Indoor Caturday

Good morning. Yes, it still is morning, barely. I just came in from feeding chickengoats and the snow just keeps falling and falling. It’s sooooo cold, too! What the hey, it’s January. I put straw around the picnic table and the wild baby chicks are sheltering there. They are still sleeping in the trees, though, and they seem to be doing very well with the whole wild chicken life, so I guess they are ok!

I want to get pics of them now that they are pretty much full grown. But the snow is too crazy today. Maybe later.

All of the cats went outside this morning (9 degrees) and they are all back in, now, probably for the rest of the day.

I am getting the invitations for Ashlee’s shower done…I’ll get them in the mail early next week at the very latest!

I really need to do a refrigerator clean out this weekend. Most of the leftovers are out, but every shelf and nook and cranny needs a thorough washing. We shall see! I think I will make myself a huge salad and have lunch first!

Oh, then Ken wants to go see “True Grit” at 205. So we can be home in the evening for football games. 😉

I probably won’t feel like cleaning the frig this evening. Ah, well.

OH! I was going to say that I watched “The Walking Dead”, shows 5 and 6 last night. I had already seen them once and they didn’t bother me at all. Last night the gore and violence was freaking me out. I had a fitful night of sleep because of it. Now why would that do that the second time I watched it? Weird! I still really like it, though!

Ok….lunch and then…..who knows! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Indoor Caturday

  1. madtante says:

    We kept our chickens 100% range the first 6 or so years of my life. I had to climb a ladder to get eggs from the nesting boxes we had in the branch of 2 trees for them. Eventually, we built a WONDERFUL (built in drains for power washing) hen house but a tornado yanked it off the foundation & tossed it a couple farms over–we switched to an old barn. Definite downgrade for the chickens!

    • Lauri says:

      I think I am going to have to put some nesting boxes in the tree! Those girls are not going to want to go into our sheds to lay their eggs like all the other chicks do!

  2. crankypants says:

    My fridge could use a good cleaning too. A couple months ago I managed to clean the dirtiest shelf that was bothering me every time I opened the fridge door. I also threw out a bunch of old stuff, but I have more to do. and more dirty shelves and drawers. Ugh.
    It’s snowing here today AGAIN. Yesterday we got maybe 2 inches and it was melted by nightfall. I got up this morning at about 10:30 and there is about 3 inches out there. I didn’t realize it till I let Elvis out the back. But he went! He was romping through it a little too, which is weird. I think he’s forgetting who he is lately.
    And more snow tomorrow I think. grrrrr. We had enough last year to last about 5 or 10 years.
    I hadn’t even heard about True Grit till a couple weeks ago, I guess I have to go see it now. I only just watched Inception last night on DVD.
    Have a good one!

  3. kimkiminy says:

    “chickengoats”
    ~snorf!~

  4. Aussie Emjay says:

    I found an opened tin of Chinese vegetables in my fridge today when all I wanted was cream! I must have a word with the manservant about correct storage of leftovers!! The wedding is getting closer & closer…..

  5. Laurie says:

    True Grit is good! Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon both rock in it. I hope you and Ken enjoy it.

    We got 5 ot 6 inches of snow last night. Our first real snowfall of the winter. I just had to go trudge out on a mostly unshoveled/unplowed route to get groceries, but better today than tomorrow when it’s going to be extra cold and more flurries.

  6. Jaypo says:

    I thought you were going to clean out your fridge last weekend…. 😉

    How come the chickies are so wild? aren’t you afraid they’ll freeze? Shivareee!

    • Lauri says:

      The chicks mama was a fluttery crazy chick and she kept them far away from all of us. So, they haven’t gone into the goat house or the chicken house to sleep, they just sleep out in our big white pine tree.
      I’m afraid that actually capturing them and forcing them into one pen or the other would just be too traumatic and they are really doing quite well with their tree. I give them lots of extra high fat high calorie food to keep them warm and they are getting a bit tamer with each feeding. The frig is still not cleaned. 😛

  7. Emmy says:

    OMG, a friend of mine was just watching True Grit!! Said it was great. 9 degrees, brrr! Cold here too after the snow!

  8. amyhftw says:

    We (OMG – BSG and I are a We) were going to see True Grit, too, but because of the time zone, the games started at 2:30. So we walked to get lunch, then went to the library and are still puttering around my place watching football (him) and getting things done (me).

    Sounds chilly! Brrr!

    Oh – and I love the family portraits! I’m commenting here to be efficient. 😀

  9. snoringKatZ says:

    I’d like to see True Grit – admittedly was unhappy with the idea of a remake of one of my childhood loves but I’ve heard so many good things about it that I really want to go. Although I hope I can understand Jeff Bridges. From the clips I’ve heard, that’s going to be a challenge 😉

    Fridge cleaning? Only when things start sticking to the shelves, baby!

    • Lauri says:

      Stuff is sticking everywhere in that frig, but it’s still not cleaned. Ah, well, someday!

      True Grit was good. Definitely a go see!

      I couldn’t understand a lot of what Jeff Bridges was saying…but I really did enjoy the movie!

  10. I watched 2 football games and 4 basketball games. For a treat I tape extreme homes and watched four episodes before bed.
    It is 15 here and in a house with no known source of heat my nipples are hard and my attitude bad. The room I am in is warm but when I walk into the kitchen and fart ice crystals I begin to wonder if living in an old house is good for an old goat.

    My back yard is full of Dove Balls. It is so cold the doves are all rolled up into little balls along the fence line. I kept trying to figure out what all these little round things were. I put out craqcked corn and sunflower seeds and ran out. I was too cold to go after any so I put out 4 bags of lentils and some sesame seeds. They were not amuzed. Now I have to clean all that crap out of the feeders and will go after food for them shortly.

  11. Kzinti says:

    The Missus made split pea with ham soup and also some navy beans and ham. I guess there was a hug hunk-o-hank a ham left over from Christmas I tossed in the freezer and she decided it was a good day to cook it up.

  12. pyrit says:

    Hi again. I just had to stop by, and share with you that a coworker brought a bunch of eggs from her chickens for the office kitchen. She put a sign on them, “Eggs! From my happy, healthy AND STUPID!!! Chickens.”

    • Lauri says:

      Hahahaha. I wonder which stupid activity prompted that sign!

      • pyrit says:

        Thought you’d never ask… !
        She says there are a few smart ones who know where to find the door in & out of their coop. The rest try to get out through the sides, taking turns bumping their faces over & over.
        Oh darn, I meant to ask her what kind they are.
        Besides the stupid kind. 🙂

  13. Laurie says:

    So if Toni’s offspring are wilder than her, they’ll be even craftier at hiding their eggs from you. Then you’ll get next-generation, even more rogue chickens.

Leave a Reply

