A Fun Quick Trip

A friend and I zipped over to Chicago for a couple of days. We took the train out of Lapeer, Michigan at 7 am on Monday. Arrived in Chicago around noon.
Our aim was to see the Vivian Maier photography exhibit, which is only there at the cultural center until April 3. We did see the exhibit. It was excellent and fascinating. Anyone who hasn’t read about her, check out this linkย  http://vivianmaier.blogspot.com/
Wonderful photography!

We also ran over to the Lincoln Park Zoo. Zoos make me a bit sad, but I was happy to see signs indicating that the zoo is attempting to only keep animals unable to live in the wild, and animals in captive breeding programs due to threat of extinction in the wild. We still have so far to go!
This tiger wanted to play, but his mate just wanted to lie around.

Sichuan Takin

This takin looked like a cross between a goat and a guinea pig! I definitely wanted to take him home!

And who would ever believe that this is a real critter?!?! He’s a Patagonian Cavy….I was guessing Jack-a-lope!

The Chicago Conservatory was a nice surprise, too!

Here are some ranunculus for cranky! (I love saying ranunculus)

Some broms for GOF…And some pocketbook plants for the rest of us! ๐Ÿ™‚

I better quit now and save some for another post!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Fun Quick Trip

  1. littleoddme says:

    Ooooooo, squeeee for the Patagonian Cavy!!! Looks like someone stitched miniature giraffe bits onto one of your peegs!

  2. crankypants says:

    very cool lil trip you took! I had to bring my ranuncs in this morning–they had snow on them!! great shots you got!

    • Lauri says:

      Are your ranuncs doing ok now?
      My potted seeds are all sprouting. It’s so fun to see the teeny tiny plants. I’ll have to take pics~!

      • geologywoman says:

        I bought myself a little greenhouse 2 days ago. I was so tired I forgot till I read this comment by you.
        I had resisted buying one for two years but spring can be too chilly here at night for some things to sprout.
        I might need your advice as I have never done this type of gardening. Well I did do greenhouse stuff with veg when younger, but not flowers.

  3. snoringKatZ says:

    My mom would have loved to go with you. You should call her when you’re there next time ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. That Patagonian cavy looks like he’s get up and start talking to you, in the most civilized and kindly voice. All it needs is a morning jacket and a little top hat.

    And I love tigers, and conservatories. Did you guys stay at a hotel overnight?

    (I’m kind of obsessed with hotels right now. I’ll tell ya why later.)

    • Lauri says:

      We stayed in the River Hotel, which was (practically needless to say) right on the river! It was the perfect place. We walked uptown to Watertower PLace and the Hancock Building and the Cheesecake Factory and we walked downtown to the Cultural Center and the Aquarium and the Field Museum!

      I love walking forever! It was so fun!

  5. LBeeeze says:

    That must have been so much fun. I would love to see the exhibit. She is so gifted.

    The tiger in the last pic looks like he/she’s smiling. The cavy…..OMGosh…the cavy!!!

    • Lauri says:

      We weren’t allowed to take pictures of the photo exhibit….strangely enough…but it was amazing to see it in person. The number of colors in a black and white photo is enough to take your breath away!

  6. geologywoman says:

    Beautiful plants! Also the tigers. I love the lazy one, she looks very relaxed. Cavies are very cool critters. I have seen them before.
    I am not against zoos if they do provide homes for animals that have been rescued from some situation or another that would make them unviable to live in the wild as well as give them a good home environment. Also over here, the zoos do massive conservation work.

  7. Brown Suga' says:

    Lovely animules! Does that tiger have missing teef? Poor guy. Still very handsome, though.

    I’ve never heard of a Sichuan Takin! And the Patagonian Cavy is straight out of a fantasy tale.

    • Lauri says:

      Hai, hai, Suga’! Beeg hugz!!!

      I didn’t notice that the tiger was missing teeth…but looking at the picture you may be right. If he was rescued from somewhere I’d hate to think what happened….
      Anyway, he’s one happy guy, now!

  8. madtante says:

    Sichuan Takin: my favorite dish! Lotta meat on ’em, too.

    When I saw the jackalope, that’s exactly what I said in my head–then saw you said it ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. pyrit says:

    Wow! Loads of great pics! Tiger tongue-age!
    I am so glad you got away from it all with a friend. Good, good.
    And bonus comment from Brown Suga’! Hai!

  10. GOF says:

    Fabulous photographs Lauri, and thanks for the broms…..I’d really like to own a conservatory like that.
    I’ve also never heard of a takin, but I think I would like one even though it would seem that grooming might be a time consuming job.

  11. Aussie Emjay says:

    Was there a credit card hiding in that pocketbook plant? I think from now on when the kids ask me for money I will say “what do you think I am? A pocketbook plant” – they would think I made that up!!

    The tiger is a magnificent looking creature; the Patagonian Cavy a little peculiar (says she that comes from the land of strange creatures ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  12. Emmy says:

    What pretty colors. I’ve never seen bromelids with blooms like that! Love the photo of you standing amongst the flowers.

  13. Jaypo says:

    Hai larui, I’ m finally beginning to catch up –my gosh, you’ve been through alot lately… dear larui, forgive me for not being aware. I need to catch up with your bloog more if I can figure out how to navigate it. Calli’s sweet presence is still with you, on all four feet. ((((hugs))))

  14. Jaypo says:

    Your theme looks perfectly normal on my work puter!!

    Ranunculus rhymes with Homunculus.

Leave a Reply

