A Hawk and Chicken Story

The day that hubby and I came back from our cruise youngest son had a story to tell us. That morning Aaron had gone outside, as usual, to feed and water the chickens and goats. The Chicken House used to be a bus stop waiting house for the kids when they were in school. When they were done with it we hauled it up to the back yard and cut a small door beside the big human sized door for the chickens to go in and out of.
Aaron went out that morning and opened up the big door. Inside staring at him was a small hawk. I am guessing it was a Cooper’s Hawk, Aaron thinks it was when I showed him a picture. It was about half the size of a full grown chicken. Aaron said the hawk looked at him for a moment and then flew out the door and away.

Huddled in the corner, hiding her head down as far as it would go, was one Butter Chick. She was not harmed, but was definitely scared witless. (or more witless than usual) 😛
We all thought it was pretty interesting that a hawk would go into a shelter after a chicken.
When I went out later to see how everyone was I checked out the Chicken House. Inside were the remains a few sparrows. The sparrows hop in through the door and help themselves to chicken food all day long. Mr. Smartypants Hawk went inside and sat at the door and ate sparrows as they hopped in. Very smart indeed!

I haven’t seen him since we got home, but I wouldn’t begrudge him a few sparrows to get him through the winter!

I ordered several pairs of Smartwool socks, on sale at Sierra Trading Company! w00t! Lots of pretty colors! I love those socks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Hawk and Chicken Story

  1. pyrit says:

    “more witless than usual” – har!
    Aaron came to the rescue just in time.
    Bok bok bad hawk!

  2. crankypants says:

    Haha! it sounds like a cartoon or something, the hawk waiting at the door for the little hoppy birds (for that is the technical name for sparrows, you know) to come in and gobbling them up like they’re on a conveyor belt or something (ha! Lucy and Ethel with the candies!)
    It wasn’t a chicken hawk I guess, Foghorn Leghorn has nothing to worry about. and yeah, sparrows are plentiful, at least in my neighborhood. The baby hawk can have a few.
    I’m all over the place with my pop culture references, My stomach feels a little funny still and that sleeve of Thin Mints probably didn’t help.

  3. Doug says:

    I’m sure there’s a moral here for those sparrows thinking they’d have a free meal…

  4. Laurie says:

    Birds gotta do what birds gotta do. Pretty inventive of that hawk, eating sparrows like popcorn. Or, hopcorn.

  5. Aww, poor chicken. Maybe the hawk wasn’t big enough to eat her, but that piercing stare would scare me!

    A couple of years ago, I was washing the dishes when I had this funny feeling someone was staring at me. I looked aside to the kitchen window and saw this little hawk standing on the fence, fiercely glaring at me. It was funny, because he was so tiny, but so ferocious-looking. I didn’t know where to hide either!

    • crankypants says:

      haha! that reminds me of a Mamapants story…it was better when she told it because of the faces she made but…I think I was still a teenager in the 80s, but my mom told us that she was in her bathroom on the toilet and she looked up and there was this squirrel at the window looking at her! The face she made to imitate the squirrel had us dying laughing!!

      • That would make me laugh, faces or no! Squirrels are so funny! They’ll stare at you with their tails switching back and forth, and you almost expect them to say something to you with that expression of theirs. “Hey lady! Close yer blinds!”

  6. kimkiminy says:

    Wow, great story. I’m surprised the hawk didn’t eat the poor witless chick.

  7. phantomxii says:

    We had a few of those guys hanging around when we lived on a more wooded lot. (I’m pretty sure they were Cooper’s hawks. That’s what they looked like.) Sometimes they’d scare the crap out of the little birds, but sometimes the little birds would hassle the hawks!

  8. LBeeeze says:

    It must have been like home delivery. What a clever little hawk.

    • geologywoman says:

      LOL! Whilst Masha was waiting for me to take the citizen ship test, he parked himself in a coffee shop inside a mall-type place nearby. He sat and watched a starling sneak in and out of the automated doors of the coffee shop and steal crumbs.

  9. geologywoman says:

    I never begrudge a hawk a few sparrows. You said it well. : )
    I love me some smartwool socks. Last time we were in North Carolina, I dragged Masha to REI and they were on sale, as I knew they would be, it being June. I bought purple ones and light blue. Over here they cost twice as much new, and dang! But once you go smartwool, you do not go back. It’s like the DVR.

  10. I’m confused. why are you buying socks for the hawk? Or are they for the chickens?

  11. CreakyGeek says:

    Ha! This reminded me of something that happened to me a few years ago walking through downtown from the bus stop to my office. Pigeons we always see downtown. Mockingbirds are plentiful here. But I turned a corner and there, perched on top of a concrete thing, right at eye level to me, was a young kestrel.

    I stood there just looking at him (?). If he could have talked, I’m sure it would been Robert DeNiro’s voice telling me to keep moving. He didn’t seem afraid but there was nothing for him to eat, so I don’t know what he was doing there.

    All I could think was that he may have been out on his own for the first time and Mama and Papa Kestrel may have been on a window ledge up above arguing over whether he’d been out there by himself too long or not long enough. I ended up just going along to my office, and never saw a kestrel downtown again.

Leave a Reply

