A good Toesday

I am feeling moishe better today than I have the last few! Yay.

I have some Christmas crap out, it’s looking fairly festive around here. I might try to do some baking tomorrow. Potato soup for sure (that’s  not baking). AND my fishtanks have got to be completely cleaned before Christmas. I want to find some Christmas knickknacks (paddywack, give your dog a bone) to put in the fish tanks. It will make me smile to see Santa scuba diving.

Work went very well today. Busy but all instruments cooperated. I came home and took a little 20 minute nap. Whilst dozing off I hear Luna starting to barf up a hairball. Nice. I continue to doze, hoping that maybe Leo will eat it so I don’t have to clean it up. No such luck.

Then I get suited up to go out and feed the chicken-goats. I try to get my boot on. Can’t. There’s a Leo tennis ball in my boot!

The chickens and goats are doing fine. Even the crazy eskimo babies. Leo carried a small tree around the yard while I fed the critters.

Hmmm….what else? Nuthin. But I’m feeling very good that hubby did a 180 spin on the ice on the highway near our house and didn’t hit anything or anyone. People were spinning off into the ditches all over! Aaron couldn’t make it to work, the expressways were closed with jackknifed semis…and trucks just blowing sideways across the road on the ice. This was yesterday. So, anyway, I am just happy that everyone is safe at this moment!

Toodles!

Gree stars in "Moar Floof"

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A good Toesday

  1. Is that a picture of the hairball that was hacked up?

  2. M-----l says:

    I’m sorry. I try to keep up on stuff like this, but how many animals do you have? Could I get a guide to their names and species? Maybe throw in some identifying characteristics for easy recognition?

    • Lauri says:

      Um. It’s a bit embarrassing, but my husband is a veterinarian, so we do have that excuse. (although if he wasn’t I don’t think it would decrease our critter count).
      We have 4 dogs, 7 cats, 2 goats, 3 hermit crabs, 2 tanks of fish and 30 chickens.

      When my son moves out he will takes one cat and one dog with him!
      At least we are officially “out of” all of the small furry rodents. By attrition.

  3. Jaypo says:

    Floooooofers!! Moodle splatted up the worst hairball in the history of #6 S_____ Ct. omg. Projectile. Followed by food. Sooo disgusting, I was fixing dinner when it happened. I could smell it from 5 feet away.

    Now that I’ve killed your appetite, you have to go read Hyperbole and a Half’s latest entry!

    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/

    • Lauri says:

      Oh, for heave-en’s sake…..projectile hairballs can’t kill my appetite! 😀 You should hear the things that Med Techs talk about at lunch. 🙂

      I cannot stop laughing about that hyperboeandahalf……Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

  4. crankypants says:

    that is a WHOLE lotta floof going on! 😀
    Glad you are feeling better, also glad hubby didn’t hit anything! I did a couple of 180s on black ice one winter. The first time it scared the bejesus out of me (it was Christmas night, I was going back to Nj when I was staying w/my cousin) and the second time I felt the skid and was thinking, oh, I’m gonna be facing the other direction in a second. and I was. I didn’t hit anything either time but the first time I saw that guard rail coming at me riiiight before the spin.
    Don’t forget a pic of the aquarium!

    • Lauri says:

      Ooooh!
      That will inspire me to decorate the aquariums for Christmas. And therefore I will have to clean them first!
      SO glad you didn’t hit anything either! It’s soooo scary when ice is on the roads!
      Aaron stayed down south of here closer to work tonight, with a friend, cuz after two hours of driving he was nowhere near home.

  5. Hee! There’s WordPress snow floating around Gree, and he (she?) doesn’t look too thrilled by it.

    But I am glad to hear that your husband is okay. One of my friends in Minnesota got t-boned by another car that couldn’t stop as she was driving through the intersection. I thought that all of the states hit by the storm should have declared a three-day closure of everything, so no one would get hurt trying to drive to work.

    I’m also glad you’re feeling better. You should stay in too and invite the goats and chickens to come inside!

    • Lauri says:

      Aaaack. I hope your friend in Minnesota is ok. I’ll bet she has some soreness tomorrow.

      I am so glad my son decided to give up on driving home tonight and stay with a friend. The cold is making it impossible to melt the ice on the roads!

      I love winter….as long as everyone stays safe!

  6. Laurie says:

    Is it official hairball day? I just got in a few minutes ago, and there was a big hairball outside the bathroom. Yuckers. I even remarked as I was cleaning it up (to the other cats), “I guess if this had been barf, one of you would have eaten it and saved me this trouble.”

    I love the tennis ball in the boot! I used to sometimes find cat toys in my shoes.

    • Lauri says:

      LMAO at the hairball/barf dilemma. I was sleepily watching Leo consider eating the Luna barfage. (This is waaaaay too much info…..OVERSHARE!!!)…..Leo declined to eat it, so I knew it was hairball rather than food.

      Happily it was very easy to clean up being 100% hairball. *Snort*!

  7. phantomxii says:

    Whoa…Gree looks strikingly like our cat would look with way, way more fur.

  8. kimkiminy says:

    That is some floofy cat! She must be dying from the heat inside. I recently found a long-lost catnip mouse in the toe of my snow boot.

  9. pyrit says:

    From your banner (kills me every time), to your post (random pandemonium), to the funny comments (lol @ M—–l!), I’m all giggles.

    Speaking of hairy. Spinning out on the ice! Eeek! I can hear the cussing – lol!

  10. Aussie Emjay says:

    What a glorious coat that cat has! Just amazing. I’m glad that you are feeling better and that survived the icy roads – 180 spin = scary!

  11. LBeeeze says:

    That’s a pretty big hair ball sitting next to that lamp….pretty eyes for a hairball too.

    So glad all your loved ones are safe, especially after that spin-out on the highway. Glad you’re feeling better too.

  12. snoringKatZ says:

    Sounds like a rockin’ ‘ – or slippin’ – good time all the way around! YAY hairballs! Surely has this thing about belly rubs every morning before breakfast. She throws herself on the floor and rolls around until she’s feeling fully rubbed. The other day she did it after breakfast. That didn’t end well.

    I coughed up (in keeping with the theme) about $100 for the best filter I’ve ever ever had – a Fluval. It’s practically inaudible and I’ve never seen the water so clear in forever. TidyBowl is a pig fish. Plus I only have to clean it once every whenever-I-remember-or-three-months-whichever-comes-first. I like that!

  13. Lurkertype says:

    Gree is verging on bunneh levels of disapproval there.

  14. geologywoman says:

    What a beautiful cat and she looks so pleased. I am also glad everyone got home safely. Winter! Not fun when you are driving. LOL with the hairball.

  15. madtante says:

    Herding cats, herding chickens…

    Were you ever told as a kid that all the barnyard animals knelt at midnight on Xmas? I was. I went out there like 3 different years to see and the cattle were sort of like, “Feck off. Ooo! Do you have any CORN?”

  16. homebody says:

    Glad to hear you are all safe and warm. Aww, Gree is beautiful! (and your banner is hilarious!)

  17. amyhftw says:

    Could you please get all that cold, snow and ice taken care of before I arrive? My flight gets into DTW on Saturday evening. I expect everything to be dry and safe by then.

    Thank you.

    • Lauri says:

      I’ll do my very very very best! We’re having a wedding shower for Ashlee next Wednesday and all of the menfolk are going to E. Lansing for the basketball game! We’ll have it dry and safe for that, too!

  18. Freedom Smith says:

    Awesome picture!! I am glad you are all OK and that you feel better. Spinning on ice is terrifying!

Leave a Reply

