Good eatin’

I love cooking turkey dinners for Thanksgiving and it’s become a tradition to make my grandmother’s awesome Meat Pie dinner on Christmas eve. I bought a 5 pound eye of round roast thinking it would leave us lots of leftovers! Not! We devoured that dude. There were probably 3 servings left.

Mashed potatoes, gravy…gravy, gravy….I love gravy on everything!

Broccoli rice casserole. I used to roll my eyes because my dear grandma would bring it to EVERY family dinner. Now I make it because it reminds me of her!

After all the good eating last week I can’t think of a darn thing to eat tonight. Or to buy at the grocery store tomorrow. Aaron requested salmon, so that’s one down.

I guess I’ll go feed the dogs and cats and maybe I’ll get inspired. (by being in the kitchen, not by the dog and cat food)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Good eatin’

  1. Jessica says:

    I love broccoli and rice casserole! Mmmmmm.

  2. crankypants says:

    I was checking the menu today for my birthday dinner at the restaurant and there was a salmon dish that sounded good. I should probably go with that after this Week Of Fat.

  3. capnstephel says:

    Oooo…broccoli and rice casserole sounds good! I don’t think I’ve ever had it before.

    Now, let’s see if my food knack works on you. (I usually have this way of making my friends crave what I think sounds good.) Hmmmmm. I’m going to have chili tonight. Been too long since I last had it. There’s always homemade pizza cooked in the toaster oven. 😀 Tortellini. Good ol’ macaroni and chz with some extra spices thrown in. Dumplings! Yeah! Egg drop soup…ok. I think you have enough ideas from me now, lol.

    Unrelated: new Rosie! http://www.redbubble.com/people/ellen/art/6500056-1-rosie-likes-holland

  4. MT says:

    Thought I was hungry before reading this. Num, l!

  5. AmyH says:

    We ate so much wonderful food last week – MomH’s lasagna, prime rib, some of Courtney’s FFA chickens, homemade cheesecake, frozen raspberry swirl (*drooooool* cream cheese, cool whip, raspberrys, graham cracker crust – soooo gooood).

    I didn’t gain any weight, though. My room is in the basement so I was up and down the stairs all week. Plus there was some ice skating, chasing of dogs, Wii dance games, etc. So I burned a lot off. No Christmas cookies or good chocolate in the house helped a lot. There was some chocolate, but it was meh so not worth the calories.

    That all leaves me with no real desire to eat much of anything. I have no cravings for anything specific whatsover. I hope the cat and dog food can give you some inspiration! Ha ha!

  6. leendadll says:

    Sounds like a good time!

    I like to buy persimmons because one of my strongest memories is of my mother, aunt, and G-Ma arguing about persimmons.

  7. Aussie Emjay says:

    The one thing I like about living in the States is that it’s cold enough at Christmas to make the traditional turkey and roast pork meal. When I think back to my grandmother and Christmas I see her cooking the turkey and pork and boiled Chrissie pudding in 100+ degree heat in an unconditioned house which rapidly got to feel 400+ F. !! I make her pudding to remind me of her but usually I’m the only one to enjoy it.

  8. snoringKatZ says:

    I [i]love[/i] leftovers. Brownies, cookies, Hershey kisses, candied nuts, peanut brittle…

  9. I made note of your broccoli rice casserole recipe, but I don’t think we’ve ever had Minute Rice in this house! My parents have always cooked rice from scratch, and since it’s now in an electric rice cooker, it hardly takes any thought at all. Since there’s always so much leftover, I use that to fix my casseroles.

    But yum to leftovers! I think it’s funny, but my parents love big turkey dinners. They refuse to eat the leftovers, however, and yet will have a fit if I throw anything out. Before Christmas I cleaned out the fridge to make room for the preparations, but I had to sneak everything I threw away in a large black bag, which I made sure was thrown to the very bottom of the garbage cart where Dad couldn’t fish anything out.

  10. LBeeeze says:

    Meat pie…..yummy, yummy, yummy!!

    My Thanksgiving turkey was awful, but I scored 10 out of ten with the Christmas ham and pork tenderloin. I cooked for a day and a half and I was really worn out, but everything was so good. Happy smiles all around. Yays!!

  11. aubrey says:

    This past weekend, I took a look around at the leftovers/spare food I had in my refrigerator. Bacon. Bread. Mayo.

    Oh, and home made chocolate cookies as large as one’s palm, and a dozen butterscotch-creamcheese bars.

    Food. Just made. Home made. Left over. Brought over. It’s all good.

  12. So were you inspired to fix tuna? Mixed grill?

    Wait … walking around your yard you might have decided on chicken! Or goat!

Leave a Reply

