Fried day

Good mornin’.

The mood-ometer is swinging into the lower reaches today. Really everything will be fine, but I am having a delayed reaction to my friend’s phonecall from Wednesday. She has thyroid cancer. I reacted with total positivity when she called. Because really, if you have to get cancer, that’s the one to get. The thyroid is removed. You are given I131 (or some other number if I have that wrong) which will kill of any wayward thyroid cells. And the cure rate is 95-99%. So, awesome. For two full days I was fine. Today it’s catching up with me. It’s ok. Aaron’s bronchitis is getting better. I am feeling better. I am going away for the weekend to scrapbook with some cousins. It will be fun.

But, I tell you what, I still feel completely disconnected here. Ok, not completely, but it’s not my little Vox home. It’s just a bunch of disconnected emails.

Meh.

Sorry to be the downerator. Here, read Margaret and Helen for today. It’s another good one.

Margaret, all it takes is ten minutes of channel surfing and you quickly find out that the number of problems facing America seem to correspond with the number of channels offered on cable television.  I told Harold to cancel our subscription and get out the old rabbit ears.

If Glenn Beck hasn’t met a half-man-half-monkey yet, he didn’t get out much during his rally.  There was more knuckle dragging on the National Mall that day than the National Zoo… about 89,000 more.  And I find it odd that Sarah Palin can see November from her house but she couldn’t see a teen pregnancy coming if her life depended on it.  Maybe if she spent more time at her house rather than at Tea Party rallies, one of her children might actually graduate from those abstinence only classes with a passing grade.

Folks,  from where I sit, we’ve never had it so good.   One less war.  Most of the TARP money paid back and another Great Depression avoided.  Unemployment numbers are shitty – yes – BUT imagine how bad it would be if Republicans had done away with unemployment benefits like they wanted.  And as someone who has Medicare, I can assure you that government-run healthcare isn’t Obamacare, it’s common-decency-care.

The Tea Party wants to complain about Obama’s “run-away spending” but the fact is Bush spent billions on wars while Obama has spent billions on an economic stimulus package.  Fact.  More private sector jobs were created in the last 8 months than in the entire 8 years of the Bush presidency.  Fact.  The only thing the Republican Party has increased recently is the number of gay teen suicides.

And yes, Whoopi and Joy shouldn’t have walked off.  But Bill O’Reilly never should have walked on.  He has plenty of air time to get his view out.  Barbara didn’t need to give him more.

Did anyone watch the Charlie Rose interview with Nancy Pelosi?  What exactly do people not like about her?   I think she is lovely.  But who am I kidding?  Most Americans can list the accomplishments of a Real Housewife of New Jersey but have no idea what Nancy Pelosi has done or not done.

Thank God PBS comes through on the rabbit ears.  I mean it really.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Fried day

  1. Laurie says:

    Here’s a ((hug)) for today, and I’m glad you and Aaron are feeling better. Of course you’re concerned for your friend, that’s huge news. But a weekend of scrapbooking with your cousins sounds like it will be a blast. And you’ll get something accomplished!

  2. ladywise says:

    oh please please please don’t be down and out today. I received a most wonderful gift yesterday from you that made me cry tears of joy and relief. You did a wonderful thing this week that should have you walking on clouds and feeling great about your own caring and generosity. Smile and know that you made mine and my grand girls lives much easier. Bless you and thank you so much Lauri! You are truly an angel.

  3. crankypants says:

    here’s a *hug* from me and Elby too!

  4. madtante says:

    Fing eh, Lauri. What a GEM, how did I miss M&H?

    Ever since the last Big Election Cycle, I stopped watching television (will go for weeks at a time–in general; although, I’ll watch MOVIES or rent TV on DVD cos that’s safe) and PARTICULARLY, I only allow 5-10 minutes of TV news if switched on (used to be CNN but after they became the new Entertainment Tonight, I switched to BBCA) and 5-10 top of the hour NPR on the ride home. Apart from that, I over-hear something & look it up on-line (unless I’m sitting at a cafe, where I’ll read the NY Times).

    That is why I’m sadly ill-informed but honestly, I’m less sad due to less TV news. That’s for damned sure.

  5. Redscylla says:

    Aw, Larui, sometimes things just look down for a while. They will look better. Your friend will be fine. My sis had her thyroid nuked and we got to make lots of jokes about how she had a glow about her.
    And hey, it may not be our Vox home, but at least we didn’t lose each other.

