It’s Time for Chicken

Well, I haven’t posted chicken pics for awhile. Toni’s family has made it to adulthood. There started out being nine/ten chicks (Ken counted ten once, but we were never sure…after that we saw nine for sure).

Due to attrition (cough cough Leo) we lost three chicks while they were small. In Leo’s defense, Toni continually took the whole flock out of their safe fenced in yard and back into the trees. Leo could not overcome his baser instincts and would fly back there and try to grab chicks. Three disappeared before we knew what was happening.

So the total that have grown to adulthood is six. And they are really pretty and guess what……as far as I can tell, they are ALL hens! No more roosters to fight for territory and chase each other all over their yard. Yay!!!

Here’s a picture with Toni and all six chicks. The chick on the left is identical to Toni. She’s going to be impossible to tell from her mom.

There are two dark brown girls who will look exactly like their Aracauna aunties. I won’t be able to tell them apart, either!

Then there are the two I was calling Lemon Peppers and one beautiful white with darker markings.

I have named the light one Lemon Pepper, the white with red markings, Clove.

The darker of the two “lemon peppers” I am calling Cinnamon.

It’s a very pretty bunch of girls Toni has raised!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to It’s Time for Chicken

  1. amyhftw says:

    Maybe Leo took out just the boys and saved you the trouble. See, he was helping!

    Pretty girls, indeed! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Jane says:

    Beautiful girls. Lemon Pepper is particularly lovely. Do you eat them now? Or are they for eggs?

    • Lauri says:

      Oh they are definitely for eggs.
      My chickens all die of old age around here (unless there is a raccoon/possum/dog attack).

      I eat chicken, just not my own!

  3. Kzinti says:

    Eggs for this bunch, I hope…

  4. crankypants says:

    haha, I was gonna say the same thing as Amy!

    They are really cute.

  5. Aussie Emjay says:

    Very attractive chooks!

  6. kimkiminy says:

    They are beautiful! And how lucky for you they’re all hens.

  7. Jaypo says:

    Today is chicken day! Auntie Carley went out at lunch to pick up her five new Salmon Faverolles chickies! She opened the box at the circulation desk and everybody oooh-ed and ahh-ed over the little peepees!!

    Your girls are so gorgeous and floofy!! J’adore les poulets!

    Picts of Salmon Faverolles: http://www.jackscritters.com/order/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=9

  8. It’s against the law here to keep roosters because of the crowing, but that doesn’t stop people from having them anyway. One of my parents’ neighbors has one that begins crowing at 5 in the morning and won’t stop until around 7. My brother says if he ever finds it, we’re having chicken dinner that night. :p

    You have a pretty flock there! Is Toni a good layer, or are these ladies just pets?

    • Lauri says:

      Our roosters (we have six!) crow all day long to remind each other they are there.
      We’re out on ten acres and our closest neighbors say they love the roosters, so it’s fine.

      Toni didn’t like us collecting her eggs this summer so she went and hid a nest under some plywood and hatched these babies without us knowing until it was too late. I’ve got about 30 chickens so we really didn’t need more…but she was a determined little thing! She did a pretty good job of raising them!

  9. pyrit says:

    If Toni married Buz she’d be Toni Tutoni.
    πŸ™‚
    If she were radioactive she’d be pulletonium.
    πŸ˜›

  10. LBeeeze says:

    OMGosh…..they’re all so beautiful!!!! I was going to ask you about the chickens the other day but I forgot.

    I agree with Amy, Leo was only offing the boys as a public service.

  11. snoringKatZ says:

    I wish I had some girls around here. That would be nice. And maybe we’d eat more eggs. I don’t think it’s possible for us to eat more chicken, though. That seems to be the only meat I ever have in the house.

  12. capnstephel says:

    What a pretty batch of chickens! πŸ˜€

  13. GOF says:

    I love your chooks too Lauri……very unusual and attractive colors.
    Chooks are much more entertaining than TV…everyone should have some.

  14. Hot chicks for everyone! What a beautiful flock, gaggle, coven, or whatever you call these lovely ladies.
    He didn’t mean to do any harm. I found a dead mouse in my blanket on the couch and I knew one of my little vixens is a cold blooded murderer. Thus is nature. Certainly not nurture. It just goes with the species.

    Lemon Pepper chicken? At least you didn’t name one Kiev or Parmigiana, lol.

  15. robpixaday says:

    Hey, they’re really beautiful!!!!

  16. BokBokBok!!! They are so adorable, if I had room I would have me some cute lil chickens πŸ™‚

  17. paikea says:

    okay – i don’t usually spend a lot of time looking at chickens, but yours are pretty!

Leave a Reply

