Some cruise pics…

I’m was going to try to post a bit about my Panama cruise. Miss Lu is haleping by jumping inmot my lap and then planting her sturdy, floof-covered body right in front of my computer montieter.

Ha! I typed all that without being able to see. She just left in disgust because my typing was irritating her! Poor Miss Lu!

We left the port in Fort Lauderdale, FLA, where it was already 80 degrees. After weeks of super cold this felt just great! We were aboard the ship relaxing, swimming, eating, drinking and reading for two days.

Our first stop was in Aruba where we went snorkeling. I got to float right next to a pelican and see his feet paddling! Then another pelican crashed into the school of fish right beside me and scooped some up for lunch! Too bad I couldn’t get a picture of that!

Our secondย  port was Cartegena, Colombia. The city was striking from out on the water.

We took a bus inland to a volcanic mud pit….it was supposedly good for your health to completely submerse in this warm ashy mud (whatever, it was certainly entertaining!). The depth of the mud was between 80 and 100 feet, but even getting your feet to stay down was nearly impossible. We were like little corks.

The next stop was Panama, so stay tuned! Time for some dinner! ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Some cruise pics…

  1. capnstephel says:

    Fun! How cool seeing those pelicans so close. And it looks like you had a great time playing in the mud ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. pegoftilling says:

    Encased in carbonite! JAAABBBBBAAAAAAA!!! (shakes fist)

  3. pyrit says:

    Hlo Lu sweet kytti. U can come bak nao.

    Lauri YU R teh Divine Ms. M. (for Mud)!

    Thank you for all the blue water and sky pics – heavenly.

  4. LBeeeze says:

    OMGosh it looks so beautiful. All that blue and warm mud. That pic of you floating in the mud is hilarious!!!

  5. Aussie Emjay says:

    Oh my God! *Love* you floating in the mud! Not sure I’d want to put my face in like some of those folks!

  6. littlemiao says:

    wow, floating in the mud must have been so much fun. I would have been worried that I couldn’t wash it out of my hair.

    Great photos. I can’t wait to see more of your adventures!

  7. Oh, how nice! You took your grandparents along … and took their pictures!

    Oops …

    Really, though, I don’t care how healthy that mud is supposed to be, I’d not be getting in it.

    • Lauri says:

      LOL about the grandparents. You are a very funny guy, GOM. ๐Ÿ˜›

      I am sure the mud was not healthy, no matter what they advertised it as…however, it was a fun and interesting experience!

  8. kimkiminy says:

    I love cruises. Is there a shower at the bottom where you can wash off?

  9. snoringKatZ says:

    How fun is that?!? On my wish list for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. geologywoman says:

    I love the photos! The volcanic mud ones are the best!

  11. Hah! You guys look like George Segal sculptures, covered in all that mud! (And not a skinny dipper among them!)

    It looks fun, but I have this thing about getting mud in my hair. Does it wash out well?

    • Lauri says:

      It washed right out, HG. We walked to a lake where the locals poured buckets of water over us and in a short time we were just wet tourists, again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Reminds me of the good old days when we were treading mud as kids on the country side. Not sure I would go in there today :))

  13. madtante says:

    Hahaha! Love the mudpit!

  14. doranyc says:

    Awesome! That mud bath looks divine!!

  15. Sea! Blue skies! Snorkeling! Sun! Gah, I’m envious! And excited for you, that got to go on such a fun trip ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forwards to more pics!

  16. really beautiful! That mud is kind of gorgeous too ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. Emmy says:

    How wonderful. Did your skin feel any better after the mud treatment? The pictures are divine, especially the first one bathed in blue.

    • Lauri says:

      I think that really the only thing the mud might have done was act as a defoliant. It felt good being in it and it felt good getting it washed off.

      It was kind of just a novelty experience….I’m really glad we did it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. pyrit says:

    Defoliant? Nooo, hon! LOL! Like, what, “Weed-B-Gon”?
    Mayhaps you meant exfoliant.
    I think Agent Orange is illegal now in most states.

    • Lauri says:

      Oh that is TOO funny, py. I looked at that word last night for awhile before just giving up. I knew defoliant wasn’t right. It was exfoliant I was looking for! HA!!!

      Maybe I had some lichen growing on me that I needed to get rid of…..or maybe NOT!

  19. Jaypo says:

    The mudbath looks so relaxing! (do poots erupt in volcanic bubbles? I’M SORRY, I can’t help myself… no i’m not. )

    • Lauri says:

      Ya know, I wondered that exact thing before we got there…but bubbling poots went right out of my mind during the experience…thank goodness!

      It was pretty relaxing, but after about 15 minutes I started having claustrophobic-get-me-away-from-all-these-gray-people moments. We floundered our way to the stairs and then I let two girls go ahead of me. They were more anxious to get out than I was. It was interesting to see when people had had enough of Teh Mud!

  20. GOF says:

    I was really looking forward to these pics lauri….but something distracted me for a couple of days. What a wonderful experience….love the mud bath photographs….hope your skin is in radiant glowing good health after being immersed in it.

    • Lauri says:

      Those pesky cyclones!

      It was a really fun trip…and very strange to hear from my son that he was stuck with temps around 10 degrees F, while we were basking in 84 degree weather!

Leave a Reply

