Losing it.

Well, I have been trying to get the house “in shape” for this weekend. Adam, Sarah, Ashlee, Ross will be here with puppies in tow and Aaron (lives here) with Leo.

So I painted the family room…Dad helped A LOT….but I’m still trying to declutter. Adam and Sarah are on their way here right this minute…and I didn’t get things as “done” as I wanted to. They are a lot better, mind you.  A lot of dust is dusted. A lot of stuff is picked up. And lawd knows nothing has to be within a few light years of “perfect” around here, but I still feel like I used to be much better at “having company”. Oh well. Whatever. I used to be a lot better at a lot of things.

Blogging for one. I haven’t taken any pics or blogged in several days. And it’s been good cuz I have gotten stuff done around here.

I have to quite cleaning now cuz the dust is making me want to throw up. Does dust do that to anyone else? I know, I need to eat something.

Hope your holidays are great! Love, Me

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Losing it.

  1. Lauri says:

    And there is bad bad dog gas in this house tonight.

  2. kimkiminy says:

    Ugh, dust and dog gas? Yeach.
    Enjoy your holidays!

  3. snoringKatZ says:

    I’ve never been good at having company, at least not when I’ve lived with anyone else. Clearly, you need your own yurt. 🙂 Dusty dog farts would make almost anyone pukey.

  4. Ah yes, the joy of preparing for the holidays….I spent the last two days cleaning the house, and I was so crabby afterwards I could barely speak to anyone in a civilized tone. But I had a friend who was the only child of only children, and she never knew what it was like to have a big Thanksgiving with people bustling around, cleaning, cooking, setting the table, watching football. So I guess we should be thankful for the craziness, even if it means dog farts and dust and clutter.

    Dust itself doesn’t make me nauseous, but the smell of cleaners and the vacuum cleaner after the bag gets full does. You didn’t use Endust or anything like it, did you?

  5. capnstephel says:

    I’ve never heard of dust doing that. Need more water while you dust?
    We’ve missed you around here, but it’s good that you’re getting stuff done that you need to! Enjoy your Thanksgiving 😀

  6. Kzinti says:

    Ours is usually cleaning the night before until like 3:00AM and we fall into bed completely exhausted. this year, it’s a room a day. LOL. It’s working well too.

  7. crankypants says:

    We’re going to need pictures of the fresh paint! (we won’t be able to smell the dog farts thank goodness!) I have so much to do in my house but I am sort of looking forward to getting started on a project. I just remembered last night, I offered an old book case to my niece, which is currently in my dining room (the site of the next project) and I also offered to take my grandfather’s old liquor cabinet off my oldest sister (under the agreement that it would not be immediately) so I am thinking if I can manage to get this project done (or started), I will at least get 2 furniture swaps out of the way.
    Anyway, enjoy Thanksgiving Puppy Chaos! I can’t wait to see more pictures! (and seymour butts!)

  8. Aussie Emjay says:

    We have a two level house so I try to keep the ground floor neat and relatively clean when I know people are coming. No one gets up the stairs unless they are staying and then I have to do a major clean out of the sort Kzinti mentions!!

    Dust makes me sneeze and wheeze!

  9. madtante says:

    Wondered what you were up to, figured travelling or getting READY for guests. Yup!

    Dismantling a room for painting is huge in itself. Painting is huge. Dusting and sorting: huge. Good grief, cut yourself some slack!

    I hate FB but miss seeing what everybody’s up to when they’re not blogging. Damned FB.

  10. CreakyGeek says:

    My house is as clean as it can get, and there are just a couple of areas of clutter left that need to be addressed before tomorrow — the table by the chair where I usually sit, which holds a teetering mound of stuff, and the dining room table which is where whatever I’m carrying when I come in gets set down, and too often never leaves.

    There’s more clutter than that, mind you, but this is why God gave us bedroom doors we can close.

  11. Emmy says:

    You have a good holiday too, Lauri – you’ve been missed but I think it’s good to step away from the computer. I agree that hypoglycemia for me is what makes me nauseous. Although dust certainly makes for misery as well. Take care, girlie!

  12. LBeeeze says:

    We didn’t get everything done either, but we still had fun. You must be doing a LOT of things right. Your kids obviously love to visit.

Leave a Reply

