1-11-11

There, that was fun, typing the date.

I don’t like the way I feel today. Anxious. Not comfortable in my skin. Fretful. I didn’t want to get out of bed at all, but then I felt too restless to stay in bed.Β  I think I’m feeling bad for the families mourning the AZ shooting victims. And the thousands who are losing homes, cities, even family members in the flooding in Australia. I guess I’ll narrow my feeling bad down to those two things today. 😦

But, I am managing to get groceries, feed animals, pick up a bit around here anyway.

1-11-11…we’re getting snow and I have a fire going in the fireplace. And I’m going to get a cup of tea. That should be all I require for now.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 1-11-11

  1. ladywise says:

    I know what you mean. I’m snowed in and I’m definitely getting cabin fever. There isn’t a day that goes by that we can’t find something to mourn about or worry about Lauri. All we can do is pad our own lives with goodness and pray a lot.

  2. capnstephel says:

    Awww *hug*

    I hate those edgy days. Had one pretty recently, akshully. Blah. Time for you to list 100 happy things? πŸ˜‰

  3. It must be contagious: I felt the same way this morning. I’m worried about other things, but the Arizona shooting victims have been in the back of my mind, as well as some of the hateful things I’ve seen on the internet. (Note to myself: turn off the comments when I log in to read the local online paper.)

    When I feel that way, I try to shrink my list of things to do to just the basics (library book is due today, must go to the post office and mail shtuf). Then hole up for tea, cookies, and a good book. Snow would be helpful here but I’ll take the gray sky as an okay to stay in.

  4. GOF says:

    You’re not alone feeling like that Lauri……I watch the wall to wall coverage on TV of the Queensland floods in so many places and can’t help feeling sad about the suffering of others and the inability to help apart from being able to send a little money.

    • Lauri says:

      It’s always good to know we are not alone.
      I was picturing your smoke house when I was starting my fire up this afternoon. It’s been so cozy in there all day!

      • GOF says:

        I’ve got to do some work in my smoke house …it got inundated during the 12 inches of rain we got on Christmas eve and the soft furnishings and carpets need to be replaced…….at great expense……probably twenty bucks for the lot at a secondhand shop somewhere. πŸ™‚

  5. geologywoman says:

    Awww…bless. (as they say here, I like it so much better than when people say God bless…it’s universal) I hope it’s very good tea.

  6. Aussie Emjay says:

    I’d like to be in a little hut in the middle of no-where isolated from all the grim news. Perhaps when I got back to civilization there would be happy news; though sadly I doubt it; today’s grim would be replaced by tomorrows grimmer.

    • Lauri says:

      I was thinking later today that last year at this time I was fretting so much about my mom (breast cancer) my friend’s daughter (lymphoma) and then my friend (thyroid cancer) that I couldn’t allow feelings from tragedies further away in. So, this is almost a luxury, to be fretting about people further out in the circle of my life….not that I would wish it on ANYone…but I did notice the difference today.

  7. Emmy says:

    I think it’s a good idea to keep with a normal routine when feeling this way. Make a hot drink (of your choosing), look out the window at your critters. And be jealous of them that they can’t read the news. πŸ˜‰

    • Emmy says:

      “Of your choosing”. Meaning it might be alcohol. I was trying to be funny but it was not obvious. Ha.

      Ha.

      • Lauri says:

        Lol! I didn’t do the alcohol earlier today. The tea was wonderful. But I am having a glass of wine tonight.
        When I go out to take care of the chickengoats I always end up leaning on a fence and just watching everyone interact and be themselves.
        They are so busy being chickens and goats that they don’t worry about anything else. It’s so soothing. πŸ™‚

  8. littlemiao says:

    *hugs* and *miao purrs*

  9. snoringKatZ says:

    Squeezies to you, Lauri. I hope the fire on the outside and the tea on the inside has warmed those chilly jitters. Sometimes the world really is too much. I hide on those days if I can.

  10. CreakyGeek says:

    I can SO relate to that feeling of being overwhelmed with sadness/anxiety/whatever when something like the Arizona shootings happens. It’s an empathy or sensitivity thing and it’s hard to tell myself (yourself) to separate it from what’s happening in my (your) life, but sometimes I (you) really need to do that once in a while.

    I like the image of you leaning over the fence watching the animals’ socializing. Sounds relaxing. ~8)

  11. Jaypo says:

    I felt really crappy on 1-11-11 too. I just figure the energy is really high on special days like that and sometimes our physical selves have a hard time keeping pace.

Leave a Reply

