Not really a sad post…

But I have been all weepy today. I was online (at work, yay slow day finally) and was looking at “Great Dane figurines”. This is the website….holy crap this woman is talented! The artist is Louise Peterson.

http://www.danesculptor.com/

I came across this sculpture and just burst into tears at work. Happily it’s a sort of bittersweet sadness because Calli was so beautiful and had such a great life…I’m not totally sad….just missing her! Look at this picture!

This sculpture is called “Senior Moment” and is of her Great Dane, Nandi when she was a senior. It’s just beautiful!

Ok, I’m going outside to play in some dirt before it gets too dark! πŸ™‚

Oh, the rest of the day I spent on petfinder.com looking at rescue Great Danes.! πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Not really a sad post…

  1. MT says:

    I’m so sorry. I understand loss. Big hugs to you.

  2. Laurie says:

    Hugs for missing Calli. It is a lovely piece of art.

    Here’s a link I’ve been saving for you when you had a less-than-happy day. Another sculpture, but not of a dog.
    http://www.recyclart.org/2011/03/eggshell-sculpture-what-came-first/

    • Lauri says:

      Lol!
      I cackled at that scuplture!
      Hey, that reminds me of a great name for eggs….”cackleberries”….I need to use that more often.

      A girl I work with has chickens. Our running joke when we pass in the hall is to holler “Need any eggs?” cuz all summer we are overrun with eggs and giving them to all our co-workers!

  3. phantomxii says:

    Gorgeous piece! So true-to-lifeβ€”I can see why it would get to you.

  4. pyrit says:

    Every time I see a Great Dane I think of you and Calli.
    Aw, she is missing you too.
    I always imagine they can still see us.

    • Lauri says:

      I can feel her “out there”. She is not sad because she was so so tired of her physical body at the end. πŸ™‚
      I am making a beautiful rock garden on her grave. I have them everywhere! (not all on graves, I should point out)

  5. crankypants says:

    Awwwww. *hugs* That’s a cool sculpture. Calli was very special. When the time is right another Great Dane will find its way to your awesome homestead.

    • Lauri says:

      You are so right. Ashlee just IM’d me and asked if we were ever getting a Great Dane again. I said of course! πŸ™‚
      Calli was very special for sure. I have rarely met a wiser kinder gentler creature. She wasn’t perfect….but pretty durn close!

  6. snoringKatZ says:

    That’s lovely. I have a Nik statue in the yard over his last sleepy place. I can say hi to him whenever I want and it’s nice.

    • Lauri says:

      I do love to say “hi” to them and to everyone who is “somewhere else”. Outside is the best place to do that! πŸ™‚

      • Lurkertype says:

        I have a statue of a sleeping cat that looks EXACTLY like Previous Kitty over him, in his favorite yard spot. It looks just like him but also has wings.

        • Lauri says:

          Awwwww!

          Most of our graves on our property have trees on them. Ken said it would be way too morbid to put markers on every one….there are quite a few out here! We have buried some of my other family’s pets out here, too!

          • Lurkertype says:

            My mom bought it for me, so it’s doubly special now. Everyone is amazed at how the face and the fur looked just like him — he was like Ping only with even a floofier tail.

          • geologywoman says:

            Aw…yes, I agree with planting things. It makes a new life.

  7. Aw, hun. Big ((hugs)) for you. I always knew my Josie was with me even after he left his physical body. But it’s so hard….you never forget them. I was thinking of Jo today while dusting the little shrine I have set up for him, and the ache hit me as if it happened yesterday.

  8. I have purchased figurines that remind me of the doggies so that when they are gone they remind me even more. My little tater stares at me each night as I fall asleep. Gully is in the family room and his statue has been replaced by his spitting image Bobo. He is just like him. The cats think so. Kevin thinks so. That is a beautiful statue and if you found a Great Dane that looks like a Boston Terrier it would be perfect. You would have the three amigos. My friend has a Harlequin GD. I have never heard a dog so silent when she walks.

  9. Kzinti says:

    Just (((HUGS)))

  10. Aussie Emjay says:

    That is a really beautiful piece of art. I can imagine how seeing it would affect you.

    I had a little smile at your comment above re having rock gardens everywhere – “not all on graves” …

  11. LBeeeze says:

    Lots of hugs to you. Calli was so sweet. I imagine you hugging her new self.

    Take care.

  12. geologywoman says:

    I know you miss your Calli. I believe you will give another dog a wonderful home. And in the spirit of Calli.
    Yes, that is a beautiful sculpture!

  13. robpixaday says:

    Oh, gosh…..
    ((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))

  14. marilyn says:

    What a beautiful sculpture…..I still miss my shadow but I’ve stopped crying( so far)

Leave a Reply

