Ok, I can quit my griping!

I know I was just commenting on several of your blobs how cold I was. Well, I just finally hauled my lazy butt outside and it’s really quite nice. The sun was shining for almost an hour! And it’s 65 degrees! Really quite a nice day!

Here’s some flower pics.

My grapieeeeeeez! I love ’em! And these daffodils I planted last fall so this is the first time I have seen them bloom! Gorgeous!

Hyacinths! How I love the colors that appear after a winter of whites and grays!

My baby moved out into his own apartment yesterday. I am very happy for him to have found a good job and finally be on his own. He had to come back and live with us for an entire year while he got on his feet! I said “I am sure it’s not easy for a 24 year old to live with his parents.” and he rolled his eyes and said “Mom, you have NO idea.” Haha.

He’s free at last!

Oh, I saw my first Rosebreasted Grosbeak and Rufus-sided Towhee yesterday, too! Quite an exciting day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Ok, I can quit my griping!

  1. snoringKatZ says:

    I miss having spring at spring time! My hyacinths were up and dead before March.

    Congrats on the young’un finding his new gig and new digs! Although it’s not like it’s easy on parents to have a 24 year-old living with them after they thought they were free πŸ˜‰

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    PS: It’s 45ΒΊ now. The high was 48, I think. It was 84 yesterday.

  3. LBeeeze says:

    Your flowers are so beautiful! Your weather is warmer than ours. It’s only about 50 here, and we’re getting a cold rain. I’m sure we’re saving money on the air conditioning (unfortunately, my allergies are way too bad to leave the windows open).

    Yay for the Rosebreasted Grosbeak moving out!! That IS him, isn’t it??

  4. I’m sure your “baby” is going to appreciate being called “baby” online by his mother! πŸ˜€
    I’ll bet mine would kill me if he saw me refer to him as “my baby” on my blog.

    I love your daffys and hyacinths! Unfortunately, my mother cut some hyacinth from our garden and put them in a vase in the living room: the smell is so strong I couldn’t sit inside. My allergies have been a lot more active this spring compared to others, and I don’t know if it’s all the windy weather we’ve been having, or because our spring has been off again-on again—one day chilly and wet, the next day warm and windy. I hope your spring sticks around for the next couple of months!

    • Lauri says:

      Aaron couldn’t be bothered to read his mother’s blog, I am fairly sure!
      Hyacinths are extremely strong! But I love them!
      This has been an exceptional spring in so many ways…and not all of them good! πŸ˜‰

  5. trishc1812 says:

    Beautiful flowers. We are on the latter side of Spring here in Alabama. The daffodils are long since blossomed and died off, as has the hyacinths. My peonies are putting on such a splendid display. This is our third Spring in this house and this is the first time I’ve had more than just one blossom. Last year the peonies got mowed down before they ever had an opportunity to do anything. We spent last weekend and this weekend working in the yard. We now have a border up and mulch down around them. They look great. Next up, the day lilies and the crepe myrtles!

    But, I hate hot and the pollen this year is just beyond wild. I can’t tell you the number of days we’ve had rain AND high pollen warnings at the same time. Rain usually washes the pollen away—but it is so plentiful this year that it is still around while the rain falls.

    I’m looking forward to Autumn…so is the electric bill.

    • Lauri says:

      Isn’t it strange how different everything is in different parts of this country? We haven’t had spring yet and you are dying for autumn!

      Viva le difference!

  6. Kzinti says:

    Um, am I to assume that you now have an empty room? Cause I have a 42 year old kid still living at my place. Again. Almost two years now… Two years. FML… LOL

    • Lauri says:

      Yikes!!!
      42?
      I better change the locks! πŸ˜€

      • Kzinti says:

        Uh, yeah. *sigh* Loooong story short, no direction, no hutzpah. Drive? None. In eight years, his kid is going to be looking at colleges and he has… Um… Nothing? Square root of that, less than nothing.

  7. kimkiminy says:

    Gorgeous flowers! I bet they smell amazing, too. Don’t you just love spring?

  8. Emmy says:

    Love the daffodils. Something about the glowing white that just adds to the spring loveliness.

  9. pyrit says:

    I think Lauri’s gonna be sad,
    I think it’s today, yeah.
    The boy that’s driving her mad
    Is going away.

    He’s got a ticket to ri-hide,
    He’s got a ticket to ri-hi-hide,
    He’s got a ticket to ride,
    But he don’t care.

    He said that living with Mom
    Was bringing him down, yeah.
    He would never be free
    When Mom was around.

    I don’t know why he’s ridin’ so hi-igh,
    He ought to think twice,
    He ought to do right by Lauri.
    Before he gets to saying goodbye,
    He ought to think twice,
    He ought to do right by Lauri!

    Mom’s baby don’t care, Mom’s baby don’t care.
    Lauri’s baby don’t care!

  10. Lovely. Hyacinths smell so good. I love your daffi’s. They look beautiful. Good for Aaron. You will both be happy. Hard for youngins to find work these days.

  11. robpixaday says:

    GORGEOUS Flowers!!!!! Hooray for signs of spring (the ones that smell good and look pretty, not the bad storm ones)!!!

    And wow…Your baby moved out…can only imagine that complicated feelings around there. But I’m sure you feel happy to know he’s got things going for himself and that everything is moving forward.
    ((((hugs))))

  12. Katherine Reinert says:

    Lovely pics. I’ve been loving out daffodils this year…the coolish weather has let them last so long. I usually plant a bagload every year. Ice Follies are my usual choice, but I love the ones with pink/salmon centers.

    We’ve got 2 pairs of grosbeaks here, and the Towhees have been here for weeks. I don’t know if it’s the same one, but this is the third year in a row we’ve had a male spend most mornings attacking one of our basement windows. He’ll peck at his reflection in the glass for HOURS. I can watch his testosterone-fueled silliness from a foot away, and see his crazy beady red eyes. I think it was him who convinced one of the male cardinals to start doing that, too. What a racket!

    • Lauri says:

      Lol! Oh how lucky for you to watch Mr. Testosterone Towhee! HEE!
      I usually only see them a couple of times a year. Mr. Grosbeak has been making himself ta home all week, though. He’s here to stay.
      At my parents’ cottage in N. Michigan we saw a mama and daddy Grosbeak bring their baby son and daughter to the bird feeder for the first time. It was SO cute!

  13. Aussie Emjay says:

    Hyacinths have the most amazing smell – my mother used to grow them in pots in the sunroom. The air was wonderfully perfumed.

Leave a Reply

