A Fine Time

I think everyone had a very nice time at Ashlee’s shower. Calli got to stay out and we let her think the party was for her. Her giant dog bed was in the middle of the familyroom, so during the present opening she was lying there fast asleep, but with a big happy dog smile, telling me that she knew that everyone was there for Her.

When we were done with food we let the other five dogs in the house out and mayhem was had by all.

It’s such a relief to have it over! You know how you do something and you want it to be nice and you want everyone to just enjoy themselves. Well, I think that happened.

Now my hubby is in Las Vegas for the Northwest Veterinary Conference. He just made it out of Detroit a couple of hours before this snowstorm hit. Now I think we have 6 inches of snow, with another 5 or 6 coming! And Aaron is supposed to fly home from Las Vegas (he was there the weekend for Ross’s bachelor party). Aaron is supposedly landing (with his plane, hopefully) around 3 am tomorrow morning. So he may have to stay in a motel down there for a bit..who knows.

I am happily holed up at home. Animals all fed and cozy. A fire in the fireplace. A good book to read. And NO work tomorrow. I am one happy happy camper. πŸ™‚

Oh……’cept I seem to have misplaced my camera. Thanks be to dog, my daughter-in-law (best DIL in the world) used Ashlee’s camera last night to take zillions of pics of the evening.

I really can NOT think where my camera could be. Probably under a pile of laundry somewhere. πŸ˜›

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Fine Time

  1. LBeeeze says:

    So glad to hear the shower went well. I’m always so concerned about hosting dinners and parties for the same reasons.

    I really hope everyone gets home ok. It sounds like you have such a cozy day ahead. Enjoy it!!

  2. I bet everyone was bowled over by the homemade biscotti. You sound like a terrific hostess, so I’m sure Ashlee and her friends had a good time, not to mention the dogs!

    I can’t imagine flying in this weather, but it was probably nice to arrive in Las Vegas. The desert can get cold at night, so I hope your husband brought a jacket. Stay warm yourself and have a good holiday.

    (My father was yelling at me today to get the mail. I said, “It’s Sunday, Dad! And tomorrow is Presidents’ Day!” He became irate when he heard that, which was kind of funny. Since he’s retired, the days just blend into each other. )

  3. madtante says:

    It’s stuck under any number of items that you shoved into those non-guest-entering rooms!

  4. Jaypo says:

    I know it was a delightful and memorable party! Calli will always remember it.

    WIsh I were there sipping some Irish Breakfast with you. I LOVE fireplaces.

  5. geologywoman says:

    “Animals all fed and cozy. A fire in the fireplace. A good book to read. And NO work tomorrow.” I have that except no fire YET…next winter, better be a bloody woodstove in the living room to replace that crappy gas thing. But wore my pjs all day with the exception of when I went for a long walk. And I have tomorrow off too…we be happy women.

  6. LOOK IN YOUR JACKET POCKET!

  7. Aussie Emjay says:

    I’m glad everything went so well. That’s annoying about the camera – it’s not as if you can call it and listen for the ringing …

  8. pyrit says:

    If you had taken pictures with your camera then you wouldn’t be in them! Now you’ll be in the pics that were taken! I’m so glad it was a lovely party, Lauri.

Leave a Reply

