Blackjack goes to bed.

I’ve been wanting to share this true story and today is a good day to do so.

Two years ago my friends were going through the process of losing their old dog. Blackjack was a black lab, well-loved and loving. He was obviously in his last days and on this day he was having a bit of a tough time. As he seemed a bit distressed Cathy and Clarke sat on the floor with him most of the evening, petting him, talking to him and crying.

As midnight neared Blackjack watched his beloved people. His eyebrows popped up and down as his eyes moved from Cathy to Clarke and back again. Finally he heaved a huge sigh, dragged himself laboriously to his feet and walked painfully down the hall. Exchanging puzzled looks my friends got to their feet and followed him.

Blackjack walked to his comfy dogbed on the floor beside the peoples’ bed. He curled up and laid down with a big huff and a relieved sigh. His eyes closed and he started to snore.

Cathy and Clarke, worn out, I am sure, by their long vigil shrugged to each other, smiled a bit and went to bed.

When they awoke in the morning they found that Blackjack had passed on during the night.

I loved hearing this story from my friend because it says to me, with an animal’s wisdom,

“Even if it is your last day on Earth, when it’s bedtime go to bed. ”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Blackjack goes to bed.

  1. Jessica says:

    Aw. Blackjack. What a good dog he was. He was my first dog, too. I miss him.

    Thanks for telling his story! šŸ™‚

    • Lauri says:

      I have been wanting to write this down since your mom told it to me! I love animals. Birth, life, death. It’s all natural! (and therefore good for you! ha!)

      • Jessica says:

        My poor mom had to sit in the house with him all day though because the neighbor couldn’t come down to dig a hole in the backyard until after my dad had to go to court. šŸ˜¦

        I am kind of sad that we had to leave him (and my grandpa’s tree) at the old house. But that was Blackjack’s home and his yard, and that’s where he needed to stay.

        • Lauri says:

          Blackjack and your grandpa’s tree are happily haunting their old stomping grounds. Ok, the tree is alive so it’s just happily sitting there.

          That doesn’t mean Blackjack can’t float over and visit whoever he wants whenever he wants. šŸ™‚

  2. robpixaday says:

    Oh, gosh…poignant. Crying too much to type.

  3. madtante says:

    Dogs will separate from the pack and usually go off to die alone when it’s their time (if sick or elderly).

    Our Great Dane/ Redbone was terribly ill his last week or so. He was such a “pet,” that nobody had the nerve to put him down…kept hoping he’d have a turn for the better, even though he wouldn’t eat, barely took water and didn’t eliminate.

    One day, he got up and headed towards the forest. My father followed him with a rifle. Red knew it was time to go and by that time, we were ready to help.

  4. Laurie says:

    I’m thinking that maybe Blackjack have wanted his people to rest since they couldn’t do any more for him, and the only way they would was if he went to his dog bed first, so they’d go to bed.

    Very sweet story.

  5. Awww, sweet old puppy!

  6. Laurie “stole” my theory šŸ˜‰
    That’s a very lovely story. Thanks for sharing.

  7. aubrey says:

    I can’t comment on the last sentence. It’s perfect.

  8. pyrit says:

    Aw shoot. Big ol’ dogs. sniff. siiigh.

  9. Doug says:

    Good story, good dog.

  10. GOF says:

    A sad, yet beautiful story. Thanks Lauri.

  11. Aussie Emjay says:

    A lovely story Lauri, even though it made me cry. Isn’t it strange how animal stories can affect us more than a lot of people stories.

  12. Emmy says:

    That is so sweet. Animals have such dignity right up until the end, don’t they? It’s amazing. There is a heart condition in cats and they die suddenly, and I of course would hate to lose Ives – but I hope when he passes on, he’s sleeping peacefully next to me. I think it’s the best way to go.

  13. littleoddme says:

    Awwwww. So sad and so lovely.

  14. kimkiminy says:

    Oh. That just breaks my heart. What a bittersweet story. It’s so hard to lose a loved one, whether they be human or otherwise.

  15. LBeeeze says:

    I can just imagine Blackjack popping his eyebrows up and down. What a sweetheart. He was comfortable and obviously well loved. OMGosh….trying to stay “composed.”

  16. This story brought back a lot of memories about the loving animals who blessed my life. I cried, but it also affirmed how much they must have loved me as I loved them.

Leave a Reply

