My Good Big Old Dog

It’s getting down near the end, it seems, for Calli, our good old 11 3/4 year old Great Dane. There are possible masses in her abdomen and chest and her back legs just don’t want to keep up with the rest of her. She is still happy. Even eating good once a day. But the vomiting keeps increasing and we can tell she is uncomfortable. Not suffering, but declining. Depending on how she is when I get home from work we may do some x-rays on her, and exploratory surgery. If there is something removable she is in fairly good health…that is, if it’s just a tumor obstructing something she isn’t in all that bad shape. If it looks bad inside she can just go to sleep without awakening from surgery at all.

I was pretty distressed yesterday. And, of course, subconsiously distressed for a couple of weeks before this…sort of feeling it coming. But this morning as I got up for work and she struggled slowly down the stairs, looking so tired, I felt like it’s a gift we can give her.

You all know what a good dog she is. Another one of The Best. 🙂 I certainly can’t begrudge her giving her this last gift.

Callisto Skye at 8 years old.

It all depends on how the gal is when I get home. Sigh.

In other distressing news, my son’s friends dog died yesterday. Luna, a beautiful two year old Great Pyrenees, lunged at the end of her chain (as she often did…it’s NOT good to put a dog on a chain, but she was well cared for nonetheless) and broke her neck. She was best friends with Leo and they often romped for hours. She was always lunging on her chain. This time it was just at the wrong place, I guess. Shocked and saddened.

Happier news soon, I am sure. Hugs to all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to My Good Big Old Dog

  1. Jessica says:

    😦

  2. Laurie says:

    (((Hugs))), Lauri. It will be a hard day for you to get through at work today with this on your mind, and even if something can be done for Calli today, there will eventually be another such day. I’m always amazed at how they so clearly let us know when it’s time.

  3. madtante says:

    I’m so sorry. You’re right, it’s the best gift you can give.

  4. Kzinti says:

    Best I can do is (((HUGS))) cause otherwise, when it comes to sick furry kids, my eyes just get all leaky and stuff…

  5. pyrit says:

    Either way, this really is a lovely gift for Calli! And it will give you a little peace of mind.
    I know what you mean about one of The Best. She will always be with you. Please give her a beeg gentle neck hug from me.

    I’ll always remember years ago going for a walk and I met a lady walking her elderly great dane. The lady seemed very sad, and as we met on the path, she opened up and said this was hte “last walk”. woah.

    It’s never easy but it will be OK. And you’ll see her again. And we’re here for ya in the meantime!

  6. amyhftw says:

    I’m so sorry. Knowing when it’s time is truly a gift. Too many people keep an animal suffering for their own reasons, not to do what’s best for the loved one.

    But wow – almost 12? What a long, wonderful life you’ve given sweet Calli. My thoughts are with everyone in the Lauri family today.

  7. robpixaday says:

    ((((((((((Lauri and Calli))))))))))

    No words…crying for you.

  8. LBeeeze says:

    I’m so sorry. You’ll be definitely be on my mind.

    Cali is such a sweetheart, a faithful friend to all. I’m really hoping she can be repaired and restored to live a comfortable life.

    Sending warm thoughts.

  9. geologywoman says:

    How horrible about the chain! I also do not like chains. Awful things.
    And bless, with Cali. What a gorgeous, goofy, sweet dog. I love the photo. You look very content.

  10. Poor Calli. I hope for her sake the surgery turns out well, but if not, then a peaceful end.

    My own little guy died of lung cancer. The vet misdiagnosed it as kennel cough, so he was on antibiotics for a month. I noticed the cough was getting worst and he was getting weaker, so I took him back in and that’s when we got the news. I felt terrible because he suffered so much before the end. Calli is lucky to have such good care, and such good humans.

  11. lauowolf says:

    What a difficult time for you all.
    I’m so sorry you are losing your gentle giant.
    But she has had a life surrounded with love.
    And you are doing her one last kindness.
    ((((hugs))))

  12. leendadll says:

    sad and sad.

    but 11+ years with a Great Dane is AMAZING. You have certainly been doing something right!!

  13. GOF says:

    Thoughts with you Lauri. Never easy watching pets decline and then having to make that ultimate humane decision.

  14. snoringKatZ says:

    Big hugs for the LauriKlan and so sad for the Calli-shaped hole that your hearts face.

  15. littlemiao says:

    *hugs* Calli is blessed to be part of such a wonderful family. My thoughts are with her and all of you.

  16. Lurkertype says:

    ((Lauri and fam))

    She’s had the best life a big doggeh could wish for! And longer than anyone could expect.

    Give her a beeeeg hug from all of us before she goes under.

  17. e2thec says:

    oh, L… I’m so sorry to hear this, but yet… it sounds like you have all given her the best love and care possible.

    ((((L and all the crew))))

    Pleases give Calli some head pets and kisses from me.

  18. Lauri says:

    Thanks to all of you.
    She is getting the most possible pets and hugs and kisses that can be given to her in the time left!
    She’s looking pretty comfy tonight!

  19. trishc1812 says:

    ♥♥♥(((hugs)))♥♥♥
    It is so hard when our furry babies get old and get sick.
    I hope his surgery goes well and he stays away from the rainbow bridge for a long time to come.
    ♥♥♥(((hugs)))♥♥♥

  20. (((((((hugs and lots of love)))))))))

Leave a Reply

