Monday Evening Post

Well, it’s been another week! Egads!

I had an excellent weekend in Ohio. Friday I got out of work early, went home, got my stuff and drove to Canton in a rainstorm. Made it to Adam and Sarah’s in time for chicken enchiladas! Yum!

Went to bed early and slept late…..first night I haven’t coughed in 6 weeks. It felt so good. I think the humidity being higher from the rain helped. Maybe I should invest in a humidifier for next winter. Duh!

Saturday Sarah and I made up the place cards for Ashlee’s wedding.

Then we finished the favors, which are little bird’s nests with blue Jordan almond eggs, wrapped in tulle and tied with a ribbon. They are so cute! I’ll have to take pics!

Saturday night Adam, Sarah and I went up to Cleveland and had dinner with Ashlee and Ross. Then I spent the night at Ashlee and Ross’s, woke to 4 inches of snow on the car and everywhere….and came home Sunday afternoon.

So it was a very productive weekend and I think my throat/sinus/larynx thing is finally finally abating. Geez, took long enough!

Snow is still everywhere here. Over the weekend they got a couple more inches. But, today was above freezing and a lot of melting took place. AND, I heard a cardinal starting to sing his lovesong…so there IS hope!

I really want to get some flats and dirt and sprout some flowers this year. Not so much into the veggies….flowers sound good right about now!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Evening Post

  1. GOF says:

    Good to catch up on your news Lauri.
    I think you’re right that humidity helps ease coughing.

    “AND, I heard a cardinal starting to sing his lovesong”

    Blessed good news Lauri just when I was losing faith in the church.

  2. Lurkertype says:

    A humidifier has been the only thing that’s kept me from coughing up a lung, both as a kid and an adult. GET ONE!

  3. Will the snow never end? I feel bad when my friends in Minnesota tell me they got hit by “another one.” They say they’re ready for spring, and I can bet you are too.

    (I’m writing this as I look at the plum blossoms that are finally blooming on Dad’s tree. The big dummy trimmed the tree a couple of weeks ago, and I yelled at him that you’re supposed to trim blossoming trees in the late fall, before they start forming buds. He grew up on a farm, but clearly never learned how to take care of fruit trees.)

    Chicken enchiladas make me wish I could eat meat again. Beans and rice just don’t make good enchiladas. 😦

    • Lauri says:

      Hmmm. I am trying to think of an alternative to the chicken. Some kind of yummy white sauce….or even a creamy tomato sauce (I love love LOVE gravy, so I am projecting vegetarian gravy into your enchiladas…) over the tortillas, beans and rice….

      I’m not ready to go veggie quite yet!

  4. snoringKatZ says:

    I’m so glad that you are feeling better! I think a friend of mine in Houston is now enduring that same nastiness – just horrid 😦 Sounds like it was lovely (except for the rain and the snow, of course) and that wedding is going to be amazing!

  5. Laurie says:

    Bird’s nest wedding favors? OMG, how adorable. Yes, we must see photos.

    (Glad you’re feeling better!)

  6. crankypants says:

    Glad you are feeling better, and for god’s sake (or the cardinal’s?) get thee a humidifier!
    It seems as if we are done with snow for the winter *fingers crossed* but now we are in for rain, rain, rain. Bleah. I hope dude can fix my cellar door soooooon.

  7. Emmy says:

    The favors sound so pretty! Glad you’re feeling better. It’s funny, here I keep thinking, oh, screw it. I need this and that for the cold weather, but next year. 😉

  8. madtante says:

    Glad to hear you’re better! When I have a sinus infection, even though *typically* humidity wrecks my asthma, I use a humidifier.

    If I’m fully drugged for the asthma, I need that extra humidity to sooth the open-sore sinuses. It really works.

Leave a Reply

