Update-osity

Thank you all for your warm words. I treasure them and they made me feel so good all day at work today.

The anti-vomiting meds and the pain meds did wonders for Cal today. So, no action is being taken. Tomorrow Ken will take her into work and just do some bloodwork and xrays, and as long as she stays as she is tonight she will come home and we will go day by day.

She is very close to her old self at the moment. It’s going to be one of those minute by minute things.

Thanks for the support. I will reread them in the coming days!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Update-osity

  1. phantomxii says:

    Ah, jeez—I know that’s tough to go through. Personally, I’m all in favor of treating pets if it helps them have some more good time, and they aren’t suffering. I hope there’s some of that treatability left.

  2. Lurkertype says:

    Yay for meds! Go Calli dawg!

  3. crankypants says:

    Oh…I haven’t been on here much in the past 24 hours so I didn’t see your previous post. She’s such a big sweetie. I’m glad the anti-yak meds are keeping her comfortable. She is well-loved and in such good company, she will always be surrounded by human and furball love right up till the end, whenever it may be.
    So sorry to hear about Leo’s buddy too, how tragic. Dogs that lunge are better off in harnesses, I learned that from little Elvis, I should have gotten him one years before but I’m glad I did at all. How sad for everyone for Luna.

    • Lauri says:

      It sure has been a painful learning process for the kids. We almost lost one of our black labs, Chip, when he got his choke collar hung up in his crate and just about strangled. We lucked out learning that lesson…..no more choke collars on unsupervised dogs EVER. And our kids learned it too. If I had only known Aaron’s friends had a choke collar on Luna I could have told them to take.it.off!
      😦
      Danny and Joslyn just love animals and I know they will love a dog again.

  4. Laurie says:

    That’s wonderful that she had a better day.

  5. Every good day is precious! She probably knows she’s being showered with love and good wishes. Hugs for both of you.

  6. pyrit says:

    Yay. I will have a great danish to celebrate.

  7. Such a big gurl. Calli is a big gurl too. Boy do I know how you are feeling. I am glad that you have Mr’ Dr. Lauri because with a gang like yours it must be a huge blessing to have somebody know what the F is going on. So hard to be in the dark and having to make decisions.

    I’m with you and her and all the family. Decisions seem to make themselves and we are just here fooling ourselves thinking we are making them. But recognizing them takes a real heart. You have a good grasp of what is needed and what is possible and you spend all your love dollars on others. Your bank is still full. Each love dollar you spend you get three back.

    • Lauri says:

      Isn’t it awful how you can almost go insane with grief? As Ken was wrapping her up I was saying over and over “I can’t do this again.”
      ….which I know is complete bullpuckey. 🙂

  8. trishc1812 says:

    ♥♥♥(((hugs)))♥♥♥
    It’s good to hear that she is feeling/acting a bit better.
    I hope she stays well and is around to live for a long time more.
    ♥♥♥(((hugs)))♥♥♥

  9. pegoftilling says:

    With Sally I had to realize that the best I could do was keep her happy and comfortable, and it was hard to recognize that point. I’m glad Callie had a good day–it’s so hard!

  10. LBeeeze says:

    I’m so glad she had a much better day. Lots and lots of hugs to you and Cali-girl.

  11. geologywoman says:

    Aww…I am sorry it is toward the end of her life and I know when the time comes, it will be a very sad time. They are part of our family, our varmints, aren’t they? I know they are of yours, that you are that kind of person.
    But maybe she will live like another year…

  12. Jessica says:

    Aw. Cal. I remember when she was just a young pup at six-ish months old and stealing Christmas cookies from the kitchen counter…

    Good thoughts her way (and of course yours, too) from Germany!

  13. kimkiminy says:

    Oh, Lauri! ~hugs~
    I know what you’re going through. You’re doing the right thing. Give her lots of hugs – your love is so important. She’s quite an old woman for a Great Dane.

  14. robpixaday says:

    Awwwww….gosh…good for improvements. Comfort is everything sometimes.
    (((((hugs)))))

  15. Emmy says:

    I am so sorry to hear she’s sick, but glad she’s feeling better today! These things are really stressful. Take good care of yourself too, okay?

    ♥ Hugs to both of you.

  16. Aussie Emjay says:

    I’m sorry to read that Calli has been ill. I hope that she continues feeling like her “old self” for a while longer.

Leave a Reply

