Dissecting a Lego Frog!

Cool! 🙂

LEGO frog gets given a brick-by-brick dissection

November 8, 2010 3:00 PM
275x250.jpg An artist and LEGO fan has created a remarkably accurate model of a frog dissection — using nothing more than tiny bricks.

Teacher Dave Kaleta had been given the brief ‘Lego anatomy’ for a Lego building contest on the website mocpages.com.

Kaleta initially planned on using the topic Rembrandt’s Anatomy Lesson, but after chatting with a fellow teacher he decided a frog dissection was a more universal experience.

He then spent seven hours over three days producing the impressive anatomically correct model… which despite consisting solely of LEGO bricks still makes us feel a little queasy.

275x250.jpg Speaking of his work Dave Kaleta said: “I’d actually never dissected a frog myself, we did fetal pigs at the school I attended.

“I went up to the science department to see if they had a model I could look at, but they didn’t, so I culled image reference from online.

“I keep my Lego in an artist’s loft that I keep with some fellow artists. It’s a great place to build because I don’t have to clean up right away and there’s no distractions.

“I have NO idea how many pieces are included, but it’s probably between 1000-2000.”

LINKS
Dave Kaleta @ Flickr

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Dissecting a Lego Frog!

  1. Kzinti says:

    That’s what I need, an artist’s loft so I can live there and not worry about picking up anything. LOL. I saw this on the Brothers Brick website. It looked sickly awesome.

  2. Jaypo says:

    Did they recreate the smell of lego formaldehyde?

  3. ladywise says:

    Wow! That is cool! Did Kzinti see this?

  4. Laurie says:

    1,000-2,000 bricks? How big is this frog? Or conversely, how small are the bricks?

  5. stupido63 says:

    Makes me want to get my Legos out.

  6. LBeeeze says:

    This is so creative. I’d glady pass on the formaldehyde smell.

  7. Jane says:

    Fetal pigs!

    the frog is very cool – I can’t believe it only took 7 hours

  8. madtante says:

    Cool! We dissected frogs freshman year. Looks pretty good!

  9. Laurie says:

    This reminds me of the knitted frog dissection that’s on Etsy:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/8880673/knitting-in-biology-101

  10. capnstephel says:

    Ha! That’s fantastic! I remember when we were supposed to do the frog dissection. We did a virtual one instead 😀

  11. Redscylla says:

    That is totally amazing, and a lot harder than actually dissecting a frog.

  12. GOF says:

    Amazing…..it makes me feel totally inadequate. (deprived childhood…leggo bricks not invented…impossible to do with a Meccano set)

  13. homebody says:

    Impressive! But I think I would still get queasy, too.

  14. Freedom Smith says:

    That is amazing! I wonder how long it took to make!

Leave a Reply

