It’s done.

Calli’s back legs gave out today. She was unhappy about not being able to walk and she had quit eating except for cheese chunks and hotdog chunks and some ham from my salad.

She and I sat out in the sun on this beautiful 50 degree day. She loved sun-bathing.

Ken went back to work and got the necessary meds and we put her to sleep.

Happy Eternity my beautiful Cal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to It’s done.

  1. Oh, Lauri, ((hugs)) for you and your family. Calli couldn’t have had a better dog-mom or a kinder sendoff.

  2. madtante says:

    You’re a great Mama and Calli loved you for it!

  3. Emmy says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that Lauri. You guys gave her a great life. I wish our pets lived as long as us. The way you described it, it sounds like a home euthanasia. Don’t mean to pry but I’m just wondering if that’s the route you guys chose.

    hugs

    • Lauri says:

      My husband is a vet so that makes home euthanasia extremely easy. 🙂
      She went to sleep in the sun in her backyard.

      I hate how much this hurts though.

      • Emmy says:

        I’m glad to hear you had a home euthanasia. Really, it is still awful but how much better for any companion to be euthanized at home. I think that’s great. I’m really sorry you’re suffering. It always sucks and it never goes away as quickly as we want it to, but sometimes it can be transformative too (I know, easy for me to say, right)? You’re probably heard me say the last gift we give to our pets is grieving for them, I really think that’s true.

        xoxo love to you and the family.

      • How lucky she was to be able to go in peace at home. She was big and beautiful and loved. I will forever think of Great Danes and picture her snuggled under a blanket with her head on a pillow.
        Because she was a big girl she will be missed all the more. The space she left behind is a big one.

        I am so very sorry for all of you and all the little ones that are missing her also.

        I don’t like seeing Tater everywhere. It makes me feel disoriented and lonely. I hate getting up to do Tater things and realize I am the only one ready to go out and go potty.
        Calli was such a big loveable girl and my thoughts are with you and the family.

  4. AuntieBellum says:

    Aw! I knew what this was going to be about just from the title. 😦

    Sweet Calli! I loved her, even though I’d never met her except through her pictures.

    She lived a long, happy life, however, and she was rewarded with a peaceful passing. Bless you!

  5. crankypants says:

    Awwww, I’m so sorry. She was one lucky doggy. as were you for having had the pleasure of her company.
    *hugs* she will be missed. But she’ll always be with you.

  6. doranyc says:

    And the leader passes on…such big paws to fill. I am so so so sorry, Lauri.

    ((((((((((((((HUGS)))))))))))))))

  7. AmyH says:

    I started crying as soon as I saw the email come through.

    How wonderful it was for her to pass in the beautiful sunshine, with her loving family with her.

    What a lucky dog she is to be surrounded by so much love, happiness, compassion, goats, cats, chickens, cranes, sunshine, and general chaos. No wonder she blew past the usual age for a Great Dane. She wanted to stick around for the fun for as long as she could.

    You all did right by each other. It doesn’t stop hurting, but the happy memories will someday take up more space than the pain of saying goodbye.

    Much love to all of you. (((((hugs)))))

  8. Laurie says:

    All the creatures, human and non- will feel a Calli-shaped hole. But that space is full of love that went both ways. I’m sorry you have to miss her.

  9. mariser says:

    so sorry about Calli’s passing. y’all will miss her terribly. to repeat what ames said: It doesn’t stop hurting, but the happy memories will someday take up more space than the pain of saying goodbye.

  10. Sorry to hear this. But what a wonderful way to go! Lots of hugs from Norway

  11. Jessica says:

    I remember how she liked to dress up and her wearing a Holly t-shirt at Aaron’s open house. Aw. Hugs.

  12. pegoftilling says:

    I’m so glad she could go in the sun, in her own back yard. I think our pets are sort of “neighborhood” pets, so we’ve all lost her. Hugs to you and your family–

  13. Lurkertype says:

    ((hugs)) for all the people and critters. She was one of the truly great dogs, and I’m glad it was a nice warm day. We should all be so lucky to go like she did, and to be as loved as she was.

