Horrifying

South Dakota GOP pushes bill to legalize ‘homicide’ in defense of the unborn

By Stephen C. Webster
Tuesday, February 15th, 2011 — 9:42 am

Share20 Share1741   49 Share370 Share3 Share2

“Justifiable” homicide is usually claimed in self defense cases, and in particular home invasions that end up with a dead burglar. You could say it’s one of the many things that’s big in Texas.

But in South Dakota, a group of Republican state legislators have crafted a bill that would expand the legal definition of “justifiable homicide” in a way that’s plain and unambiguous: they’re trying to legalize the murder of abortion doctors.

In House Bill 1171, which cleared committee recently and will go to a full vote by the legislature soon, their redefinition is clear.

It states: “Homicide is justifiable if committed by any person while resisting any attempt to murder such person, or to harm the unborn child of such person in a manner and to a degree likely to result in the death of the unborn child, or to commit any felony upon him or her, or upon or in any dwelling house in which such person is.”

What in the HECK?!?!?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Horrifying

  1. All I can come up with is ‘WTF??!!’ One can only hope that this will never make it through. For Christ sake! It’s our decision, our body. People should be glad that it is done legally by doctors instead of at home, in desperation, with a knitting needle.

    • Lauri says:

      I agree completely, Irony. I hope someone is blowing this out of proportion. So to speak.

      • mariser says:

        sadly, it is not being blown out of proportion. HB 1171 means exactly what it says.

        insane.
        horrifying

        if it passes, I hope to the Goddess that when (not if) someone kills or attempts to kill any medical personnel “because they is killing babies”, every single member of the SD legislature is brought up on charges as masterminders. and convicted.

        • laurifromvox says:

          I most assuredly hope you are right, mariser. Every single one of the legislators who would propose this should already be up on “plotting murder” charges. This is insane.

  2. capnstephel says:

    ::picks jaw up from the floor::
    W.
    T.
    F.
    That is insane

  3. I used to joke to the kids when we were making the annual drive from Minnesota (home) to Washington State (college!), “Thank goodness we don’t have to drive through South Dakota!” If you drive anywhere near the major cities and towns out there, you see these huge billboards with photos of babies on them, screaming “Every life is precious! Stop abortion!” The group that sponsors the billboards is actually very small and doesn’t represent the majority of South Dakotans, but they are active and lobby vigorously at the capital. When the state tried to outlaw abortion altogether, the kids and I decided to forego the tourist attractions out there like Mount Rushmore and the Laura Ingalls Wilder house in De Smet. (Yeah, I know, big deal: but the girls loved the Little House books and we made it sort of a project to see all of the areas where the Wilder family lived.)

    I guess we’ll just have to skip De Smet and Silver Lake for a long while. Too bad, but what the state is doing to women and girls is horrible.

  4. Jaypo says:

    Holy sh*t. That has to be the most effed up wtf law ever. So that must mean that killing the woman about to have the abortion is justifiable also. Provided they could save the fetus. ugh.

  5. madtante says:

    When I saw this headline earlier, I thought it was an Onion spoof.

    Way to provoke civil unrest, ya know?

  6. Emmy says:

    I actually have a few seriously extremist road sign photos saved up from SD for a post I was going to do when I did my practicum out there. Like HG, I know of some hardcore right wing signs that the residents proudly display. Some of the residents I met were absolutely lovely – but man, in general that is one scary effing place. I hope the Feds step in and put their foot down these people’s throats.

  7. phantomxii says:

    What the hell is wrong with people?!

    *slackjawed*

    (Well, not all people. Thank heavens.)

  8. LBeeeze says:

    Can you just imagine how people would use this as a defense for murder. How incredibly stupid. Somebody could claim they thought an orthopedist was an abortion doctor.

    This is beyond belief.

  9. mariser says:

    I want to share a quote via tumblr

    “For decades, I’ve suggested to pro-lifers that if they really care about the unborn, we should create for them into a national lottery to take on and raise children of unwanted pregnancies. They never like the idea.

    • laurifromvox says:

      This is SO true, mariser. And teach abstinence as a method of birth control and let some crazy woman have 14 babies…and pay for her to have them to boot. But….if someone wants to stop a pregnancy they should die???!?!?!?! Argh. Sometimes it’s more than I can stand.

  10. littleoddme says:

    Thank you for this. This topic upsets me a lot, I haven’t the words to say anything more about it.

  11. geologywoman says:

    I want to move to SD and be a repooblican! Not.

  12. geologywoman says:

    I want to move to Alaska and work for Sarah Palin too. Not in the next 100 lifetimes.

  13. ladywise says:

    As my brother says all the time, they sound like a bunch of iiots! (That’s idiots without the d. It sounds funny as hell when he says it.) This isn’t funny though. Who would have ever thought that as a country we would spend years fighting the abortion battle like we have.

  14. pyrit says:

    So many pawns who don’t know that the whole abortion issue was spun to whip up divisiveness. Pawns need to be more worried about not using their brains.
    I wish there were no eejits with the power to waste time making crazy laws.

  15. jaklumen says:

    Why you seem willing to open this can of worms– or beat the horse that is practically undead at this point– is beyond me.

    I agree with pyrit’s assertion that the issue is a tool of divisiveness, so, if anyone is wondering what exactly my position is, well, it’s none of your business. I’m not interested in bobbleheading or raging or even sticking my hand in this mess.

    In fact, I’m out of here. So disappointed am I. Have fun, but this isn’t my scene.

    • pyrit says:

      Oh thank you for showing me that my comment could be misconstrued.

    • Lauri says:

      I am willing to open this can of worms because I read an article online, found it to be repugnant and unbelievably, pathetically against decency and common sense and I felt moved to share said article with some of my friends.

      I found it difficult to believe that people who claim to be “for life” would go about finding ways to make it legal to end other people’s lives.

      So, if it’s not your scene then leave it. That’s what freedom is all about.

      • phantomxii says:

        IMO, the can of worms here isn’t even abortion—it’s vigilantism. The U.S. doesn’t allow free-for-all, one-man-judge-and-jury executions of people one personally believes have done something wrong. (One might get away with killing someone to prevent the murder of someone else, but that doesn’t apply here: abortion is legal in the U.S.) There will always be loose screws who make up laws for themselves, but for a supposedly legitimate legislature to egg them on is disgusting.

        Rant off.

    • Lauri says:

      Too late. It makes me so angry because now that the idea has been put out there some asshole will go ahead and kill a doctor because in his screwed up head it’s the “right thing to do”.

      But thanks for sharing the link, Stephel. I’m glad it’s being shelved!

  16. GOF says:

    Sometimes you can’t help thinking that humans take one step forward, then three backwards.

Leave a Reply

