Blast.

I am about to put nets in front of every single window. This weekend a female house finch hit my sliding door window and died.

I moved the bird feeders so that they are not by that side of the house to decrease the number of window-bird collisions.

So just now a little nuthatch has crashed into my front window. No bird feeders out there at all. It is lying on the ground stunned. I am waiting to see if it is able to fly away. Poor thing. Damn.

Edit: He is blinking and looking around now, but one wing is at a very bad angle. I may be inheriting a nuthatch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Blast.

  1. madtante says:

    Eh, this may be ugly or not a help but have you considered window clings?

    Or how about not having such a blamed clean window! 🙂

    • Lauri says:

      I definitely have to get some of the clings.
      And no, the windows are not clean! You would think the birds would see all the dog noseprints and fly away in terror!

  2. Emmy says:

    Oh, I hate when that happens! Have you seen the new bird friendly spider glass?

    http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2010/08/invisible-spider-glass-stops-birds-crashing/

    You might want to try an experiment: increase the number of bird feeders, and move them closer to the windows. Yes, closer. It sounds counterintuitive but a few studies showed that birds were more likely to hit the window if they don’t have anything to land on near the house. Bird houses and such work as well. They tend to slow down as they are going to land on something and as long as the feeder is not far enough from the window for them to take off again into the window, they should be okay.

    Nets work, and sometimes streamers. From what I understand, everything else has proven useless. There’s other suggestions on the Cornell site, but it would be nice if they sold that bird friendly glass as decals instad of having to replace all the windows, LOL!

    • Lauri says:

      Thanks so much for this info, Emmy! I really would love to have that bird friendly glass in all my windows! I think I’ll make do with decals instead!

      I did move one feeder right close to my kitchen window so that will help them not thunk into that one!

      Good news! The little nuthatch regained his senses and flew away! Whew!

      • Jaypo says:

        That glass is so cool! It’s actually beautiful in its own spidery webby way. I’ve also seen silhouette stickums shaped like sparrow hawks and other birds of prey. You adhere them to plate glass and it keeps the birds away. Though it also keeps them away entirely no doubt.

  3. madtante says:

    Lauri,
    I wasn’t sure how to reply to your DM in my sidebar–I got it but didn’t want to over-step by using your email (which I was able to see privately).

    Thanks for the vote of non-freakitude.

    I wrote you a big reply but don’t want to spam you on-line. At any rate, if you thought it was funny, GOOD. It was meant to be one of those “ain’t life strange” kind of stories.

  4. LittleOddMe says:

    Your windows are too clean. Mine are filthy, and birds never fly into them. 😛

  5. Kzinti says:

    When we lived in Illinois, our house was surrounded by bushes and had these huge plate glass windows. The birds would literally dive bomb them coming in to roost on the bushes. You’d be sitting there eating a bowl of cereal in the morning and hear this noise like someone just smacked the window with their hand. Whoever designed the house wasn’t too bird friendly.

  6. GOF says:

    I’m happy the little fellow survived. We have much larger Emerald Doves which regularly commit suicide by flying into windows……our windows, like LOM’s are filthy but it doesn’t make any difference. Fortunately they breed like rabbits so we still have lots of them around.

  7. I am so glad the little bird survived

Leave a Reply

