorrow a little less painful.Thank you all for your kind words. She was the best dog, my baby…I miss her sooo oh no… not more tears…..

    • Lauri says:

      Awwww….I didn’t know that she was named after Aunt Boolah. Tears are good at a time like this. They are healing and maybe they help our friends’ spirits on their way….who knows? HUGS!

  9. marilyn says:

    I AM NOT THERE

    Do not stand at my grave and weep;
    I am not there. I do not sleep.
    I am a thousand winds that blow.
    I am the diamond glints on snow.
    I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
    I am the gentle autumn’s rain.
    When you awaken in the morning’s hush,
    I am the swift uplifting rush
    of quiet birds in circled flight.
    I am the soft stars that shine at night.
    Do not stand at my grave and cry;
    I am not there, I did not die.

  10. kimkiminy says:

    Such a beautiful dog! It’s so hard to lose a beloved pet.

  11. Aw, sadness. Like kimkiminy said, it’s so hard to lose a pet. It is nice to know that they’re no longer in pain though.

    And now I’m thinking of Terry Pratchett’s character Death. Hehe

  12. GOF says:

    Wonderful tribute Lauri. It’s always so sad when a pet leaves us at a young age.

  13. aubrey says:

    The poems, the thoughts, the words – Aubrey is getting a little weepy. I’m so sorry for the loss of such a devoted friend.

    • marilyn says:

      But is soooooooooo healing for me. I never knew that there were so many awesome people out there that I don’t even know. Thank you again Lauri, you’re the best!” snif”

  14. geologywoman says:

    Bless. How very sad! It is such a loss. I love that Hopi quote.

  15. Redscylla says:

    So sad. Sadly, 9 is pretty old for a boxer. They’re such good dogs, it’s a heartbreaker they don’t live longer. 😦

  16. LBeeeze says:

    Dang, I’m so sorry to hear this. It’s hard to loose a cuddlebug.

Leave a Reply