    • Lauri says:

      Aww, thanks, Redz! That’s so good to hear about your sister.
      I don’t know why this crept up on me, but I’m already feeling better thanks to my peeps!

      Thanks, Peeps!!!

  6. lurkertype says:

    Helen is a gem. She should be required reading every day for everyone. Funny and true.

    I am proud of OUR PRESIDENT going to be on Mythbusters to encourage kids to think about science. Plus, how cool is it to say “The President’s gonna be on Mythbusters!”

    I get my local news from the newspaper (gasp!) or the local-news portion of the 11:00 news (Also, the weather lady on the station we watch is the most accurate for all the microclimates). My national and world news I get from Jon & Stephen, who were proven to give more accurate reporting than cable news! A little BBC online and some Google news and I’m good.

    Larui, the only thing about your friend’s treatment is she might feel compelled to go on a days-long roadtrip to Canada to listen to head-banging metal right afterwards! That’s totally what happened to RedZ sister!

  7. Lauri says:

    “My national and world news I get from Jon & Stephen, who were proven to give more accurate reporting than cable news! A little BBC online and some Google news and I’m good.”
    Excellent news sources!
    I throw in a little Bill Maher from time to time, also.

    • AmyH says:

      I’m an NPR girl, but I had to turn it off this morning because election coverage was getting me riled up. Then Sammy the Neighbor Cat wandered in just then for his breakfast and I gave him snorgles. He had perfect timing, I needed my kitteh therapy!

  8. Snowy says:

    I get my news from Glenn Beck. I’m training to be a village idiot.

    Have a good weekend, Lauri, and hope you come back firing on all cylinders.

  9. Emmy says:

    I’m glad your family and friends are okay, Lauri. My sister had thyroid cancer and did not even have to have chemo. Not that it’s an easy path but her doc said exactly what you said: it’s the “best” cancer to have. Hope your family is getting over the bug! xoxo keep drinking that tea, girl.

  10. capnstephel says:

    Ooooo weekend scrapbooking! That should be a lot of fun. I haven’t touched mine in over a year. Just haven’t been able to do it for some reason.
    Anyway, it should be a good way to spend the weekend. Have fun! Just don’t stomp too much when you’re putting cool pages together 😀

  11. AmyH says:

    I miss Vox, too. It’s hard for me to keep up without the neighborhood view. Some of the peeps have private blogs that I can’t see. I’m assuming I was forgotten in the invites or some other people made it higher up in the 35-peep limit list. (I miss limitless peep-browsing).

    Plus, I read a lot via my cell and can usually comment via Blackberry, but some others require me to log on to make comments. Considering I can’t remember my password, I have to wait until I get home and by then I may have forgotten. Or I don’t make it home for days upon days. Ha.

    I do miss rambling on other people’s posts, though. Oh wait. I just did. 🙂

  12. Aussie Emjay says:

    It’s understandable that you are feeling crappy with Aaron being ill and you not feeling 100% and then the news of your friend. I miss the neighborhood view of Vox but I find that readomattic works quite well – I just have to remember to add people to both the blog roll and the readomattic.

  13. Kzinti says:

    My mom just had the poison pill for a problem with her thyroid. She called me for details, because I’m all internet research and everything. She gave me specifics and I reported back on all the stuff I found, new therapies, what the pill does and it’s pretty straightforward stuff, but still scary. I did my best to calm her down and let her know that all she does is basically go take a pill and wait. No glowing in the dark or anything like that.

    Although it was probably the only time in fifteen years that she called me without someone having died. Scratch that, it was an email she sent me and I called her. D’oh. My family is so retarded. Sounds like it’s time to go snorgle kittehs…

  14. LBeeeze says:

    Tough news about your friend. You felt bad because you are so soft-hearted and kind. I’m so glad to know you. 😛

    Glad you and Aaron are feeling better.

    Lots of hugs!!

  15. GOF says:

    It must be of comfort to your friend that you have this medical knowledge……..hope that your mood-O-meter is back on an upswing.

    I still just progressively work my way down the blogroll every few days to catch up with everyone…..fortunately mine’s not too extensive……I’ve just found the other WordPress facilities somehow lacking.

  16. Pingback: Helper Monkeys abound! | Lauri's Blog

Leave a Reply

