A quote of note.

I like this.

“Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent can not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful people with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and dtermination alone are omnipotent. The slogan “press on” has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.”Calvin Collidge.

I always enjoy Cal’s quotes.

And now for the obligatory animal picture…

Kida and Leo Bookends

I am Gree. I'm in a box. Come and join me, Percy!

Sheldon says “It’s still cold.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A quote of note.

  1. LittleOddMe says:

    Lovelovelove the bookends – all the pics in fact. πŸ™‚

    The quote is teh ossum! … and I totally agree.

  2. LBeeeze says:

    Hahahahahahaha……Sheldon has the right idea. It got cold again last night. We had a hummingbird on Friday, but no hummingbird today. I hope he didn’t freeze.

    Persistence. No doubt. Even those who have questionable talent and even less education can get a very long way with persistence.

  3. pyrit says:

    Squeaky wheel gets the grease.

    Bony butt bookends!
    Why thank you, Gree. But that could be a Pandora’s Box type of situation…..
    Oh Sheldon, stay in hibernation. It’s not safe to come out yet.

    • Lauri says:

      It speaks to me, but only in the fact that I am pretty moderately talented, no genius, and moderately educated.
      I love the fact that I can appreciate genius when I see it….musical, scientific, artistic.
      I am not even very persistent, either. This quote reminded me of my youngest son. He has been very persistent in his life!

  4. madtante says:

    First off, AWE-SOME quote. Perfectly matches that 30 day push challenge–it’s all persistence, focus and positivity (I only have naturally-occurring persistence that I like to call “spite”).

    Anyhoo, love the doggies in their almost yin-yang / mirror pose.

  5. kimkiminy says:

    Great quote. I guess that’s why my genius and talent have so long gone unnoticed! πŸ™‚
    Love the pic of Sheldon.

  6. GOF says:

    The quote hits the mark…..and I’m with Sheldon…it’s waaay too cold out there Lauri.

  7. That’s a pretty good quote.
    Ohai aminals!

  8. geologywoman says:

    The dogs look well happy on their doggie sofa. Who invented that! Someone was clever. The kitty is very pretty, I love grey cats. And the pooch in the bed, how sweet. Lovely.
    “nothing is more common than unsuccessful people with talent” Aye to that!

  9. phantomxii says:

    Okay, I must admit, that quote has always seemed a little over the top to me. I mean, persistence and determination are omnipotent? Seems you have to have at least a little knowledge or talent or something in the mix. Otherwise you might just persist in banging your head against a wall, and there’s nothing omnipotent about that! πŸ˜€

    (Are you into Trent Reznor at your house? Because that looks a lot like a NIN logo on Gree’s forehead. πŸ™‚ )

    • Lauri says:

      Oh blarg…I agree that the “omnipotent” is over the top. It niggled at me, too.
      The parts I like are about the zillions of talented people, “educated” people, and supposed geniuses that are out there. I wouldn’t say persistence is omnipotent, but it sure is a good characteristic to have!

      Lol…sure we do a little NIN here! Gree loves them! πŸ™‚

      • phantomxii says:

        I think old Cal should have said, “Talent and education and all that crap are great, but without persistence and determination, you’re pretty much hosed, dude. Peace.”

    • Emmy says:

      @Phantomxii – a legend of Islam says that Mohammed loved cats and bestowed them with an “M” on their forehead to demonstrate his dedication to them.

  10. Emmy says:

    I agree that there are many talented people who remain unrecognized. Lovely to see at an open mike or tiny art show but kind of sad as well.

    Gree is sooooooooo pretty!

  11. paikea says:

    Persistence and determination. I have to own that. And get my writing in gear. Thanks for this, Lauri.

Leave a Reply

