The day before Arm-a-sleddin’.

The wind is picking up a bit. There’s probably a foot of old snow on the ground. 2 inches of new snow from last night. No snow yet from the Blizzard to end all Blizzards.

I am scheduled to work tomorrow but if there are six foot snowdrifts I just might not make it! We’ll see.

Here’s what I am worrying about right now. My parents’ cat, Max, is here for his annual February stay. For years they have brought him over while they go to Florida for the month. He has enjoyed himself and gets along just great with all the other animals. I swear they all know which ones are just visiting and which ones are staying.

Anyway, Max is 16 and had a cancerous tumor removed from his mouth twice in Oct. and Nov. of 2009. Since then he has been kept going with prednisone shots to keep the inflammation down and he has had well over a year of good living which he was lucky to get. But, he’s here now and he looks like a bag-o-bones and he’s not eating or drinking. He has that “old cat with uremic syndrome” look. Ken’s going to bring home some fluids and he’s already had another pred. shot last night, so if the fluids don’t perk him up I am afraid he is unperkable.

Really I think it might be easier on my parents if he dies here with us. He has been like a child to them for all these years.

He’s on the piano with a lamp over him for warmth and a heating pad underneath his blanket for more warmth. Poor old dewd.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The day before Arm-a-sleddin’.

  1. Jessica says:

    1) Great title! Loves it.
    2) Aw. Max. That’s just how Sunny was before he died. We called him Skelator, and he used to cuddle under the blankets for warmth because he was so skinny.
    3) If an animal has to go, well, with you guys is a good place. I mean that in a good way. Because you know how to take care of them so well. (Duh.) 🙂

    • Lauri says:

      Hi, Jess! I have been calling Max Skelator, too! There’s nothing bonier than an old cat!
      And, yeah…if he has to go he might as well be here. But, why do they have to go? 😛

  2. Laurie says:

    Poor little Max, hanging in there. Have you talked to your parents to tell them Max’s current status? That’d be my next thing, because they’d want to know what shape he’s in and as you say, will probably let you and Ken do what’s best. Not eating or drinking sounds like Max has made up his mind.

    • Lauri says:

      They are driving down to Fla the last three days. They should be getting there tonight so I will give them a call then. They know he’s been on borrowed time for awhile.

  3. Poor kitty! Even though he had a long and surely wonderful life I do hope he is ‘perkable’. It’s so sad to see them die a slow death.

  4. Poor old Max. The expression on his face is exactly like the one my Eliza had just before she died of kidney failure. I thought hers was a combination of weariness and resignation—“I don’t feel like getting up anymore.” It is good he’s in your hands: he’ll get tender care and the other animals will keep him company up until the end. I wonder though if he doesn’t miss your parents, since they’ve been his mom and dad all these years. Sometimes an old animal will hang on just so they can see their owners one more time.

    • Lauri says:

      That is so true, HG. If the sub-cue fluids will perk him up and he starts eating again he might just make it. If he doesn’t we will give him the easy way out. He looks happy enough…he’s now stretched out on the heating pad, instead of huddling in a ball on it.

  5. pyrit says:

    Aw. Sending Max a million gentle head rubs.

    The first week of Feb. 2010 was the Snowmageddon. Feb. 5 I think.

    I’m at work – leaving early because we’re having the Minnie Me today of the Big Dr. Evil Snowstorm tomorrow.
    Hope you don’t go to work tomorrow. Employers need to get real. Wait, I guess your job is kinda immediately vital to others.
    If you go, go slow.

    • Lauri says:

      I live fairly close but my road is one mile of heavily drifting gravel. So, if it gets too bad I’ll be staying home! It’s not very often that I can’t make it out to the highway. Hmmm…the snow is drifting on top of the gravel, if you get my drift…

    • Lauri says:

      OH! I meant to say that I caught up on your CO posts, py and they are just wonderful! Big lolssssssss!

  6. pegoftilling says:

    Poor Max! (skritches)

  7. snoringKatZ says:

    Awww… sweet old man Max. I know you and Ken will take the best care of him in whatever ways are necessary.

    I’ll hope for drifts so you can stay home snuggy buggy!

  8. madtante says:

    I am so sorry…best to the old man.

  9. littleoddme says:

    Love and cuddles to Max. Hope you stay safe too…. awesome post title. 🙂

  10. Emmy says:

    Oh no, cuddles to this poor kitty.

  11. capnstephel says:

    Awwww *pet pet* for Max

  12. Jaypo says:

    My stupit WP app on the iPad is not posting my comments… I commented yesterdy and it’s not here.

    Tired Max is waiting for the right time. 😦

  13. aubrey says:

    Max looks deep in thought. There are new ideas and visions for him. He’s already thinking about the Rainbow Bridge and the better life to come.

    (pet-pets from Aubrey)

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks, Aubs. They get that preoccupied look. And it’s not scared or sad. Just “otherwhere”.

      He’s eating a drinking a bit today. Still enjoying his heating pad.

  14. homebody says:

    Oh, Lauri – I’m sorry. Skitches and pets to Max, and hopes for the easiest possible passage, whenever that may be.

Leave a Reply

