Dear Friends…

I stayed home from work today….I called in sick, but really did make myself a bit sick from grief. But as one of you said “grieving for them is one of the gifts we can give them” and I am giving her that gift for now. (Sorry I can’t remember who said that…so many great words from all of you)

Already feeling better about most things.

You are all so precious to me. Thank you THank YOU for all the warm words and love!!! So many words pulling me through! πŸ™‚

I’m going to make an Irish stew today with beef, carrots, onions and Guinness. And a Calcannon (new to me) that consists of potatoes, cabbage and BACON. And kimkiminy’s Irish Soda Bread. Nom nom nom.

Bless you all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Dear Friends…

  1. Laurie says:

    You can’t not take a sick or bereavement day when you lose a pet. Grief is grief and I’m always glad when bosses understand that.

    Cooking is good therapy, because when you’re cooking for others, you’re using your heart and your hands.

    • Lauri says:

      I cooked all last night, too….we are having a bake sale at work to raise funds for National Lab Week. Definitely a Hallmark holiday if there ever was one. We party pretty well all week, though, so it’s worth raising funds for.

      I made Mounds cupcakes….triple chocolate cupcakes, filled and covered with marshmallow/coconut gooiness and drizzled with dark chocolate. They turned out very well, even through the tears! πŸ˜‰

      • Laurie says:

        Those cupcakes sound heavenly! Can you send me the recipe, please, sometime?

        • Lauri says:

          I sure will! It was really a Mounds cake recipe, so I had a few messes with the coconut mixture dribbling down the sides until I started really underfilling the cupcake cups.

          The bake sale rejects sure tasted good though!

  2. capnstephel says:

    I have a feeling that this quote (as much as I seem to find a reason to use it) is good for you today: β€œDon’t be ashamed to weep; β€˜tis right to grieve. Tears are only water, and flowers, trees and fruit cannot grow without water. But there must be sunlight also. A wounded heart will heal in time, and when it does, the memory and love of our lost ones is sealed inside to comfort us.”

    Now go dance to a couple of Irish jigs while you’re cooking. Just be careful while doing so. Hehe

  3. Laurie says:

    And how are the rest of the dog and cat pack doing today? Are they discombobulated with their alpha dog gone?

    • Lauri says:

      The dogs are doing some wandering, as if looking for her. And they keep going to the grassy spot where Cal and I sat outside yesterday and sniff sniff sniffing.

      All the dogs and Luna and Darwin (who was Cal’s favorite cat) came over to say goodbye while we were sitting out there.
      Ashlee was on a trip to Chicago for work and she called so I let her talk to Cal on the phone. You should have seen Calli’s face light up and her ears just perked almost off her head. She was so happy to hear Ashlee’s voice.

  4. I’m so glad you stayed home and are cooking today. Good, warm food is healing, and after such a loss you need to heal.

    (I made the mistake of going back to work right after I took my pomerpoo to the crematory. I didn’t realize it, but I was driving around in a blur, and rear-ended the van of a woman who turned out to be the wife of a sheriff’s deputy. He called me and tried to make everything more complicated than it needed to be—but the whole point is, stay home if you feel you need to stay home. A grieving person shouldn’t be forced to resume normal life too quickly.)

    • Lauri says:

      My brain has been completely absent, partially out of my mind, seriously. I am doing and saying the weirdest stuff.
      It’s sort of dumb, I have been through this so many times with so many animals, but Cal and I were pretty much joined at the hip. Where I went she went.

      It is a good thing I stayed home. πŸ™‚

      I’m so sorry you rear ended someone who was not sympathetic. Pleah on them.

  5. pyrit says:

    Here’s an extra (((HUG))).

  6. M-----l says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend. Best wishes to you.

  7. Lurkertype says:

    People should be allowed to take a day off when they lose a pet. I know when we had Previous Kitty put to sleep, Mr. LT called his boss and said he wasn’t coming in the next day and boss was very understanding. You can’t be at your professional best anyway, so why bother?

    But that food ought to help anything! Mmm-mmm!

  8. trishc1812 says:

    β™₯β™₯β™₯(((hugs)))β™₯β™₯β™₯
    It can be so hard dealing with regular things when our hearts are so heavy with grief. I’m glad you took the day off.
    β™₯β™₯β™₯(((hugs)))β™₯β™₯β™₯

  9. snoringKatZ says:

    Calli was a big grrrl. She’s going to leave a Great Dane shaped space to fill in your heart. Time off to let the jagged edges smooth out is good. It’s time for the memories and love to help fill the hole.

    (((squishies)))

  10. Emmy says:

    Stew is the perfect warm meal for a sad (and probably cold) spring day. Bless you, you’ve always cheered me up and made me laugh on total crap days in the past. Glad we’re here for each other.

  11. kimkiminy says:

    Workplace bereavement leave absolutely should include pets. Don’t feel guilty for taking the day. When I lost my TS, I could be seen at work for an entire week, at random times, desperately trying to not let anyone see me welling up.

  12. LBeeeze says:

    You didn’t make yourself sick. You are a very precious lady. How could you not feel sick over the loss of such a precious friend? I hope you are feeling truly comforted and that your comfort food makes you even more comforted.

    Warm biscuits with honey and butter. That sounds so good. You’re posts are making me hungry!!!

  13. madtante says:

    It’s honoring yourself–life and death. Funerals are for the living because we *need* it and that’s being human, no matter what death is involved (including death of a marriage, etc).

  14. robpixaday says:

    Oh, they rip our hearts out, these furry-babies. But loving them is such a beautiful feeling.
    ((((((((((((((Lauri))))))))))))))

Leave a Reply

