Overreaction, mass hysteria or not?

It will interesting to see how this Blizzard of the Century turns out. I just received a phonecall from my lab manager who told that the hospital had declared a State of Emergency and the people who were already at work were to stay there for the duration of the storm. Those of us scheduled to come in tomorrow morning are not to leave our homes.

I am delighted to be able to stay home tomorrow.

But, I am astonished. I have never heard of anything like this before. My son was told not to come in to his job tomorrow, but he can work from his computer at home.

My husband has closed his office for tomorrow.

Michigan State University cancelled classes for tomorrow for the first time in 36 years. (Yes, I was there in the blizzard 36 years ago. They had to cancel mid-term exams. Talk about fun!)

So, please be safe all my peeps everywhere. Interesting days to come.

(or not, hopefully!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Overreaction, mass hysteria or not?

  1. I’m glad you’re not going in to work, even if the blizzard turns out to be a pfizzle. It sounds bad enough with such cold temperatures and heaps of snow on the ground already. But it’s so surreal watching the news now: outside my parents’ house, it’s bright blue skies, the brightest I’ve seen since the beginning of the year, and it’s 63 degrees in the sun. The only indication of the storm that’ll hit the Midwest is extremely high winds, which the weather service says are being pumped in by the force of this weather front. (And as I wrote that, I just saw a sheet of plywood fly by my window. Hmm, I wonder if that’s ours.)

    But stay safe and warm inside, you and your family and all of your critters! And I hope the chickens are doing the same.

    • Lauri says:

      Oh my gosh about your flying plywood!
      This whole world sounds like it’s going to be some sort of end of the world movie, soon!
      I think the crazy wild chickens are actually sleeping in the shelter I built for them under the picnic table tonight. This is the first night they haven’t slept in the white pine.

    • Lurkertype says:

      It wasn’t even windy here today, just sunny and warm. That’s why we deal with the cost of living.

      • Yeah, I heard. My younger daughter said the weather in SF was beautiful. It must be the Valley, or we’re too darn close to those snowy mountains.

        • Lurkertype says:

          It’s being sunk down in the depression (pun intended). That’s why it’s always colder and wetter there in the winter (with bonus tule fog) and hotter in the summer.

          Of course, it makes us weather wimps — it was about 40 last night when we left the restaurant and everyone was saying it was chilly. I was abstractly aware that it was cold enough to see my breath and that my clothing was inadequate, but I was too drunk to care. 🙂

  2. madtante says:

    Things aren’t peachy here: we got 1-3 inches of ice balls (depending where it fell) on top of 1/2″ ice. It has changed to snow now. I was home today–they’ve still not come out to the county road. Not ONCE today.

  3. Aussie Emjay says:

    Hunker down and enjoy the day off. Federal workers here were told that for today and tomorrow they could work from home – a lot of us don’t have that option. I think here it has mostly been downgraded to some ice but mostly rain as the temperature is a little higher than they thought it would be. We are expecting some horrible winds tomorrow though

  4. Laurie says:

    Our Big Dump o’Snow is supposed to start around midnight. The boss was expecting to probably declare a snow day tomorrow. We managers have made sure we have all our staff home phone numbers in that event. I want to stay up way late and watch it start, but I better not in case we are expected in tomorrow.

    I could get in in any case, because I walk, but the boss told me if it’s a snow day because of transit and traffic conditions, I should just take the snow day, too.

    Hope your chick-ons are warm enough!

    • Lauri says:

      I am hoping the wild goofball chickons are not in their tree tonight! The last I saw them, just before dark,they were staying in their picnic table shelter which I reinforced with straw and plywood and a huge thick pond liner rubber mat thingy. They should be cozy enough if they stay in there. If they try to sleep in the tree they will probably blow over into the next county!

  5. Emmy says:

    Glad you got the time off! 😉 Stay safe – we had lots today and maybe a foot tomorrow, plus freezing rain. But your forecast sounds worse. Sometimes the govt overreacts but it’s nice anyway that they’re telling people to stay home rather than risk car accidents.

  6. littlemiao says:

    Stay safe, and warm! I’m glad you’ll be staying home.

  7. capnstephel says:

    Heck, getting a snow day when there’s supposed to be lots of snow sounds great! Keeping crazy people (and everyone away from them) off the roads is also a good idea. Enjoy your day at home. 🙂
    I was working at home today because it was so cold. We got up to zero and the sun was out for a few hours…now it’s -8 and falling. Bleh. School districts canceled school today because of the cold and some are canceled tomorrow as well. I don’t ever remember that happening for a non-snow day

    • Lurkertype says:

      That is odd. I remember getting about… hmm… 6-7 snow days off total in my school days, but they never canceled b/c of cold. I WISHED they would have, waiting for the bus in below zero.

      • capnstephel says:

        I think I might have had five snow days the entire 12 years in the school system. Only once was it two days in a row because of a blizzard. Then, it was spring break. Good times.
        I walked to my high school every day I was within walking distance (except when I sprained my ankle big time).

        Yes, it was uphill..

      • tomzone says:

        I never had any snow days. Although, the one day we did get snow flurries, they sent us home early because the power went out, so I guess I did. FSU canceled classes for a day after we got smacked by a hurricane, but they had a bunch of limbs to pick up. My heart goes out to everyone caught in that storm, but my ass is staying on my sandbar. 😀

  8. I am trying to imagine how this is going down. Because I do know a lot of snow. So much that half the country is in a chaos. But never has it lead to work/schools/etc being shut down. (maybe all the way up North – never been there though lol) Maybe because it all comes down vertical and not horizontal….

  9. geologywoman says:

    Bloody La Nina. Is all I can say. No – I lied. Congrats on getting a day off and someone being sensible and not wanting everyone to risk their lives to drive into work. Now I hope you ate a giants bag of Doritos and caught up on CSI or something similarly juicy on your DVR whilst wearing thick polar fleece jammies and lovely warm socks. And rubbed the critters’ heads lots and lots.

  10. Laurie says:

    i just saw the word “snowverreaction” in a news report and it made me think of your post title!

  11. LBeeeze says:

    Our storm of storms came and went. Not so good for the people west of us. The interstate was shut down just 30 miles west. Gaaaaaaah. I’d HATE to be one of the people who had to stay at work.

    We got to leave early on Monday. The ice storm was way worse at the building where I work, so I got to work from home on Tuesday. It’s supposed to be -3 tomorrow morning and one of the parking lots will be off limits due to an event, so we’ll have to walk a couple blocks in the wind. Gaaaaaaaaah!!!

    • Lauri says:

      Ugh, it’s going to be SO cold walking in! I have about a quarter mile walk in from the parking lot today….it’s 7 degrees. I don’t know the windchill but BRRRRRR!!!

      • Lurkertype says:

        This kind of weather is why I tell people that Kenny from South Park is not really an exaggeration. I spent many days of my childhood exactly like that, nothing showing but my eyes, with many layers underneath.

        Did the chick-ons survive so far?

        • Lauri says:

          Today the temp got up to 25 degrees F. and the sun was shining beautifully. The wild chick-ons were out just enjoying every minute! They were preening and dancing and soaking up the sun!

  12. mizunogirl says:

    Oh Yuck. I was mandated once in the University of NC. Oh my the hospital started to run out of food for everyone after day 3. It was not fun, not fun at all!

  13. tomzone says:

    A bad day of CSI and Doritos is better than a good day in the poo lab. Plus, you got to snorgle cats and chickens and hedgehogs and Pan only knows what else, and hang out in sweats and thick socks. Poifect.

Leave a Reply