    I have something in my eyes.

  14. littleoddme says:

    Oh Lauri. I’m so sorry. I am so happy for a lovely warm day and the sunshine, though. If she had to pass, then that was the nicest of ways to go.

  15. Drude says:

    ((hugs Lauri)) a beautiful way to go for Calli.

  16. snoringKatZ says:

    (((hugs))) to all in Chez Lauri because Calli took pieces of you with her to treasure. But she left pieces of herself in return. ❤

    • Lauri says:

      If I may be so crude…there are still pieces she left in the backyard to be scooped.

      Damn it. You know how one moment you think you will never smile again and the next moment you are making inappropriate jokes. Oh what the hell, no joke is ever inappropriate. 🙂

  17. LBeeeze says:

    I’m so sorry. What a tremendous loss for your whole family. I’m so glad she had a wonderful last day with you. Lots of hugs.

    Bye, sweet Cal. You will be missed.

  18. littlemiao says:

    *hugs* I’m so sorry to hear this. Her last days were filled with so much love, just like her entire life was overflowing with love.

  19. Big hugs, Lauri. Bye sweet Calli.

  20. kimkiminy says:

    *You* made it perfect for her. Blessings.

  21. trishc1812 says:

    My eyes are leaking.
    ♥♥♥(((hugs)))♥♥♥

  22. lauowolf says:

    Oh sweetie I am so sorry to read this.
    Even though I knew it was coming soon.
    She always knew you were hers, and she trusted and loved you, and you never gave her cause to doubt.
    I’m happy thinking about her yard and her sunlight.
    She doesn’t hurt any more and isn’t scared.
    (((((hug)))))

  23. geologywoman says:

    Awww, Lauri. I am so very sorry. And I know you did the right thing. What a wonderful life Cali had. The best life possible and so pampered and loved. Bless.

  24. geologywoman says:

    Over the rainbow bridge.

  25. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that ((((hugs)))) You guys were the best pack she could have wished for.

  26. pyrit says:

    Hey, that heart of yours looks pretty heavy, c’mere, let us help you carry it until you are stronger. (((Lauri & Calli)))

    You mentioned your plans for a flower garden this year. How about some daffodils in memory of Calli? Or, Forget-Me-Nots? I planted Forget-Me-Nots, but they didn’t grow well, so I have to keep planting fresh ones, but sometimes I forget!

  27. Laurie says:

    Still thinking about you today. That is all.

  28. capnstephel says:

    *hug* Awww, Lauri….she had a great life with you guys

  29. Sorry for the loss, but it sounds like the last day was full of what she enjoyed. And luckily the weather cooperated.

  30. e2thec says:

    i just saw this… no words [my eyes are leaking, too.]

    she was a wonderful dog, and you gave her love to the end and beyond.

    ((((((((((L and fam))))))))))

  31. brownamazon says:

    (((hugs))) So sorry to hear, but what a nice way to say goodbye. You’re lucky you have the option of doing this at home. Makes me think of my sweet greyhound Boston, who just curled up in his bed one afternoon and didn’t wake up. You will have to give all the other animals extra hugs from their big sis.

  32. aubrey says:

    Your lovely dog will take the warmth of the sun and the warmth of your affection with her on her journey to the Rainbow Bridge. It will comfort her and she hopes you will take comfort, too.

  33. ygrs says:

    Just saw this on fb last night, Lauri. Again, I’m so very sorry to hear of your loss. Calli was on my mind the rest of last night — and now, through my day today. Such a dear soul. Such a big chunk out of your heart. I love you Lauri. Hugs.

  34. phantomxii says:

    Well, I’ve stumbled across this more than a little late, but—sorry about your furry pal. It’s always hard to lose a friend.

Leave a Reply

