I remember how to do this now…

Entertaining. The food is almost ready. Set up a table for coffee, tea, soft drinks and wine.

But the key to cleaning the house, I’ve just realized….throw every single thing into the rooms in the house where there will be no guests. Shut the doors. Have a good time. Ha!!! There is going to be shit everywhere that we won’t find again for WEEKS!

*runs away*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I remember how to do this now…

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    LOL – we only allow guests to wander on the first floor. I usually put “stuff” into big bags and cart it upstairs and then bring it all down again the next day…. very efficient I think! If someone is actually staying the night though I have to put a bit more effort in and hide those bags in my wardrobe! πŸ™‚

  2. capnstephel says:

    Definitely done that. Heck, I think we all mastered it as kids. Hehe!
    Have fun!

  3. Laurie says:

    That’s the spirit, Larui! What they can’t see can’t offend them.

  4. Nobody can tell if I’ve cleaned my parents’ house, *snert.* So I just clear spaces on the couch and wipe down the chairs.

    You can tell we hardly entertain. πŸ˜€

  5. kimkiminy says:

    A brilliant hostess!

  6. We do the same! (is there anyone who don’t??)

  7. Drude says:

    sigh… I wish I had a room where I could stuff junk away out of sight. My house is a string of rooms with front door & kitchen at one end and teh only bathroom through the bedroom at the other end. Peeps inevitably go through all rooms.

  8. crankypants says:

    That’s my cleaning MO! Have fun!

  9. GOF says:

    My neighbour has a single large room open-plan house which is always full of rubbish…..one day, having been given 5 minutes telephone warning of some special visitor arriving, he just shoved all the dirty dishes, pots and pans, unwashed laundry…..the whole lot…..under the bed until the visitor left. πŸ˜‰

  10. Lurkertype says:

    I’m suspicious of anyone who doesn’t do that!

  11. Emmy says:

    You just figured that out? What do you think the rest of us do….CLEAN? No wonder it took you so long, LOL. Seriously, at some point when I was overwhelmed I was like, screw it. Bought a dozen transluscent tupperwares and tossed all the crap in there. Anything that was not in a drawer or shelf…..gone. Now all I need is one whole Saturday so I can track down my credit cards, passport, license and house keys. πŸ˜‰

  12. snoringKatZ says:

    Stuffing is a time-honored tradition of the great hosts worldwide. Did you ever notice on tours of famous homes you’re never allowed in certain parts? Uh-huh… you got it!

    Well done!

  13. littlemiao says:

    I really like your housecleaning strategy. I need to try that more often.

  14. LOL right now I am so glad that the apartment is so little that this isn’t anything I can be tempted with. If a visitor comes over I have to tidy up – no other choice.
    If I had it though…..

  15. geologywoman says:

    LOL! LOL! Run!

  16. geologywoman says:

    I cleaned the bathroom at work yesterday. took in a pair of rubber gloves, some cleaner, and went at it. Black mould…old pee…I held my breath while doing it. But it looks so much better and smells it now…YUCK! When I think of it I get nauseated, how it was before. How did people sit on that loo!

  17. phantomxii says:

    It’s been so long since we entertained that I don’t remember anything whatsoever. Thank you for the refresher on the essentials! πŸ™‚ I hope your get-together went well.

  18. LBeeeze says:

    I’m sure the shower was lots of fun for everyone. Hope you got lots of photos!!

  19. Jaypo says:

    I love having someplace to throw all the junk just before the guest/s arrive! It’s my dirty secret, haha !!

    Feelin’ the fun, m’ dear!

Leave a Reply

