I am waiting…

I was going to go to bed early. But, Aaron has had an upper respiratory ailment for a month. He is coughing like crazy tonight, so I called an after-hours clinic and it will be cheaper for him to run in there tonight than to wait and possibly miss work and go to our doc tomorrow. They can listen to his lungs and if necessary take an Xray and hopefully tell us he doesn’t have pneumonia.

Next month his insurance from his new job will kick in! Yay!

So, I am waiting to see if I need to run up there with money or a credit card.

Poor kid. He has had laryngitis and a horrible cough and starting a brand new job all at the same time.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to I am waiting…

  1. Jaypo says:

    Aww, poor guy! Too much stress. He’s not still smoking is he??

    • Lauri says:

      I don’t theenk he is smoking. I am not 100% sure.
      If he is, I hope this episode will help him quit!

      • lurkertype says:

        I had a friend who smoked for decades and quit one winter when she got a really bad flu. She physically couldn’t smoke for 3 weeks, and she didn’t notice the withdrawal b/c of the death flu, and then she was free of it. She’d kinda been wanting to quit anyway.

  2. trishc1812 says:

    I hope he feels better fast and that a little cough expectorant will clear him right on up.

  3. Lauri says:

    He’s home! That was the fastest trip to a doc or clinic EVAR.
    He has bronchitis! He got two shots in the butt to start with and I will get him some good drugs at the pharmacy tomorrow.
    I am so glad he went in tonight!

    • geologywoman says:

      I am glad it was simple (not that bronchitis is simple – but you know what I mean – it’s not pneumonia). Shots in the butt! Weee! I hope he gets better soon. Native Americans believe you should lay off the milk products when you have a mucous issue.

  4. Laurie says:

    You’re a good mom, sending him over there tonight.

  5. Kzinti says:

    Wookie Girl gets bronchitis about every year, twice a year.

  6. crankypants says:

    Oh bronchitis sucks, I had it once. Glad he’s on the way to better! I thought it was his ex-ghoulfriend who smoked, not him!

    • Lauri says:

      Well, he started smoking when he was living in an apartment that was cloud-deep in smoke 24/7.
      I think he quit since he moved out.
      He certainly needs to take care of his lungs!

  7. LBeeeze says:

    It’s so exhausting to cough and cough and cough. Hope he feels better soon.

  8. Poor kid indeed. But he has a Mom who really cares for him and knows what to do when he’s sick.

    When my kid is sick, he won’t even go to the free clinic they have at his college. He says he doesn’t have time, and “I’m okay so quit nagging me about it.” I’d probably have to duct tape him and throw him into the trunk to get him to a clinic. 😦

  9. ladywise says:

    Oh that’s terrible. It seems like any time I ever started a new job something happened to make the first few days terrible.

  10. pyrit says:

    Hi Lauri, I’m doing some catching up! Sorry you were sick, and Aaron too! So was I!
    I was in the ER this week too. Not for me though.

  11. madtante says:

    Blessings to him. Even with the flu shot (before Oct!), I still got an upper respiratory flu and have given it to the coworkers. I’m told by other on-line homies that it’s “everywhere.” Guess they guessed WRONG on the flu shot again.

    • Lauri says:

      Yeah, there are a lot of sick people out there! Well, with respiratory things…the mental things we can’t help with a vaccination!

      The flu shots this year cover three different varieties. H1N1, and two others (great, I forgot already).
      Still there are variations of everything, so I’m pretty happy if the flu shot keeps me from getting fullblown influenza even if I have to have the low grade feeling crappy kinds.

  12. capnstephel says:

    Ick…poor guy! Did he get you sick? I hope both of you are feeling betterz!

  13. Emmy says:

    Oh no, sorry he’s sick. Glad it’s taken care of though, I have the feeling this will be an icky flu season. Take care, both of you.

  14. snoringKatZ says:

    Oh, yikes! Bad bronchitis! Bad!!! Get out of those tubes RIGHT THIS MINUTE!

    There. A stern talking-to really helps.

    And drugs. Those help, too. Poor guy. Poor mom having to listen to him hack up a lung.

    My BIL gets bronchitis incessantly. He smokes like a bonfire. Doesn’t quite get the connection between Column A and Column B – just bitches that “the drugs don’t work.” *headdesk*

    • Lauri says:

      Yeah….once Aaron is feeling better I plan to ask once again if he is completely done smoking. (I expect to hear a “Mo-om!!! You already asked me that”….but still….I think I can ask once more! πŸ˜‰

  15. littleoddme says:

    GAH, I hate the insurance system in this country. I hope he feels better soon.

Leave a Reply

