The self amusements of late middle age.

Night before last was a bad night for sleep. Calli has been making these grunt/cough noises more and more in the last six months and Tuesday night she kept me awake a lot of the night. Grunt/cough/gag. I reach down to pet her to see if she is dead or not.

Anyway, this morning I woke up from a nice long night of uninterrupted sleep. I got up, took a shower and caught myself thinking “That was so much fun, I wish I could go back to bed and do it all over again.”

Pathetic.

Anyway, I have the day off today. Working on clutter is always on the list. But first I have to head up to the bedroom with a bucket and paper towels to clean up a dog barf spot. No, it wasn’t Calli, it was Reuben. Really, Reuben? Eating birdseed???

Ah well, heading off to do the daily chores. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The self amusements of late middle age.

  1. AuntieBellum says:

    In my experience, dogs aren’t what you would call “gourmet” eaters. More like “gourmands.” LOL!

    Is Calli okay? Or just getting old, like the rest of us?

    • Lauri says:

      She is doing really really well for a Great Dane about to turn 12 years old!
      I’m afraid the horking sounds are the result of a growth near her esophagus, but we’re not going to subject her to tests/surgeries, etc. She is happy as can be. Eats real well, plays, regulates the other animals just like she always has.

      Yep, she’s just got Olditis!

  2. Poor Calli! I know your husband’s a vet, so he’d know more about it than me: but make sure he checks that cough soon, especially if she’s had it for a while.

    Yargh on the dog barf. At least you’ll do a good job of cleaning it up. Last night, my brother’s dog began coughing after getting a drink of water and yakked up gunk on the carpet. My brother got a paper towel and wiped it up, but nothing else. I hinted heavily,”Isn’t there carpet shampoo in the broom closet?” He said, “Yeah.” And that was it.

    Needless to say, I don’t do crunches and stretches on that carpet. :-p

  3. phantomxii says:

    I think a nice vacation would consist of several nights’ uninterrupted sleep. No days. 🙂

  4. snoringKatZ says:

    We’re wild thangs, aren’t we?

    BRING ON THE SLEEP!!! YEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!

  5. Redscylla says:

    Thank Jeebus for hardwood floors. With a dog, a puppy, and 2 cats, I am always cleaning up some unmentionable. Blerg. Hope Miss Calli feels a bit better with spring coming, too.

  6. geologywoman says:

    Argh…I used to have a Border Collie who ate the frikking birdseed. Bless for cleaning it up. ANd for missing a night’s sleep. It’s all well and good for 20 somethings, but us seasoned girls be needin’ our beauty sleep.

  7. Aussie Emjay says:

    I don’t remember the last time I had a full night of uninterrupted sleep and I don’t have any animals to blame! 🙂 My friend has a cat that growls like a dog in its sleep – she says it is very funny – but also keeps her awake half the night.

  8. homebody says:

    Uninterrupted sleep is one of the nicest treats ever! Glad you were able to have a night of it.

Leave a Reply

