Game of Thrones

Well, I can’t say much….too many spoilers…but I am almost at the end of the first book. Waaaaaay ahead of the HBO series. So, all I can say is “wow”.

You folks who said you can’t get attached to any characters were oh so right. Sheeeeesh!

Still loving it, though! Beautiful imagery! Fine stories going on in these characters’ lives. A fascinating world!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Game of Thrones

  1. madtante says:

    I read a “quick” synopsis on wiki when I first heard about the miniseries. Since I don’t get fancy-tv–and as you well know, would never be there at the right time to watch, I’ll end up renting the DVDs when they come out!

    In the meantime, I just finished the 1st Covenant book. I don’t feel compelled to read the next 6 (I think…) but the author is “quite good” at his craft. I just don’t feel drawn to it.

    Have you read the Covenant books? I get this idea that they’re in a similar vein, yet more fighting/ action, which I think may be better for me.

    I’ve enjoyed “battle” books (whether history or fiction) but I did not care for the few fight scenes in Covenant I. The rest of it was well-written but meh, not so much fight scenes (for me).

  2. littlemiao says:

    I started reading it too because I think fatcat recommended it. I’m really enjoying it but unfortunately I’m not finding the time to read much these days. 😦 I started it a month ago and I’m still only about halfway through. I agree that it is excellent storytelling though, I just need to stop wasting my time watching netflix.

  3. e2thec says:

    I went through the whole series last month – not easy to put them down!

    One thing I really dislike: the violence. (It intensifies as the series goes on, partly because these people are so casually brutal.)

    But the storytelling is 1st-rate. I don’t think it’s “great literature,” but it sure is fun to read.

    • Lauri says:

      The violence is completely over the top. I am getting desensitized, though, so that is good. Sometimes violence upsets me….I’m just sort of taking this in stride.

      • e2thec says:

        there’s some very grim stuff later on – just warning you. (and i can honestly say that i was not prepared for it, even with all the beheadings and sexual assaults, etc.)

        As for not getting attached to characters: yes. otoh, expect some plot twists along the way…

      • e2thec says:

        i think i would have given up were it nor for his use of multiple narrators and shifting povs.

        that keeps the tension going for sure!

  4. LBeeeze says:

    I saw the first show in the HBO series, but it didn’t grab me. I’m guessing the books are much more engaging.

    • e2thec says:

      i think you are likely correct on that, although there are certain things about them that will probably remind you of… movies, maybe? Martin was a scriptwriter (TV and movies) for a long time, and the books played out in my head like in a pretty cinematic way. (If that makes sense.)

      He’s great at suspense and cliffhangers, and the characters develop over time… most of them, anyway.

    • e2thec says:

      i watched all the previews (includes the 15-minute excerpt) for the 1st episode, and you know… I don’t think I’m going to bother with it when it comes out on DVD. They changed some important things in that opening 15 minutes (includes the ages of several characters) and I wasn’t oo impressed.

      but then, I feel pretty much “eh” about the film version of The Lord of the Rings, too. There’s some great scenes, but Tolkien didn’t get into gory descriptions of battles, and again, the scriptwriters and directer changed some important things. (Though i didn’t mind the fact that parts of the 1st book were cut out.) I’ve liked the books ever since I was in late grade school, and to me, they’re not really about violent battles and such.

      But I digress. (which I do a lot of the time IRL ;))

      • LBeeeze says:

        Movies and TV are produced to appeal to the masses and often lack the sophistication and subtlety of the books on which their based. I agree about the violence being hyped for the screen. That doesn’t appeal to me either.

        • e2thec says:

          there’s a ton of violence in the books. Some of it is quite graphic (includes sexual violence).

          I’ve only seen promos for the TV series; I don’t get HBO and, having just read the books on which this series is based, I don’t (at this point) want my mental images of the characters replaced by the actors and actresses who are playing them.

          Does that make sense?

  5. Emmy says:

    We’ve only seen some of it on the telly. The special effects and costumes are gorgeous, I can only imagine the kind of violence in the book. The show is a bit contrived, but interesting anyway. Hope you enjoy the reads!

  6. Katherine Reinert says:

    Maybe the books would be a good read…I’m currently looking for SOMETHING to be reading. Got a heads up on this from some Sean Bean fans across the pond, and it looks like it could be decent eye-candy (from the little trailers I’ve seen). If it’s too violent though, maybe not so much.

  7. Inga says:

    I found the books hugely entertaining the first time I read them, then when I started visiting a couple of forums I realised there was this giant bushel of subtle bits and pieces I’d missed. He includes these little details that don’t alter the plot if you miss them, but when you pay attention it throws a whole new light on everything. He’s an amazing storyteller.

    I still squeal like a rabid fangirl every time I watch an episode. I’m not fussed if they mess around with the story – I love seeing my favourite characters brought to life. And I want to do unholy things to onscreen Jon Snow. Rowr.

    • Lauri says:

      Oh good lord, Inga. We watched a DVR of the latest show last night and all I could think was Jon Snow ROWR. What.a.frickin.hottie. Geez.

      • Lauri says:

        And….onscreen, offscreen….I want to do unholy things to him wherever….

      • Inga says:

        …and since this last episode I think I’m a bit of a Theon girl as well, now. Oops, someone smack my hand 😉

        • Lauri says:

          Heehee….I noticed Theon more in this episode than any other. I haven’t figured out in the books yet how “good” or “bad” he is.

          • e2thec says:

            all i can say is, keep reading. The next installment is supposed to be published on July 11th – the last one came out in either 2005 or 2006.

            Maybe this will resolve some things – at this point, I don’t want to second-guess anything about Martin and how he handles his characters.

  8. ladywise says:

    Wow, I’m struggling to get in here and read blog posts! lol No books for me in the near future.

  9. I am watching a few episodes but am liking the Borgias on tv better. I can only wrap my mind around a few things before they start overlapping and I forget who’s on what show. I may as well get a Kindle or something. I never get to read unless it is on a monitor.

Leave a Reply

