Silly chickens

I have told you all how crazy Toni the chicken is. She would run away squawrking like a banshee if you even looked at her. Well, the six babies she has raised have followed her lead (how could they not, poor babies?)

They are very skittish and I have never actually gotten anywhere near them. I throw food and talk to them the whole time I am out there, hoping they’ll calm down.

And while Toni has calmed down a LOT since becoming a mom the babies haven’t become tame in the least. Toni moved back into the goat house to sleep with the chickens and goats, but the babies have taken to sleeping up in the white pine every night. I don’t think they have ever stayed inside.

I am fretting today because it’s so cold. There is an old picnic table out in the goat yard and I put hay and boards around it to make a shelter. Color me surprised when I looked out only an hour later and the six chicks were in the shelter!

Now, tonight I was just out doing the second feeding and guess where they are again. Up in that dang tree. Cuddled up in two groups of three. At least they are cuddling, but I really doubt that they will have the brain cells necessary to choose between their self-conceived safety in the tree and survival in the goat house if it gets any colder.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Silly chickens

  1. How I wish you had posted a photo of the chickies huddled in the tree. That would be a winter’s sight.

    But really? The wild chickens wouldn’t have enough sense to come in out of the cold with their momma? I don’t know enough about chickens to suggest anything, but you’d figure freezing cold + hunger + Mom in the goat house = “Abandon the tree and come inside, chicks.”

    • Lauri says:

      It’s pretty amazing to watch the interaction and the behaviors of the baby and mama chicks. They are all grown up now, and mama acts as if she doesn’t even know them.
      And they don’t really have anything to do with her.

      They don’t have hunger to deal with, at least, I am feeding them like crazy to give them lots of calories to keep warm. I make up a mash of warm bread, milk and oatmeal or Grapenuts along with their seed. They love it!

  2. aubrey says:

    I think with chickens you should concern yourself chiefly with their cuddle quotient. Unfortunately their intelligence quotient is a lost cause.

    I too want to see pictures of your silly-billy chicken and the tiny chickies!

  3. capnstephel says:

    I second a picture. So silly. Hopefully theyโ€™ll get some sense in their leetle brains

  4. snoringKatZ says:

    Maybe you should put some motivational posters out for them so they can see their future if they continue in this unwise manner. Just don’t show them this one or you’ll have to do even more Christmas shopping.

  5. Aussie Emjay says:

    Oooh! silly little things! I hope they move into the warmer quarters.

  6. LBeeeze says:

    Silly crazy Toni chicks. You are going way above and beyond to keep them fed and warm. If you put the special fudz in the shelter would they go in there and perhaps STAY in there??

  7. littleoddme says:

    Our ferrets have been opting to sleep outside in a piece of agricultural tubing that they’ve stuffed with leaves. I have been lying awake as the nights get colder, worrying about them. I finally caved the other night and took the tube out of their cage. They still haven’t forgiven me.

    Which gives me an obvious solution – you just need to cut down the tree!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Ashlee says:

    You do realize that the fact that these chickens have Toni genes sets them at an immediate disadvantage in the brain cell department? Double that with the possibility of Andre being the father, and, well… Those may be some “special” chickens.

  9. kimkiminy says:

    Poor dears. I guess chickens aren’t famous for being especially bright, eh?

  10. hang a perch of some sort under the picnic table? I think they want to be able to perch off-ground, don’t they? Djaga the magpie would refuse to rest on the ground, it was perch or nothing.

    • Lauri says:

      Oh my gosh. I can’t believe I didn’t think of this! I mean, I know they want to be off the ground, but all I have to do is to lay a piece of lumber from one picnic table bench to the other and they will have their perch! Thanks for the inspiration, fatcat! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. doranyc says:

    Bird brains – we has dem!

  12. Emmy says:

    I think Sy Montgomery wrote a whole book about chickens. Apparently they’re quite mysterious in their behavior – I know nothing about them but I can only imagine the challenges of keeping farm animals in the winter. I can only say…brrr! I hope you have warm gloves when you’re doting over your buddies out there, LOL! It’s so cold!!

  13. robpixaday says:

    Wait. Chickens in trees? that’s amazing!
    Gives new meaning to egg drop soup.
    But wow, seriously.
    You’re very brave and compassionate.
    Those pictures are fabulous!

Leave a Reply

