And a half dozen chicks in a pine tree…

Ok. I fixed up the picnic table shelter with a perch so if they do get desperate the silly baby chicks can get out of the wind. As of tonight, though, they are still up in the tree. Here are some pics for your viewing enjoyment. In another dumb chicken story, the butter chicks (visible in the baby chick picture) have been sleeping in the chicken house rather than the goat house. (the entire area is open to all of them).

I thought it must be colder in the chicken house so I put up two heat lamps. The Butters were so freaked out by the heatlamps they just sat on the floor clucking. I give up! I turned off the heat lamps!

Silly chicks and Butterbutts

The goat yard and the chicken tree

Shelter should they choose to use it

No thanks we're happy up here

Go on about your business and leave us be.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to And a half dozen chicks in a pine tree…

  1. AmyH says:

    Haha! Stupid chickens. *snert*

  2. sailorbabo says:

    I think I’d be under the picnic table. It looks much warmer in there.

    • Lauri says:

      You obviously have more brain cells than my chickens.

    • geologywoman says:

      LOL – our parrot likes to roost under the picnic table when we have him outside with us in the summer. I Don’t blame him – it was shortly afterwards we saw there was a hawk (aka buzzard over here) in the city.

  3. M-----l says:

    Oops. I think I accidentally left you a comment as Sailor Babo. Sorry about that. I forgot to log out.

  4. trishc1812 says:

    Back in my other life we had chickens and they all roosted in the trees. We didn’t have a chicken house for them and they had free range of everywhere and everything. Every night they would fly up into the trees to perch. The only time they weren’t in the trees was when they were sitting on eggs or the chicks were still covered in downy feathers and couldn’t fly. It is in their nature to roost high away from the nighttime predators (coyotes, cats, dogs and the like). Chickens may be a bit domesticated but the ones that still have the ability to roam free (like your chicks) have the capability for staying warm even in the coldest of cold nights.

  5. Emmy says:

    Pretty photos, especially the first one. What nice feathers they have. Silly geese! (I mean, chickens). At least they have each other.

    Fa lalalala, la la la la! (Oh great, now you got that song stuck in my head…) πŸ˜€

  6. Aussie Emjay says:

    Well, warm air rises…….so perhaps that’s why they prefer the tree. I love the top photo – such pretty creatures.

  7. lurkertype says:

    I always wondered where the phrase “dumb clucks” came from. Now I know.

  8. kimkiminy says:

    Figures that Toni’s chicks would be the first to roost in the tree. I love your term “chicken tree,” BTW!

  9. And so this is what they mean by “free range chickens?” I thought anything free-range would at least look happier, but those chickies look cold and grumpy. Have you thought of cutting back on their food, or putting the food in the enclosure so the tree-chickens might consider coming in at dinner time? They look very well fed now, so I doubt they’ll ever starve to death.

  10. geologywoman says:

    LOL – I love this post! You made me smile. I have kept chickens in the past. One winter (in NC) it got unusually cold and then sleeted loads one morning. I walked down to the run and the bloody chickens were out in it, staring at me like “what happened?”. They got frostbite as ice was literally stuck to their heads, bless their small brains – and I put them in the house in the bathroom (smelled like wet dogs). The vet told me to rub Vaseline on their crowns so I did, and they got better. I did have a heat lamp (one of those work lights with a cage around it) in the hen house. When I was a kid, our chickens also took to sleeping in a tree after an opossom killed two of them. I can tell you this – they will keep each other warm and fluff their feathers up; just make sure they have plenty of fatty food and carbs to eat like crumbled biscuits or other stuff made with fat in it.
    And I love the banner! Is that your cat?

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks!
      The banner is my daughter’s cat, Turkleton.

      I am feeding the chicks well, and they will be just fine. I just like to worry! πŸ˜‰

      • geologywoman says:

        I worry too…poor Masha…hence the bun in the bedroom. Hey, that could be part of the 12 days song. A bunny in the bedroom, a cat eating the lightbulbs, goats in the garden, and some chickens in a pine tree. Better than partridges any day.
        Sigh…I was going to go for a long walk. It’s -5 or something celsius out there and will be dark at 3:30 which is in an hour. Frak it.

        • Lauri says:

          Oooooh, I love your 12 days song!!!

          We actually made one up about the laboratory, which included “Five golden pees”!

          “Four calling Docs, three bedpans, two latex gloves….and a gall stone in a plastic cup!”

      • leendadll says:

        Just noticed the banner too. Very adorable!

  11. madtante says:

    Cheekens r dum.

    Looks like things are still hopping Chez Lauri!

  12. pyrit says:

    Your banner is so great! The look on his face is priceless! Cracks me up! That is a really great photo.
    I dunno nuttin about chiknz in trees, but I hope you don’t have 12 days of them.
    We got snow here too, and it is fa-reeeezink cold – yick!
    The house is starting to look Christmassy. Setting out decorations here and there, got blinky outside lights and garland up. Do you go out your back door and cut your own tree?

    • Lauri says:

      Every year we have cut our own trees out of the hundreds that hubby planted as seedlings every year. We have every tree nicely spaced, now, so there really isn’t a need to cut any more. With my kids all growed up I bought a small artificial tree to go in the bay window and it will look festive without cutting down a live tree!
      (Less work to decorate, too, yay! )

    • geologywoman says:

      I love it too. Genius! As for our tree, we can not figure out where to put the blooming thing where a bunny won’t eat it. Except the kitchen…that would be a pain in the arse.

  13. capnstephel says:

    lol! They’re so weird! Stoopid chikins. At least you get some entertainment out of them. πŸ™‚

  14. doranyc says:

    lolz – stoopid chickens. O_o

  15. Redscylla says:

    Chickens … they ain’t rocket scientists. Or brain surgeons. Thank goodness.

  16. LBeeeze says:

    You gots the best goaties and chickies!!!

  17. Is this like snakes on a plane?

  18. littlemiao says:

    I hope the silly things don’t freeze in the cold!

  19. Pingback: Helper Monkeys abound! | Lauri's Blog

Leave a Reply

